Maple Chocolate Buttercream and a Comment Hall of Fame

Sometimes, I wish all I didn’t have to write up a post.

I just want the comments.

I feel blessed because unlike most bloggers, I get really interesting, pee inducing, pensive and sincere comments. Sometimes, my comment section is so much fun just from the dialogue that goes on between the commenters.

Anyhow, I decided to post my favorite comments of the week, every week or so. A Hall of Fame of your wittiness, snarkiness, and ludness, I know too many “ness'”, I’ll cool it.

So I thought I’d just kick things off by posting some quotable comments I’ve received lately.

Shall we?

 

In response to my Why Your Blog Is Annoying post

The thing is, that if I ever do have sex again, it will be such a momentous occasion after all this time of inadvertent celibacy that I might just have to post a picture of my post-coital self. I hope that you’ll forgive me.

– Joanne from Eats Well With Others

 

In response to Why I’m Not Reading Your Blog post

I really hate those bloggers who write, “I had 1/2 glass of wine, then another 2 oz. pour. Too much! I felt awful the next day.” Boo and bah and hiss. (Thank you, King Azaz from The Phantom Tollbooth.) Seriously? You. are. lame.

Also, you hit the nail on the head with the point about the worshippers. Why does a post about a smoothie with chia seeds and a muffin crumbled on top (because it could never be eaten like a normal muffin!) warrant over 50 comments? Why do people need step-by-step recipes for SMOOTHIES? Are you so damn dense? Sorry, I suppose this really annoys me.

-kayley

and on the same post

I HATE THE WORD LURVE! where the hell did it come from?!

also.. raves in your mouth? no wonder you were shitting glow sticks in PS.

-Janetha from Meals and Moves

(NOTE TO JANETHA: I was just trying to say that if people are having “parties in their mouth”, then I might as well have a rave in my mouth. And yea, I can shit glowsticks. I even vomit them. I cant vomit groceries though cause I’m cheap and what a waste! )

 

Commenting on my In Defense of Calories Post

I like food, and food has calories. That’s pretty much all the defense I need. I’m easy.
-Beth
In response to my Reinventing The Water post

Amazeballs….snigger, ooh err, chortle chortle….gosh, I .just realized there’s potential for a double entendre on this one….hope no one notices….lolz.

Wonder if DMV allow AMAZ BLS as a license plate?

-Mr SmoothieGirl

 

Feel free to give me some outstanding comment and you may make my hall of fame next week. Think of it as a contest where the winner gets a grin of approval from me. And maybe some water…..because I invented it. Or maybe someone has left a funny comment on your blog that you would like to share. I’ll give you a push pop if you do.

Did I mention the best buttecream in the word?

I did. Here it is:

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened, OR 7 tablespoons butter sub like brummel and brown or earth balance
1/4 cup powdered sugar or sugar substitute (you can “poweder
5-6 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
2 tablespoons half and half OR coconut milk
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
3 tbs maple flakes (if you dont have maple flakes, 1 tsp maple extract is fine)

Cream the butter in a small bowl until fluffy. Stir powdered sweetener into butter with a spatula, then beat until smooth. Slowly blend in the cocoa powder and vanilla. Beat in the half and half and maple flakes. You can add more more sweetener depending on your liking. I don’t like most buttercreams because they are clyoingly sweet.

27 thoughts on “Maple Chocolate Buttercream and a Comment Hall of Fame

  1. yep – I laughed at Joanne’s post coital comment the first time I saw it, and then again just now. so freaking hilarious.

    kayley’s is awesome too – a 2oz pour?? kayley PLEASE tell me you’re making this up!

    😀 Mmm, buttercream.

    • I know! I was praying she was making this up! I would never read a blog that does that so I dont know who it is…. And kristina, you had some good ones…next week, promise!

  2. oh, and my favorite comment recently? it was in spam, I *almost* approved it just for the creativity –> “Under the mother otter, muttered the other otter.”

    😀 I want a push pop SO bad right now!!

  3. Great comments. I find it so weird that some bloggers feel the need to defend or support themselves eating desserts or anything with sugar. Like, ….oh I had such a stressful day, this ice cream is so soooo necessary.
    When is ice cream not necessary? It is every day for me.
    Are you not supposed to be eating something sweet? What’s wrong with sugggar? 😦

  4. I LOVE your comments section (haha that Mr SmoothieGirl made your wall of fame- he’ll be so excited!!). Yours is the only blog that I subscribe regularly to the comments section a) because they are fricken hilarious b) because you have such a nice group of readers c) Because it’s the Goldi-locks of commenting: ie not toooo many (sorry Janetha, I love you more than life itself, but I can’t keep up without my social media ADD pushing me over the edge) and not too few…

  5. I don’t think I could possibly be more honored for making it into your hall of fame!

    I should have a 2 oz pour of wine to celebrate. But then I’d probably “feel awful”. 😛

  6. I don’t like getting all proofreader on people’s blogs, but I have to point out your typo because you wrote “buttecream” and it made me giggle like the little boy I’m not.

  7. your comment section entertains the crap out of me. Only you Eden, can make such random humor into absolutely hilarious post. And deb, nice call! I need to subscribe to these comments.

  8. This is such a good idea!!!! Ha! Oh and I totally knew what you meant by rave in your mouth. I used to be a raver, remember?

    I would rather read your blog comments than my blog comments, they are way entertaining.

Leave a Reply

