Taking Back My Words

I usually tell people never to appologize for their opinons and thoughts.

Its only fitting I follow my own advice.

However, I realized a few posts I’ve written were perhaps too bitter in their tone and hurt those I care about. I never intended to hurt anyone’s feelings and I didn’t mean to attack anyone’s blog. Remember, I exaggerate most things and write in a cynical, sarcastic tone that does not necessarily capture how I truly feel.

Sure bloggers do some things that annoy me, but all the more power to them for taking the time and effort to put something out there for the world to see.

And believe me, the most annoying blog of all belongs to me.

(that was not meant to rhyme, but nice ending, eh?)

26 thoughts on “Taking Back My Words

  1. What’s up, sister friend? Did you get an evil comment from a troll jealous because you have unlimited access to Deb and a nice ass?
    Be you. If you’re not comfortable with the way you’ve been posting and your tone, then take a break and change things up. If you’re comfortable with it, then make no apologies.
    Either way, email me any time ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. I think it is understood (and sympathized with –just look at the comments!)
    We all enjoy your little space on the interweb for you just being you and I believe that you make yourself totally clear (why not link to all the instanes where you have applauded how awesome and supportive blogging cane be?).

    It’s just that it’s ridiulous, too, and funny and it’s JUST BLOGGING.
    I appreciate you apologizing but I for real hope your style is not compromised EVER. Just add a “warning” label to your blog.

    It might go something like…”Warning: You may be offended if you do not appreciate large doses of sarcasm, truthful humor, self-flagellation, talk of vaginas and douche or if you take yourself too seriously.”

    Eden, I hope your blog is only a source of pleasure for you and not an additional stress. We get it.

    PS- I still think a Perez Hilton of the HLB world would get a ton of hits. (But probably be illegal)

    • โ€Warning: You may be offended if you do not appreciate large doses of sarcasm, truthful humor, self-flagellation, talk of vaginas and douche or if you take yourself too seriously.โ€

      Hahaha! Yes, You NEED to copy and paste this in a sidebar on your blog, Eden- and make the word vagina really huge and obvious! haha!

  3. “unlimited access to Deb” also makes me envious, and her access to you as well.

    your posts (and reading through the comments) have given me some VERY MUCH NEEDED and healthy laughs, and even if I see you talk about some things I may be guilty of? I cannot take it personally or even be offended. When you really think about it, we kinda have to be narcissistic to have a blog in the first place, and need to be able to laugh at ourselves.

    except for the brain surgeon and rocket science blogs – they can get offended.

  4. I don’t always agree with everything you say but really, I appreciate your honesty. I love it actually. There is no confusion when I come here and that is refreshing. And you are brave for putting it all out there! So kudos to you. No need to apologize.

  5. See, I LOVE that you lay it all out there. Like Ameena said, I don’t always agree, but that’s what makes it fun to read. You make me think!

    I also know you are fluent in sarcasm so maybe things are getting lost in translation for some people. I think you are a sweetheart and not mean in the slightest.

  6. I thought the annoying blog and overused phrases post was funny, even though my blog name is lame as hell. If we can’t take a little friendly jab here and there and learn to laugh at ourselves, life is going to be very difficult and probably not very much fun. Don’t change!

  7. Ditto, ditto, ditto.
    I am not a blogger but I am guilty of some of the things in the annoying post. I use “presh” and like to make up words such as “bloggerized”, “vanilla-esque” 0r “delish-ness” and so on. But offended? Not in the least. I realize things I do and say annoy people on a daily basis, but I can laugh at what I do because for every person who it annoys, there may be another who thinks it is funny. So while “amazeballs” gets on MY nerves to a degree, obviously there are many who like the term or it would not be so prevalent. And I in no way try to denigrate the person who uses the term.
    I hope you don’t stop those type posts – they are so you and so hysterical. I can really appreciate these things and I know there are so many others who do as well!
    Hugs to ya!

  8. I have recently come across your blog and can truthfully say that it is one of my favorites. I love that you are honest and actually have something worth reading. The blog world is so big and not everyone is someone else’s cup of tea (did that make sense? hmm) I don’t find your words offensive and actually think you are just writing what you are thinking.. which is some of the best writing there is.

    Being a sarcasm queen, I can understand where this post came from. I know in my life my sarcasm is taken as a bitchiness (does this count as a “ness” word?) and its *usually* not my intention.

    I hope you keep writing and being you, because it makes your blog pretty awesome(sauce).

  9. OK, here’s a little story. I might not be here commenting if it wasn’t for Derek perusing the blogosphere during foodbuzz last year. I didn’t have time to go trawling all of the recaps, but for some reason, derek ended up on your blog and said to me ‘hey, who is this Eden?’ Me: ‘Not sure.’ Derek: ‘she’s really different from other bloggers. She tells it like it is. You should have a read’ And now here we are all those months later. Derek was right. You are different. You’re gloriously YOU. Don’t change a thing.

  10. Not a blogger….just a reader. Please don’t change! I look forward to reading your blog every day. (I love the comments as well!)

Leave a Reply

