Sweet Potato Cheddar Crackers and New Rules

I spent Mother’s Day with my father since he’s the closest I have to a mom. Besides all those bloggers that claimed you want to adopt me. Adoption is still open, by the way…

Anyhow, my dad’s chemo and radiation treatments knock him out, so instead we watched the overly liberal Real Time with Bill Maher on HBO. For those unfamiliar with the show, at the end, he announces a new set of rules for the week. I thought I might steal his idea and do the same every week.

So here are my new rules for this week:

New Rule: Its Totally Appropriate to Settle Anything with Rock, Paper, Scissors

Because its cheap and actually faster than googling.

New Rule: Don’t Listen To What it Says On the Qtip Box!

Not to gross you out and make you want to vomit your last meal, but I’m a big supporter of getting deep in side that ear canal. You know, where the box tells you it doesn’t belong. Heres why:

1) It’s like an amazing, satisfying inner-ear massage.

2) The more dark, waxy, and disgusting the Q-Tip is when you’re done, the more satisfying it is, am I right? Because then on top of the inner-ear massage you get a killer “Whoa, that just came out of me…” high, too. For those keeping track at home, that’s two highs for the price of one. Not a bad deal! (I get the same high from those nose blackhead strips)

New Rule: People On Twitter, Should Not Litter

For the love of Google, its SO annoying when you send out 20 tweets in a row! Do you really think I’ll click on any of those links? It just clutters my twitter feed and reconfirms my decision of only following under 40 people at all times. #twitterADD

New Rule: People Need To Start Obeying Proper Escalator Etiquette

Simple: Stand on the right, walk on the left!

New Rule: Mothers Day Should Not Only Be About Moms

Moms are great and I’m thankful I even knew my mom, but as Carbzilla reminded, there are people that dont have moms or have had abusive or neglectful moms. Cue Octomom….

What are your New Rules of the Week?

And today I have a recipe I sorta made up last week for the kids in the family I work for. It was my attempt of using up sweet potatoes and trying to re-creat those goldfish crackers. 

  • 1/2 cup sweet potato puree
  • 5 tbs cold butter, chopped
  • 1 cup cheddar cheese (or parmesan or white cheddar
  • 1 cup flour (plus extra for if it get’s too wet and for rolling)
  • 1 tsp salt
In a food processor or mixer, combine the salt and flour and pulse/mix until combined. Add in the 5 tablespoons. Add the cheese and pulse/mix. Add the puree and pulse until you get a uniform, moist dough. Put the dough on wax paper or plastic wrap and form into a disc. Wrap and refrigerate for at least 30 min.
Preheat the oven to 325 F and prepare two sheets lined with parchment paper.
Roll out the crackers on a floured surface and roll VERY thin. The thinner, the crispier. Remember, you can never be too rich or two thin….well, at least when it comes to these crackers. You can cut them out into squares or used a cookie cutout like I did. I got about 50 crackers! Bake for 15 min or until they turn golden brown. Its best to let them cool on a cooling rack to avoid having them get soggy on you.

23 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Cheddar Crackers and New Rules

  1. yep. those are crack-a-lackin good lookin! YUM!

    I love q-tips… and that’s one thing I buy brand name ALL the time. no plastic stick, no thin cotton. 😉 I love the nose strips too. so fun.

  2. i often unfollow those twitter litter people. Its overload, but its twitters fault for limiting the amount of wordage too. haha.
    So this adoption thing, are we taking bids? Highest bidder wins? I’ll start saving now!
    😉

  3. I don’t tweet, so that eliminates that annoyance.
    Anyway, I totally agree with you on the Q-tip thing! Not to be gross, but I’m kind of obsessed with cleaning my ears (shock that I would be obsessed with anything, I know.) If you can’t get down in there, how can you make sure it’s clean and you’re not going deaf?
    I feel the same way about Father’s Day in that I don’t have a dad to celebrate. Because of that, I’m looking to be adopted by some young hot dad that likes sports and can cook. Taking applications now…

    • And as I’m sure you know, I love all the other qtip uses (ie cleaning keyboard, cleaning jewlwey, taking off mascara). Come to think of it, the best invention!

      My dad would adopt you; he’s not a huge sports fan but he enjoys most sport but golf.

    • And that’s a crime b/c I’ve seen your facebook posts and they are jsut like tweets-= you’d be the best twitererererer out there and I’d totally follow you. My husband would adopt you except that he doesn’t like sports (I know I know, I’m so lucky, but he’s british and pays attention for 4 minutes to the world cup)

      • I know, you ARE so lucky he doesn’t get too into sports. I’d say its a “european thing” to not be too into sports cause of my dad, but everyone else seems to believe in the “father, son, and holy football” (and by football, I mean soccer).

  4. I love the first rule, but I propose that thumb wars are acceptable as well.

    I kind of think mother’s day and father’s day are silly anyway. Why do we need those two days to remind us to be grateful to our parents?

  5. Hee faster than google- very true.

    OK not to be the party pooper but I once ended up in the university medical center because of my qtip earcleaning habit. The doctor was FURIOUS at me and told me NEVER EVER to clean my ears with a qtip again b/c it basically hard-packed (think: Coldstone, only not cold) all of my wax into the end of my ear hole. OK so guess what the cure was? (I still shudder)…they had to take a water pik (a high powered dental implement they sell for home use that shoots water out of a tiny spout at about Mach 2) and they had to Mach 2 my ear hole until a piece of wax the size of the Grand Canyon popped out. Aren’t you glad I shared?

    Oh the Twitter litter- I only follow 62 people and have TOTAL #TwitterADD too. So much so that I’ll go weeks without even checking it or facebook. I realize that I feel that I might have missed something so I feel compelled to go back to where I left off last time I checked- I’m sorry but it’s nearly a full time job and I just can’t hang with that!!!!!

    I love the New Rules- you def. need to keep those going!

  6. 1. Roshambo is the end all for any argument. For sure.
    2. I have always wondered why the Qtip box says not to put them in your ears. That is all I use them for!
    3. GOod thing I forget about Twitter for weeks at a time. No littering here.
    4. I thought that was an old rule?!
    5. Agreed. loved Tiff’s post.
    my rule for this week is there are no rules. only vacations to palm springs!

  7. Dare I ask… was there a bad escalator experience of late to spur on this rule? I’m reminded of Jason Lee’s character from Mallrats “that kid is BACK on the ESCALATOR”. Love it. My rule is: don’t talk to me while we’re moving. Don’t call to chat about the weather. I”m miserable and trying to unpack my life so I can live.

    Sorry about the unrelated rant on your lovely blog with the lovely star crackers. Too cute! Those kids must adore you Eden.

    • You wanna hear the crazy thing? Well, two crazy things: 1) the escalator is because I can’t tell you how many times I’ve run late because people are standing in both lanes of the escalator and I can’t get through!

      2) The kids kind of hate me, its the mom that is crazy about me.

  8. I kind of love q-tips too. Weirdly I’m not that ear-waxy. Did you even want to know that? ha. I’m gross.

    Can you bring me those crackers? No really….

    haha twitter litter. LOVE. I love the phrase not the actual act.

  9. Wait, you mean everyone else hasn’t been settling disagreements with rock, paper, scissors? Well I’m glad it ok! Been doing ti for years.

    And thanks for recasting the escalator rules! Every time I get on one, even when I’m the only one, it like I just repeat that in my head over and over lol

Leave a Reply

