Guest Post: Lessons from a “Non-Blogger” and “Missy’s Mock Cauliflower Dressing”

As much as I love my guest posts (and yes, I love them more than ANY of my posts), I think its about time we hear from a non-blogger. I’m starting a new series. It may be once a month or more if I fancy. Bloggers are awesome, dont get me wrong, some of my best friends are bloggers. But I love readers. They have no agenda (as in, not just commenting cause they have a blog to promote) and getting a comment from them feels empowering. So why not hear what they have to say? So without further ado, I give you Missy! She has read my old blog from five years ago (bless her heart for that!) and is truly worth hearing from.

Hello Blogworld!

I am so honored that the most gracious and wonderful Eden asked me to do a guest post as a “nonblogger”.

 

Even though I have no blog, I have been a blog reader (umm, addict) for quite some time. I love reading and I love recipes, so gravitating to blog reading was just a natural course! I usually call myself the “lurker extraordanaire” because for so long, I read blogs but never commented.  But I have recently begun to make comments on various blogs. So without being too long winded, I am going to give a list of things that I have learned as a reader/lurker. These are not unique to just readers as they can apply to bloggers as well.

1) RSS, Google reader, trackbacks, wordpress, tumblr, etc.– OK, I admit, as a reader, I had zero clue as to what these were. But Google is my friend and I quickly learned what these were and how important they can be to bloggers. However, I don’t actually use these. Quite honestly, I have a few blogs that have the blogrolls and I just click on them when I see they are updated (some 3 times a day). I am not tech savvy – I don’t use tweetdeck or any of that other stuff. I deactivated my Facebook and certainly never knew how to post comments that showed up on Twitter and Facebook!

2) The “M” word is taboo (as in “Moist”)-. I mean really, who knew? I never had a problem with the word as I had always seen it used in relationship to food, especially cakes and brownies.  But once again, my steady friend Google shows me that it is THE most hated word in the English language. There is even a hate Facebook page! To be quite honest, the word “nooch” sort of gnarls me out. I had never heard of nutritional yeast, let alone it’s nickname until I entered the blogworld (see below). But that name, for some reason, just creeped me out. (but not enough to keep me from ordering some!

3) If you don’t live near a Trader Joes or Whole Foods, you’re screwed – Umm, I will have to say that reading blogs has opened me up to so many things I would have never tried –  Hummus, chick pea flour, coconut flour, almond milk, chia seeds (well Dr. Oz too) peanut flour, and “nooch” (eww) plus smoothies made 100’s of ways.  Gadgets that I “had” to have include a mini food processor, immersion blender and a spiralizer (the last 2 I have yet to use!). As far as the “meccas” of all grocery stores, I am out of luck seeing as how the nearest Whole Foods is 150 miles and a Trader Joes is about 6 hours away. However, Amazon, Iherb, and Ebay are always open and at my fingertips. But all the 4000 oatmeal recipes have led me to realize, I just like my oatmeal with brown sugar, cinnamon, and light butter.

4) The difference in vegan and vegetarian – Vegan, vegetarian, pescatarian, vitameatavegamen, etc.. – I didn’t know what these were and I used to think vegetarians and vegans were basically the same but I have since learned the difference plus all the ways to “veganize” a recipe with flax or chia as an egg replacement.

5) You never really leave high school – Just as a reader, over time, I have definitely noticed that there seem to be “cliques” in the blog world. Even at the Food festivals there was talk of the more “popular” bloggers snubbing the “nobodies”. It reminds me of Grease with the Pink Ladies vs the cheerleaders, and brainiacs. I personally like the “real” blogs (which is why I love Eden’s) and the ones who give healthy recipes (I really like it when they show nutritional info and give ingredients in grams!)  It’s like a sorority and I am convinced that there are cliques in nursing homes. Just sayin…

6) Bloggers like comments and get paid.  As a new reader, I had no clue that bloggers were actually paid. I thought the blogs were big giant public journals/diaries for bloggers to maybe hold themselves accountable, use as a form of therapy to relieve stress by writing/venting, or just really were people who had a lot of time. Since then, I have learned many are paid, they have advertisements, get book deals, and fitness adventures. I realize not all of them do, but I was clueless and surprised to find out that the blogs are some of these people’s real job! No wonder they have time to post so much!. As far as comments, I read for years without commenting but I finally mustered up the courage to make a few and even entered some giveaways (a few I have won!). I did not realize the importance of comments and how it could make or break some bloggers day. Not the “Pink Ladies” bloggers, but the real life regular ones that don’t get 200 comments. They are overloaded with them! Please note, I am not putting these blogs down, I am just saying they have so many readers who are fellow bloggers and to me, they could not care less if a regular joe reader comments or not. Of course that is MY favorite part of a blog. I love to read the comments. Most blogs that I read are those I have clicked on in the comment sections!  But I love to read what others have to say.

OK, well there you have it.

While not unique to readers, these are things that I have observed. I don’t think I could ever manage having a blog – writing this post was tedious enough! I applaud those who post 3 times a day. My life is just too boring I suppose. I mean who wants to read about how I ate my oatmeal PLAIN? No bells and whistles there.  So I will just continue my job as usual but I always have my Iphone handy to check out my favorite blogs – with Edens being the first one I check!

Thanks so much again to Eden for showcasing a “non blogger” in the blogworld!

And true to Eden’s Eat’s format, here’s a recipe to compliment the banter:

This is my recipe for “mock” dressing (or stuffing as Yankees call it! I’m southern and we call it dressing!)

I submitted this 2 years ago to the Body By Eats forum that I am a member of. Everyone seemed to like it.

Of course I love cauliflower in any way!

Missy’s Mock Dressing

Ingredients:

2 16-oz bags frozen cauliflower, or you can use fresh
2 second spray non-stick cooking spray
8 oz chicken breast, boneless, skinless
1-1/3 cup celery, chopped
1 cup onion, chopped
3/4 cup low fat/sodium chicken broth
1 egg, beaten
1 egg white, beaten
1-1/3 tbsp poultry seasoning
1-1/2 tsp Mrs. Dash Table Blend
1/2 tsp sage
1 tsp salt

Directions:

1. Pre-heat oven to 350 F.
2. In a large pot, fill half way with water and boil. Add cauliflower and cook for 10-12 minutes or until easily pierced with a fork. Drain and set aside when done.
3. While cauliflower is cooking, spray a small skillet with non-stick cooking spray and set over medium-high heat. Cook chicken breast until no longer pink (about 5 minutes on both sides). Once the chicken is done let cool for 5 minutes then cut into small pieces.
4. Add 1/4 cup of chicken broth to the same pan the chicken was cooked in and add celery and onion; cook on medium-high heat until tender (about 15 minutes).
5. Mash cauliflower in a large bowl. Stir in celery/onion mixture, remaining chicken broth, egg, egg white, and seasonings.
6. Pour into 13X9 dish. Add cooked chicken pieces to mixture and mix in lightly
7. Bake until moisture is absorbed and the dressing is golden brown, about 40 minutes.

Yields 8 – 1/8 serving is 80.5 calories, meaning that the entire dish is 644 calories)

*You can easily make this vegetarian by subbing out the chicken broth with vegetable broth and you can either take out the chicken or use tofu.

EDEN’S NOTE: Thanks so much Missy for having balls to post and dedicating the time for this!

60 thoughts on “Guest Post: Lessons from a “Non-Blogger” and “Missy’s Mock Cauliflower Dressing”

  1. Hooray for Missy’s balls!! And I mean that in a good way. 🙂

    I also hate the word NOOCH. It gives me the shudders, as I detest all cutsie-pie acronyms and baby-ish words. I think it’s creepy when a grown woman uses it to other grown women (and men).

  2. Eden, what an awesome idea having a reader post! I love it… although I think Missy needs her own blog! She’s got the wit and awesomeness. and she said vitameatavegamen, so I already love her!

    and Sophia, I also dislike nooch. I LOVE nutritional yeast, I hate the word nooch. 😉 and food baby. and so many others.

    • I’ve lately been thinking, “gosh, these readers are more interesting than some bloggers!”. Missy indeed would be a fabulous blogger. And I almost want to not like nutritional yeast just because I hate the word “nooch” but the truth is, I love the stuff.

    • I like nutritional yeast. It’s like…a guilt-free MSG. Mmm.

      But (almost) seriously, baby gah-gah words have got to be banned. Like “brekkie” and “sammie”. And Eden, is “bloobs” for real?

    • Aww, now I know why bloggers like comments – I feel like the Grinch when his heart grew 3 sizes that day – it makes me feel so special!! Thanks for the wonderful words, but I am pretty boring and would have about 3 or 4 readers if I had a blog (about like my Twitter followers, ha ha ha!)

  3. This is an interesting perspective. Thanks Missy for posting and Eden for hosting! (like my rhyme?) I only read a few blogs before I started my own, and they were of friends of mine, so I don’t really remember what my blog reading felt like, as differently than now. I love the feedback that non-bloggers have given me on my posts- I find that non-bloggers leave much longer, in depth comments! Love it!

  4. “I don’t think I could ever manage having a blog – writing this post was tedious enough!”

    Haha!

    Thanks for your honesty Missy. And you know what — I wish there was more plain oatmeal / porridge out there. And smoothies. I get totally overwhelmed sometimes by the excitement at other people’s breakfast tables! (For the record, I eat mine with cinnamon, raisins and a bit of brown sugar).

    Oh, and I totally agree with you on “nooch”. Bad word!

    • Yep, I am plain vanilla. And that is another thing – I am not a chocolate fan (gasp!!). I have always preferred vanilla ice cream and I like caramels over chocolate! But I like my oatmeal and grits just plain. No fancy schmancy stuff for me unless I am making a casserole or something.

  5. I love Missy’s perspective and I’m truly perplexed by the unpopularity of ‘moist’. My favorite ever ever of my own recipes (I don’t have many, trust me) is one I called MOIST Protein muffins or something like that- oh the roars of laughter that must have waved across the blogosphere- oh well. They are MOIST and JUICY and even more so when I add NOOCH and BLOOBS to them! Sammie is an english term for sandwich though I think.

    Agreed on the high school aspect as well. Cliques form everywhere- in real life-even as adults and even in the ‘sphere. And yes, she’s right about getting paid except ME- I’ve never even received one free item from a company. People have sent/brought me gifts that I appreciate more than life itself, but I’ve never earned one red cent from my blog- as that was never ever the point anyway.

    Thanks to MIssy for a great perspective- loved this! And thanks to Eden for having the smarts to realize that readers have very interesting perspectives!

    • Ha ha ha!!Love those moists brownie titles! Yeah, it really perplexed me and I finally just looked it up. Your blog and the Pimp My Protein Shake blogs were part of my favorite bookmarked blogs from long ago!! Honestly, I got into smoothies from both of yours! You inspire me and I really love that you are able to spend time with and take care of Eden.
      I just love living my life vicariously through bloggers!!

  6. I loved this, mostly because I agree with every single one of these things. I have no idea how to Google Reader things, there are no TJs or WFs around here, my oatmeal is boring, I like nooch but hate the word, don’t fit in anywhere and avoid drama, will never get paid for writing my rambles and get minimal comments–but you know what? I couldn’t care less. I just like to read a few blogs and ramble when I have time.

    Plus, you get bonus points for the “Grease” reference and using “couldn’t care less” instead of “could care less.” I kind of love you for all these things 😉 Great post.

    • I always lurk your blog and figured we must be long lost twins!! Thanks for the “kudos”. I am really impressed myself that many of you “get” the Grease and I Love Lucy references! I figured I was dating myself (yeah, I’m old and prob could be all of ya’lls mother). And yes, I say “ya’ll.
      I dont mean to put people down for these things, it’s just things I have noticed. I do love blogs and have gained so much from them (but my credit card has lost from all the must have gourmet foods and gadgets!)
      But thanks Abby, you have also made my day! All of you are so kind, but I guess I should expect that from Eden’s followers & friends. I am totally adopting her!!

  7. Oh my goodness…perfect observations! I too just started reading blogs and am learning so much about them. I’m still narrowing my “regular reads” down and only commenting occasionally.

    Hate the word nooch but don’t mind moist. I refuse to use abbreviated cutesy terms for things….ex. lol, brekkie, addy etc. Half the time I don’t even know what they stand for so I just make things up (:

    One thing to add….as a reader with NO agenda I really appreciate when a blogger comments on my comment. Kind of makes my day too and I’ve been out of high school for eons.

    Well…great idea Eden and thanks Missy and thanks to the bloggers who take the time to respond to my inane comments (no pressure to respond to this one either). I’m still contemplating trying to blog one of these since I have way too much time on my hands…alas…no camera so I’d probably seem more boring than I already am.

    • I’ve often told Eden that I think that you are one of the most thoughtful commenters out there- always a joy to get comments from you- both on my blog and Ellie’s 🙂 I don’t have wordpress so I always have to email my replies old skool style and I don’t have your email address, so I always just hoped that you checked back. Bloggers heart commenters like you and Missy 🙂

      • McIntosh, Deb’s not kidding! Not that when we see each other, all we talk about it comments, but we seriously often say, “Doesn’t McIntosh leave the sweetest comments?”. Seriously, bloggers should be lucky to have readers like you!

      • Oh…I’m not worthy, I’m not worthy. But thank you, I’m blushing!

        Deb…I found a couple of the blogs I read on your blogroll and I look forward to your posts. You’ve been so welcoming and your posts and replies are always so heartfelt. Too bad we’re on opposite coasts or I’d hunt you down to meet you (: Consider yourself lucky I don’t travel much….

        Eden…I found your blog through the above blogger (!) and am glad I did. Lots I can relate to now and way back when I was 23 too.

        Okay ’nuff said….

  8. AMEN! (Especially #3 and #5, and not to promote my own blog, but I totally wrote a whole post about blogging being like high school…)

    I’m so happy Eden had you write this, because I am a small-time ‘real’ blogger who lives for comments and knew people were looking at my blog but not commenting and I just decided most of my readers were either 1) my friends and family or 2)random visitors who were confused by my alliteration and why they were looking at big pictures of bacon. I’m pretty sure I have a lot of lurkers, and I’m OK with that. I like y’all because you’re real people too. 🙂 [Not that bloggers aren’t…it’s just…I’m not going to try to explain.]

  9. I didn’t know there was some “snubbery” going on at the Festival! Scandelous!

    It’s funny because I don’t have a Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods around either. I think it would just lead me to be spending more money than I should though, so maybe it’s a blessing in disguise 🙂

    • Well, I was not at the HLS but I read around that there was some cliqueishness going on.
      Well, Amazon and other sites still beckon me to spend…now I want some coconut aminos!! And I ordered peanut flour off of Ebay!! (It looks like the Tader Joes kind). So even though I don’ t have those stores near, I still find a way! I know when I visit my sister in Dallas and go to Sprouts, I am gonna be in big ju-ju trouble! I would need a second job!!

  10. This was a great guest post, Missy! I laughed out loud, because I remember learning all of that new stuff too. I had no clue what Google Reader was, and I’d just bookmark tons of blogs and click through them every single day! Also, I agree “nooch” is super annoying and creepy! 🙂

  11. I agree with so much of what Missy says about leaving comments on the “big” blogs.
    It’s like….what’s the point? Then I started to leave a few comments when I just had to say something and was shocked when some of my favorite superstar bloggers responded so kindly!

    I also want to thank you Missy for using the phrase “Could not care less” properly (0:

    Oh, and you will LOVE Sarah’s blog.

    • Ha and I am just a “dumb southerner” yet I used a phrase correctly! Love it!! Actually one of my idols is Maxine (yeah the crabby Hallmark lady) and my Mom gave me a Maxine doll who talks – one phrase is “I could’nt care less – but I’m working on it!”. I luv that!

      Oh and yes, I have already been sucked into the vortex that is Sarah’s blog 😉

      • If you’re gonna be in a vortex, her’s is a good one!

        And I LOVE speaking non-tradit….
        I have a degree in English and I’m all about saying “You might could…” and “I’m fixin to”

  12. Eden,
    Hi, let me start off by saying I love your blog, I’m lucky to have found it. It’s difficult to find a blog that is witty, smartassy, and real. I’ve never commented before, but have been a “lurker extraordinaire” to your blog for quite some time now. Thank you for sharing your life.

  13. I’m also just a reader and one that very rarely comments… actually I’ve thought about commenting a couple times on the few blogs I ‘stalk’ but can’t figure out how to do it! Atleast this blog is easy to figure out 🙂 I couldn’t tell you what Google Reader is or how to interpret the twitter banter… I’m not sure who says what — the @ thing gets me confused as to whether it’s the twitter account holder or commenter?? And I have no desire to have a blog BUT i LOVE reading some of them…especially this one! Blogs like yours eden have helped me tremendously…knowing I’m not the only one with eating “issues”. I was kinda knocking on death’s door a couple years ago and while I’m not back to normal by any means (what is “normal” anyway 😉 reading blogs like this have helped more than I can tell you. Thank you!!!

  14. Me again…here’s a question from an uninformed (blissfully ignorant?) non-blogger…is there a way to know if a blogger is paid or unpaid?

    Thanks y’all Ha, ha…I think y’all is highly underrated and since I have been a DC/Md/Va transplant for almost 20 yrs. now I think I’ve earned the right to use it.

  15. Fabulous post Missy! Sometimes I wish I could turn back time and become just a reader of blogs again and not write one. I mean I love blogging, but the stats checking, twittering, and trying to keep up with all the oatmeal, flax seed, vegan loving people I get overwhelmed! It’s probably why I tend to avoid talking about food on my blog. I look at my standard bowl of oats with PB and cinnamon and think, “Who the heck wants to see a million photos of me eating this??”

    • That’s why I could never do it – I love checking/reading all through the day if I have time on my job. But if I HAD to blog or worry about it, it would not be worth it. I will stick to reading and commenting!

  16. I just spotted Sophia’s comment up at the top and could not stop laughing. Sorry. Got distracted.

    Okay. Love this post! I was a reader before I was a writer and I NEVER commented back then. I’m pretty sure I didn’t even realize that comments existed. I was a little oblivious. But these are all definitely trends that I’ve noticed in the blog world. And Missy, if you ever need/want a TJ’s or a Whole Foods item, I’ll be happy to send it to you!

  17. 0h this is so fun!! i was thinking for a while now that i wanted to get one of my besties who reads my blog and loves to cook to do a guest post! its fun to hear from the real world haah

    • Julie!! I have read your blog for forever – I am actually the one who begged you to do a “vlog” on the peanut flour with popcorn and I linked you to the blog about the Trader Joe’s peanut flour being discontinued! So I am at least getting braver about commenting 🙂
      Yes, do a guest post of your bestie – that would be neat!!
      (and do more vlogs for heavens sake – those are always fun as I obviously live vicariously through bloggers! Hahh)

  18. Nooch is a weird word!! I thought I was the only one to think this 😉

    And it is so great to read from the perspective of a non blogger, having been one for quite some time myself!

    Thanks for the insight 🙂

    Scott

  19. Pingback: How to Be the Worst Facebook Friend | Eden's Eats

Leave a Reply

