Chocolate Coconut “Nests” and My “Real” Age

I have a confession to make. I’m “agist”. I judge people by their age.

Allow me to explain. I sneer at anyone my age or younger. There are exceptions, dont get me wrong. But on the whole, I find I get along with an older crowd.

Because my real age is about 50.

I was actually convinced that my real age was about 80, but I’ve taken it down a notch because I frankly don’t like having dinner at 4:30pm.

And the thing is, ever since I was 13 I felt like an adult. I felt ancient, actually. My mom just died, and I began to realize what life is about. I sneered at pre-teens my age complaining about their vocabulary test. My dad was the greatest thing I could have asked for, but he was not my mom. And boy did I need a mom. So I was my own mom. I packed my pathetic lunch (diet Dr.Pepper and baby carrots), I walked back home from the bus stop (most kids had their “moms” pick them up), and most importantly, no one taught me how to use a tampon! (I finally learned when I was 21! Crazy, right?)

SIDE NOTE: Tampons are the best invention ever!

Now back to our regular scheduled post:

And here I am again, twenty something and starting to do things that most kids my age don’t have to worry about. This is beyond mortgage and taxes. Taking care of my one remaining parent, taking care of my health insurance (most people are still on their parent’s plan until the age of 25)….its like God likes to fast forward me all the time. I look like I’m thirteen, but I’m middle aged deep down. And maybe this is all my midlife crisis.

Wow, this post is turning out whiner than I thought. But here the rest of my evidence that I’m middle aged:

Hot Flashes: Maybe its because I have more “padding” these days, but I seem to always be hot. And not in the “hey, good lookin way”!

I’m more interested in how long a car lasts over how fast it goes: Yep, I sound like my dad.

Cereal Selection: I seek a cereal for fiber and not a toy

“Happy Hour” turns into a nap: sigh….

I like Prunes: not juice, just prunes. Juice is for the octogenarians.

My little black book contains only names ending in M.D.: and its not like I’m dating them!

What’s your “real” age?

 

I went back to work today, so I taught the kiddies how to make “nests” with eggs (you know, for easter). Its actually not event that terrible for you.

-1 cup chocolate chips

-cup shredded coconut

-jelly bean “eggs”

  1. Melt the chocolate chips, following the directions on the bag. When the chocolate is smooth, stir in the coconut, then drop the mixture by the heaping tablespoon onto waxed-paper-lined cookie sheets.
  2. While the nests are still warm, use your thumbs to poke an impression into the middle of each. Cool them, then fill with jelly bean eggs. Makes about 1 dozen.
49 thoughts on “Chocolate Coconut “Nests” and My “Real” Age

  1. As usual, a LOL-fest, reading your posts. And didn’t you get the memo? They are no longer “prunes”, they are “Dried Plums”!!! Don’t you know the prune industry spent millions trying to reprogram brains like yours, and look- they failed!!

    I think my real age is about 28. Except when it comes to going out at night- then I’m about 72. So if you’re 50, that means you’re older than me-woot!

  2. oh!! I love these nests, and it has been FAR too long since I’ve had one! perhaps an age giveaway right there…

    when I was younger I felt like an old soul… and I still feel that way at times… I am happy to say I still look at how fast a car goes over how long it lasts… πŸ˜€

  3. I had to laugh at your tampon comment. I was WAY to embarrassed to ask my mom how to use a tampon and figured it out on my own at 17. I’m glad I’m not the only one. πŸ™‚

    Hmm… I like prunes, nap regularly and sometimes wake up in the middle of the night quite hot and sweaty. How old do you figure that makes me??

    p.s. the bird nests are super cute

      • o.k. I’m not ashamed, or shy for that matter “Type A” in da house!
        I can totally relate to you in this matter. My mom left when I was 13, the summer befor High School. So all things that you mentioned I went through too. As for the tampon thing, yah, big time. I didn’t know that the ‘inserter’ part was to be used as an inserter or that the hard plastic was not to be err, left in. *Ouch! It was a few years and a boyfriend of all things who enlightened me!

  4. I don’t really like coconut (unless it’s in a pina colada), but those nests are adorable! Is it weird that I’m hoping one of the blackbook MD’s will turn into a romantic relationship for you? Humm…I sound like my mother.

  5. LOL! I relate so much! My parents divorced when I was young, and my dad did most of the “raising”…aka he tried to do his best and I said “Lemme do it.” I did see my mom pretty frequently, but our relationship has always been far from “Me mom you child.” I remember being weirded out when a friend in middle school had no idea how to schedule a doctor’s appointment.

    Teehee! Agree on the tampon thing too. Well, not “the best thing ever” (those buggers and I have had a few savage encounters) but yeah, had to figure that out by perusing the instructions and…yes…checking Google. Hey, I was resourceful!

    Those nests came at a perfect time! I need to make my friends some Easter treats AND I have a ton of coconut to use up. Score!

  6. I don’t even like coconut and could probably eat one of those nests! I have days where I still feel like I’m in my early 20’s, and do not believe that I am 35 & a responsible adult with adult bills like a mortgage and daycare. Other days, I go to bed right after my son, and I feel like I’m about 75.

    And as for my tampon learning experience…My folks are divorced, and my sister & I lived with my mom…I was told to read the insert in the box and to pretty much figure it out myself when I was about 12. My mom used applicator-less ones at the time, and I was grossed out by them (still am), so it was probably another year before I figured it out–After I convinced my mom I needed whatever brand was geared towards teen girls & came with applicators!

  7. Love the tampon comment πŸ™‚ And I love prunes too! haha I think I get it from my mom since we always used to eat prunes. I am not sure what age I feel that I am but definitely not loving all the ‘adult’ like responsibilities I face daily now πŸ˜‰

  8. If you’re wondering why your readership is down, it’s because every post is rather “woe is me.” Considering you’re not 14 years old anymore, you will not be an orphan at any point in time. If you are a grown-up, as I think you are, you are dealing with the same things that other grown-ups deal with. Yeah it stinks, but you could also be married with kids at this age. Would you still think you’re an orphan?

    i don’t mean to be mean, but other people younger than you take care of their families and themselves just fine without using it as an excuse to whine. You have to grow up at some point. No one has the perfect family or life. I loved your blog before and it had nothing to do with food. Now I just want to tell you to grow up. Sorry!

    • O, and I think you’re writing this because as I recall you lost your parents at a young age too. I know thats an awful thing to go through, but that doesn’t mean this all should be “easy” for me. I’m only 23 most people my age don’t have children and a husband unless they are amish or knocked up teenagers. I’ll be honest, I shrug at most hurtful comments, but I’m super fragile I guess and this comment of yours hurt me. The last thing I wanted to do was whine, so maybe I’ll just close the blog for now if this is all that comes out.

      • I’m just saying that you are an adult and things like money and health and jobs and insurance are all part of being an adult. Of course it’s terrible that you’re losing your father, but you are kind of acting like you ARE still 13. You’re not. That was just my point. Sorry if you took it the wrong way and it stung.

        Because i’m a little older, I guess i forget that you are young and will act that way. That’s all.

      • Eden, I don’t interpret your posts as being whiney at all, and judging from most of the comments, most people don’t. Please don’t stop the blog, unless that is truly what you want to do. I love and appreciate all of your posts.
        Also, I have to agree that you are dealing with so much that most people do not have to face at 23. You are not being childish, in fact, from what I can tell you are handling an incredibly difficult situation with maturity and strength.

  9. I relate to a lot of what you wrote. I have always felt much older than my actual age, and I ‘parent’ my parents (which I’m sure they love). My elementary school teacher wrote my parents a note on an old report card saying that I was “too aware of mortality”, conscientious, serious, and too worried about life and its consequences. My mom pointed that out to me the other day. Life experience certainly molds you into the person you become and most importantly, the person you ADAPT to.
    You are doing a phenomenal job Eden! You are in a shitty situation, and you are doing the best you can. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise! I know you have days you can’t get up and there seems to be no hope; like you can’t breathe. Yet you are still fighting to get the most out of every day and maintain a healthy mental outlook. You are amazing, and you are in my thoughts and prayers every single day.
    xoxoxo
    Barbara

  10. I’ve always been told I’m mature for my age. And I’ve noticed that I get along with people who are much older than me, better than people my own age. But seriously I try! I even clip coupons, like I’m 35 with 4 kids…..

  11. I was always an old soul too. When I was a child mom would say I was her perfect little adult. I was the one kid who would readily sit with mom during an entire church service and never make a peep. My sister was the one who had crawled under every pew to get to the pulpit to tell the “mister” to shush.

    And I think 5pm is a very appropriate dinner time. Happy hour ends no later than 7 period (that’s when thing go back to full price typically). PJs are on by 5:30 tops!

  12. Thanks for a laugh this morning. I’m not sure what my real age is…my friends in college used to call me “Ma” and I’ve become “Grandma” in my mid-20s. Yet, I like to eat with baby spoons, think kid cereal is awesome (currently eating Clifford Crunch), and teenybopper music sometimes makes me happier than it should.

  13. I can always count on you to make me smile. I hope posting is bringing a few smiles your way as well. Writing and laughter are so cathartic.

    I think I fall somewhere between a five year old boy and a ninety year old woman. What a combination!

    • I’m with Susan. I’m either extremely immature about some things (she said “balls,” ha ha) or a complete senior citizen. Given the fact I’m around old people a lot, I fit right in. It’s always warm in there, they love prunes, they tend to sleep a lot and they say whatever’s on their minds. Plus, who doesn’t love Jeopardy once in awhile?

      On the other hand, that could also describe some children, so I guess it’s a toss-up. I do eat at 5pm, but I also eat again later at night, so that cancels out the Early Bird Special right?

      Bottom line? I had to grow up entirely too fast–not fair–and think I missed the fun, irresponsible period of time when I could be a bratty snark and not care. Maybe I’m doing that now…;)

  14. I have always felt like I am too old for my age as well. It is nice when interacting with other adults, but makes interactions with others my age dificult. I would say I am really like…35? I don’t know…

    And those chocolate coconut balls look fantastic!

    Hope today is great πŸ™‚

    Scott

  15. In the “younger than real age” column we have the fact that I like to dance around naked, take pictures of stupid things as entertainment, like to color, skip, and eat gummy bears and animal crackers…

    In the “older than real age” column we have the fact that I do crossword puzzles every day, enjoy macrame, knitting, and crafting, only drink maybe one alcoholic drink a day, sip tea like it’s going out of style, scrabble… long term relationship… coming home from social outings at 11:00 instead of bar close…I also enjoy prunes and fiber cereals…

    I think it’s weighing on “older.” However, this seems to be a common theme among my friends as well. I’ve always felt taht being the youngest child of a larger family has made me seek out “older” activities my whole life.

    Sorry about the novel here. Your nests are very cute! That recipe is probably easy enough for me. Too bad I loathe jelly beans. Maybe chocolate eggs.

  16. I have no idea what my “real” age is…honestly, I just go with it. Somehow I feel like I can relate to anyone no matter what age. Okay except for people on the extreme ends of the age spectrum! No doubt some people consider some of my habits to be nursing home material but some of my habits scream totally immature and irresponsible. But despite it all I’ve persevered and I figure each year that I survive is an accomplishment πŸ™‚ Sigh…

    As for tampons….well, in my house we didn’t talk about that stuff so I don’t even remember how I learned. Trial and error? I just remember peeing in agonizing pain for a month or so before I finally told my mom and the doc confirmed a UTI. Lovely!

    Not a coconut fan but this recipe would be perfect for Easter treats that I can actually make….my “real” cooking age is probably about 10ish.

  17. your blog continues to be one of my favorites because it is real. I am in the midst of feeling some very real angry feelings at my college (which I know has nothing to do with your post) but you’re reminding me to laugh at myself. So while typing and screaming into the phone may seem like an odd way of presenting relating, can say that I understand your need to just question “WHY” sometimes.
    That said, one of the things I’m angry about has to do with the fact that I, too, get along better with an older crowd. Not only do I wake up early and fall asleep early (read: 9pm) but I want to talk about the real stuff. Your post about what bloggers talk about is totally right; I met up with a blogger the other day and we totally didn’t talk about our green monster oatmeal protein surprise. We talked about life because it’s now and it was happening (not popular “now and happening” I mean like…imminent)
    Also I hope some of your love of the tampon breed rubs off on me because I’m not feelin’ it right now, we just can’t get along. prunes are yum though.
    I know this isn’t in this post either, but I love your attention to foods impermanence. You eat it, it’s gone. You can take a picture but what lasts there are the memories we have about it and where we ate it and whom we ate it with, etc. (on that note, why don’t people take pictures of themselves WITH their food? wouldn’t that spark a memory?) What keeps me coming back to your writing is the lasting effect of your entries. You challenge what is and you look at what isn’t and why it isn’t.
    On that note: I’ve gotta say that those coconut nests look pretty tasty πŸ™‚
    Hannah

  18. I feel like I’m 100 years old. And I act like it too. Except when I’m driving at which point I’m 18 again and I feel like the entire world is crawling around me. Driving in LA…drives me crazy!

  19. i think my real age would be like 36? i’m deifnitely not 24 but i’m not too old yet. idk! i feel like there’s got to be some kind of website that tells you what you’re real age is..

    …i’ll get back to you on that one

  20. Yeesh. Good post. thought and memory provoking for sure. I def had to grow up waaay to soon too. Divorced parents and teen mom made sure of that. *shhhh
    I moved out when I was 17 and real ‘adult’ life was shoved in my face. Fast forward 20 years (holy shit, I frieking hate saying that, reminds me how old I am) and I’m doing swell but 4 kids make me feel like I’m pushing frieking daisies!

  21. Um whoever JC is, they are an asshole. There has been nothing even remotely whiny on your blog, Eden. Honestly, some people are just complete assholes. How much of a douche can you be to try to make someone feel bad because they are talking about their parents’ illness?
    Please do not stop blogging, the food blog world needs a healthy dose of your snark.

    • lets play nice. I appreciate your support but I don’t want to start a fight in the comment section. I don’t think this will make me stop blogging, it just upset me a little.

    • Very mature. Your “real” age is obviously 13 with the mentality of a teenage girl trying to fit in with the cool crowd.

      I thought I was allowed to voice my opinion to Eden without being called an asshole. I’ve been through a very similar situation to her and thought I would voice my opinion. I wasn’t mean. Geesh. Obviously this is turning into an Eden fan page. she asks for compliments and your guys give them, so don’t worry. I’m done here. No need to start a petition to keep her writing.

  22. Agreed. You are not allowed to stop blogging. You’re dealing with the really shitty hand life has dealt you in the best way you can. If you shut this blog down, where am I going to get my daily dose of snark? πŸ˜‰

  23. Growing up I always felt older than I was too, in terms of having to be responsible and take care of things. My mom used to say that I was 4 going on 35. Now that I am “grown up” though, I am reclaiming my youth and trying to “live a little.” I am still super responsible though πŸ™‚

  24. Prunes are fab. The lone prune is the perfect purse snack for when you LITERALLY need A “bite.” There have been times where a tiny dried plum has truly possessed the preventative power to stop me from going homicidal on some unsuspecting person who is unaware that, for whatever reason, he or she is standing in between me and a meal that I had anticipated would have already occurred. I just realized that that sentence was all kinds of effed up. Please feel free to engage in some armchair pyschoanalysis of that. I’d actually be quite interested to hear what you’d say.

    Anyway, speaking of how prunes are baller enough to be an okay snack in their own right unaccompained, have you seen those single serve prunes? The theory’s solid (after all, I DID just say that sometimes I’ll eat just one for a tide-me over nibble) but good night, what a horrible environmental waste! All that cellophane for a stupid marketing gimmick! What’s wrong with buying a big canister of prunes and divvying them up yourself into whatever receptacle you already have on hand? I mean, I suppose one could argue that about any parceled out food or smaller portioned food (don’t even get me started on if a single serving size is a serving size), but seriously people, packaging a SINGLE prune?

    Finally, my carrying on at length about prunes has somehow prompted me to recall the California Raisins! And because this post of yours was the original catalyst of the awesome trip I just took down memory lane-complete with the CA raisin toy collection I had from hardees kids meals–I sincerely thank you.

  25. Pingback: A Momentary Distraction | Mindrunningwild

Leave a Reply

