New Blog Series: Giggles of the Week

Yea, if you’ve kept up with the blog lately, I think we can all agree life is shit for me right now.

When your only living parent is given a death sentence, few things make you smile or laugh.

Nonetheless, my mom laughed her way through her 13 year battle with cancer. Who knows, she maybe she would have died sooner had she not laughed. And I’m fairly certain my dad still wants me to laugh and smile now.

So I’m starting a new series for the blog. It may be weekly or monthly, hell even yearly. People have goals on their blogs a lot. Drinking more water, lifting weights, running a marathon. My goal this year is to laugh. So here’s what made me laugh this week:

Pre-Op Dad talk: When the tumor was in my dad’s brain, he was VERY much out of it as far as his speech was concerned. When the doctor came to test him the night before his surgery, she showed him a picture of a cat and asked what noise it made. my dad answered: “green”. (Thankfully, he said “meow, meow” post-op!)

Seeing This:

(and I saw it with my dad a day after his surgery and it made him laugh too, double bonus!)

Shopping with a bloke and a blogger: You can read more about it here. I learned that the Japanese of smarties (or M&M’s)  look like birth control pills and that I need to start living in the “ghetto” parts of LA if I really want a deal on vegetables.

Radiation: I know, its actually not very funny that my dad begins radiation treatment on thursday, but while I was researching, I read some wrote about their experience, “Well, at least my tumor is getting a suntan!”.

My Dad’s Post-Op surgery swelling: As you can imagine, my dad’s head and face swelled a lot after the surgery. I think he was a little afraid to even look in the mirror but I just told him he looked exceptionally smart. That made us smile. He also kind of looked like stewie…but smart is more of a compliment, so I stuck with that!

Alright, so help me out: what made YOU giggle this week?

27 thoughts on “New Blog Series: Giggles of the Week

  1. Yaay, let’s laugh!

    Ok, for starters, “green” made me laugh. Thank you for sharing that!

    Other things: my younger sister’s dating catastrophes (sorry sis!); me falling rather publicly for an April fools; and Heather’s 80’s party pics too (Where’s the Beach).

    I’m pretty sure some tv shows too, but I can’t remember right now… (Though Family Guy is always a dead cert for that!)

  2. I love that video, it did make me laugh. And I think that is the perfect goal. That was my new years goal, laugh more and complain less. So far I am good at laughing, the complaining? Still working on it, hehe.
    What made me laugh this weekend? A comment made to my husband when he was at a swim race. Someone said “nice sweater cotter.” Ya, that would be his HAIRY chest!

  3. My students made me giggle this week!

    1. Me: “Y’all are ALL-STARS!”
    Small Child: “Gosh, Ms. Pember, we are NOT Converse.”

    2. While practicing capitalizing proper nouns, there was a sentence about Cocoa Puffs. Small child turns to me and says, “I DO go cuckoo for Cocoa Puffs. I really do.”

    3. While practicing words that start with the ‘b’ sound, a first grader looked up from his balloon drawing and asked, “How do I give a balloon a mohawk?”

    Yeah. I don’t know, either. 🙂

  4. Glad you were able to get a giggle or two in with your lately. I agree we all need to laugh more. Whats life w/o a sense of humor.

    Sorry I’ve been MIA, just so busy and tired. I’m so sorry about your dad’s diagnosis. It’s terrible, and I know you are dealing with it the best you can. Sending virtual hugs your way.

    (YW for the package. I was hoping you got it. I kept checking the tracking and it would say delivery attempted and I was like…crap! Anyway, hope you enjoy :))

  5. I had giggles watching you and Derek make Japanese birth control M&Ms go flying through the air.

    I had a giggle earlier that day that actually brought me out of twitter and facebook hibernation: Derek and I were looking for an office chair for him at that store right down the street fromt he 7-11 that we past- remember it? Anyway, he sits down, turns to me and says, (not kidding)… “How do I look?” Bhahaha! SO instead of saying “Hot” “Intelligent” “Successful” but instead I said “Like a man sitting in a chair”. What I failed to mention on facebook and twitter b/c I’m a good wife is that it was a very trendy chair and Derek finally said, “No, I mean, does it make me look gay?” Hahahahhahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa! I died.

  6. Laughter is KEY.

    Things that have made me laugh recently:
    how every boy I know is obsessed with this march madness business. Really. Even the super nerdy ones. Especially the super nerdy ones.
    Paula Deen. She is just so ridiculous that she always makes me laugh.
    All of the melodramatic song lyrics my sister posts on her facebook profile every thirty seconds. She’s 13 and “misunderstood”. Obviously

  7. Yeah for laughter! This made me laugh today when I read it:

    Interviewer to Charlie Sheen: Why have you paid for sex in the past?

    Charlie Sheen: Because I had millions to blow. I ran out of things to buy.

  8. It’s truly wonderful to see you embracing the positives of everything around you. I obviously can’t even relate to what you must be feeling, but I do know that managing a giggle when everything else seems to be falling apart can make a huge difference. Go Eden 😉

    What made me giggle this week? The realization that sleep deprivation is a very real thing. I did relay for life and pulled an all-nighter… and by the end of it I felt like I had just slung back a case of beer.

  9. love that video, our mom sent it to us and ask us if it bring back any memories! and boy does it 😉

    Michelle and I used to talk just like that growing up, we have a few family videos of us talking back and forth… thinking of those memories brings a smile to my face and makes me laugh a little 😉

  10. Is it just me, or is anything funny when a baby does it? In English class the other day we had nothing to do, so we watched the youtube videos “mommy’s nose is scary” and “baby laughing hysterically at ripping paper”. It’s so cute that it’s funny!

  11. I have now played and replayed that video over and over the past few days! LOVE it so much. I also watched all the other videos of the little stinkers that I could find too. I love babies so much. 🙂 I also got to play with a 7 month old baby this weekend that giggled when you even looked at him silly. So.much.giggling. 🙂 It makes me smile that your dad enjoyed that video too.

  12. I just watched Date Night and Marky Mark’s character made me crack up (particularly this scene – scroll down to the end of the page and watch the video: http://itsjustmovies.com/8045)….there’s also some hebrew thrown in! Hope everything is OK (or as good as it can be at present).

  13. You have a great attitude and a strong, happy spirit and I love yoU! I am a cheese ball. What made me laugh lately was I got home and Marshall had shave a gotee! I don’t know how to spell it but I cracked up. Luckily he shaved it off this morning.

Leave a Reply

