Ginger Sweet Potato Puree and My Groupon Grievances

First and foremost, I would like to  clarify that of course I’m cringing at my last post.

The last thing I want to be is a complainer, and I feel that’s exactly how I sound.

“Woe is me, feel bad for me, I’m so sad, blah, blah, blah…”. Yuck.

Anyhow, I didn’t mean to sound all whiny. But I’m overjoyed at the love I received. My parents can’t be replaced, but I’ll never lack the love.

But moving on to something I’m actually not loving….

Groupon

It took a lot of guts for me to write this post. Don’t get me wrong. I’m a Jew and love a good bargain. And lets face it, Groupon in the new oatmeal in the blog world.

But here’s my issue….

Groupon is all about consumption. I often feel like Groupon is yelling at me, “We want you to buy and buy now. It doesn’t make a difference what it is…just get out there and buy it!”.  Hmm…. isn’t this the mentality what put the country in insurmountable credit card debt a few years ago. It was all about stuff, more stuff, and more stuff on top of that. They give you all these deals and put a timer next to it so you feel pressured to make an impulse decision and buy. In the end, you probably don’t even use it.

2. They dont care who you are: While its lovely that they are non-discriminatory, in this case it just turns into an unfocused marketing mess. Groupon is all about irrelevance. One day they offer me half off entrees at a local Mexican Restaurant, the next day I get “50% off” liposuction, followed by five tanning sessions for the price of one. Great, so I am a fat-turned-skinny-oompa-loompa. I just wish it could be more focused. 

3. They Aren’t So Good for Business: If a small business is lucky, a Groupon promotion will bring in a surge of traffic. But, the business better be ready to handle this sudden influx. If they’re not, not only will they not get repeat business—they’ll get negative word of mouth.

But dont get me wrong. I still get Groupon emails, and if I see a deal here my rule of thumb before I purchase:

Will I pay full price for this? I have to REALLY want what the deal is for before I fork over some dough. Is this something I would consider paying full price for? I find many people just buy because its “on sale” or “cheaper” and they just have to get in on the deal. For me, I have to love the item and find the discount to be a cool added perk.

I sleep on it: You know that timer Groupon has that tells you how much time you have left before the “deal” is off? I try to ignore that. Being timed stresses me out and causes me to make impulse decisions. And believe me, I’m quite impulsive sometimes (que me circa 2006 when I had a Mia Farrow-esque pixie hair-cut). So usually, deals are over 24 hours and I let myself sleep on a deal I’m considering. I usually wake up realizing that I either really want it or don’t.

ON A SIDE NOTE: After I posted this last night, this deal got into my inbox. All I need a now is a groupon for an advil.

Oh, gotta go, just got an offer for half off on a Brazilian waxing session. Wonder how much time I have left?

But heres a simple recipe to hold you over

  • 2-3 sweet potatoes (2 is a serving for me personally)
  • 2 tbs freshly grated ginger
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • dash of nutmeg
  • 3/4 cup milk of choice
  • 1/4 cup apple cider

Roast the potatoes in the oven until soft or boil potatoes in a pot until very tender (about 40 min).

Bring cider and milk to boil in heavy medium saucepan over high heat. Reduce heat to medium-low, and add the potatoes, ginger, and spices. If you roasted your potatoes long enough, they should get to a lovely “puree” consistency simple by mixing it with a spoon in the hot milk for a few minutes. But it that doesn’t do it, go ahead and use you blend/food processor. Personally, I like it kinda chunky because otherwise I find it resembles baby food.

21 thoughts on “Ginger Sweet Potato Puree and My Groupon Grievances

  1. I also get stressed by time limits, though I’m not sure even I could get taken as far as an impulse Brazilian wax. Maybe half of one. But then the deal would be off. I have to admit though that I don’t really know what groupon is. I guess now I sort of do. It’s like the voucher codes websites here in the UK. Man they stress me out.

    And a vegan(ish!) recipe! See, I do read all the way to the bottom 😉

  2. One of my roommates is obsessed with groupon and it irritates me to no end when she buys things that I know she’ll never use. I mean, she does the same thing with groceries as well. Which is why our freezer is stuffed with at least six pounds of frozen chicken and no room for ice cream. (Can you see why I’m irritated?)

    That being said. I’m also kind of glad I have her to filter through the Groupon stuff for me. Since she occasionally sends me things that I actually want.

    Although what I really want now is these sweet potatoes. Maybe you could get groupon to give a deal on cross country airfare and you could fly to NYC and make it for me?

  3. I have never received a Groupon e-mail and don’t plan on it. Until they start dishing out coupons for produce or gas, I figure I don’t need it that bad if I didn’t really know I wanted it in the first place.

  4. I have very similar feelings about groupon, even though I DO tend to purchase quite a few of them. In Austin, there are multiple of these types of “deal” sites, and I’ve since stopped following all except for two, and I only use them for things I really want (restaurants I already love, restaurants I’ve been meaning to try, or if my cousin is getting married in May—she is—a pedicure/manicure combo to use beforehand so I don’t embarrass myself in front of all the Southern belles also in the bridal party).

    In addition to your rules of thumb, I always check the restrictions for dining…if it’s only lunch, say, I won’t get it because I am a teacher and cannot go out to lunch. If it’s only for dine-in, I will only sometimes by it, as I am single and sometimes I don’t have anyone to go with me (not that I would mind eating alone, it’s just more fun with a friend).

    Check the expiration dates before you buy. And always keep a post-it or something with the dates near by so you don’t forget and end up wasting money. 🙂

  5. I don’t think you sounded like a complainer. You were just being honest. It’s tough when you have to be the parent to your parent. I don’t write about it on the blog but I know how that is. Believe me. Sometimes you just want to be the kid! And that’s perfectly OKAY!

    As for Groupon, I’ve never found anything worthwhile in my area on it. I’ve used Livingsocial a few times though. Usually the stuff offered isn’t worth the half price or even the full price. It’s insane!

  6. Don’t worry about your last post. Don’t feel like you have to defend or explain yourself. I hope that doesn’t sound mean. I just don’t want you to think you have to be reserved with that kind of stuff. You are grieving and going through a rough time and it’s ok to talk about. Ok..done.

    Groupon is really hit or miss. I’ve used them for one of our favorite pizza places. A $25 coupon or something like that for really cheap, so I grabbed 2. Most of the rest of the coupons are bleh.

  7. Dear Eden,
    thanks so much for that vlog, first off you’re so sweet!! I sent it to my mom via le skype to show her that your name was indeed pronounded Ed-in.
    You’re allowed to post anything you want, frankly I keep returning to your blog because I like it- it’s a breath of fresh air and it’s honest. If there is something I appreciate, it is straight up honesty and humility and you have both. If we ever met, I think I’d love you haha
    Hannah

  8. My rule with groupon is:
    1. Review the place first
    2. If it’s for a massage, see how many people have bought, and either book IMMEDIATELY, or don’t bother, because I won’t get one for years
    3. Don’t buy anything for something or somewhere I didn’t already want to go
    4. Use coupon immediately so I don’t forget and waste money

    There’s more, but I agree with all the above as well.

    Also just catching up on your blog and very sorry to hear about your dad. I know how stubborn men can be, and although I can’t know exactly how you feel in this situation my heart goes out to you.

    Also love the Vlog. You’re smokin hot whether you like it or not.

  9. I didn’t think you were whining or complaining in your last post at all. You were saying it like it was, which is a good quality to have.

    I get both groupon and livingsocial emails but I never buy/use them, I’m just curious and must know about everything. 😛
    I’ll stick to my coupons for produce and such at regular supermarkets. 😉

  10. ok totally making that right now. i just had a dr. praegers sweet potato pancake with cashew butter but your puree looks so much better. i love/hate groupon. i won’t lie and say that i’ve never splurged but i enjoy researching the crap out of stuff so the pressure is kinda a deal breaker for me most times.

  11. That puree sounds fantastic!
    i’ve never done any groupon things/deals, so i don’t know a whole bunch about it! but i will admit i’m intrigued!!

  12. Thanks for sharing about groupon. Our bakery got approached by something similar and we went back and forth on what to do. We have not done anything with it for a few reasons. But we have heard a lot about groupon and other sites like that.

Leave a Reply

