Nectarine Berry Cobbler and Why Jews Are Funny

I realized that next week is “Purim”.

I know, WTF is “Purim”???

Its my favorite holiday. Its a Jewish holiday where we commemorate the victory of a Jewish genocide on ancient Persia. But this holiday rocks. Its BETTER than halloween! People dress up in costumes, its encouraged to be silly and play jokes on people. And the best part, you are supposed to party it up and drink! Seriously! Its in our version of bible!

Why all the silliness? Well, as the purim story goes, a potential tragedy turns triumphant just in time, when, in an ironic twist. This evil dude in ancient Persia that planned to hang all the jews ended up being executed on the very gallows he’d built to hang the Jews. The Purim story, with its upside down punchline of an ending, is the taproot of all Jewish humor, which traditionally links the tragic with the comic.

This got me thinking…”Wow, a lot of Jews are hilarious!”

Woody Allen, Jerry Seinfeld, Jon Stewart, Jerry Lewis, Seth Rogen, Adam Sandler, Sacha Baron Cohen, Chelsea Handler, Joan Rivers, Sarah Silverman, Roseanne Barr….I could go on and on, but I really don’t want to rub it in your face that we are a hilarious tribe.

So I thought I’d list the possible reasons Jews often get so many laughs:

1) Hard Times: We were oppressed and persecuted numerous times throughout history. When lots of shit happens, sometimes the only thing you can do is laugh.

2) We need to stand out….a little: Jews only make up 1.5% of the American population! I know, I’m even rarer than I thought! I think we just want a little attention now and then, and nothing gets attention like a “pee running down you’r leg laugh”.

3) Not all of us want to be doctors or movie producers: As the jewish comic, Sarah Silverman, said, “I was raped by a my doctor, which is bittersweet for a Jewish girl”.

4) We are by “invitation only”: Despite the fact that there are few of us, we are actually very selective. If a non-jew comes to a rabbi seeking conversion, the rabbi is to refuse him three times before even discussing the possibility of converting. Don’t hate us for that. It’s not like we’re depriving you the one true path to salvation. We don’t have a heaven, and if we did, we wouldn’t believe that only Jews go there. It’s not like Miami Beach or a snazzy deli. It kind of makes it seem like Judaism is like some sort of burden. And that accounts for a need for humor as much as anything else.

5) Adam Sandler: Don’t really know how Adam Sandler got into this post. He just mysteriously appears whenever there is conversation about how cool Jews are!

6) We cant play sports: With a few exceptions like Sandy Koufax and Mark Spitz (and I had to google them because I didnt know any Jewish athlete right off the bat), I think we can all agree that we can’t kick or shoot a ball.Practicing jump shots and learning to throw a curve ball are seen as frivolous pursuits in a typical “Jewish home”. So we make up at least half the cast of SNL.


7) The “Jew Fro”: As urban dictionary describes, a jew fro is “an orgasm-inducing hairstyle worn by people of jewish descent. It consists of curly hair and is often large.” Ex: Seth Rogen, Trey Parker (south park creator), and Jonah Hill. Sorry, but there is something funny about white people with afros.

8 ) Because let’s face it, nothing is funnier than turing a circumcision into a drinking party


I know, your expecting some Purim delicacy or challah, or maybe even a giant matzah ball recipe.

nope, your getting cobbler

  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 3 cups frozen berries ( I used raspberrie, nectarines, and blueberries)
  • 1 tbs cinnamon
  • 2 tbs granulated sugar
  • 2/3 cup all-purpose flour or 3/4 cup almond flour
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup regular oats
  • 2/3 cup milk of choice
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 4-1/2 tablespoons chilled butter or stick margarine, cut into small pieces
  • Combine the first 4 ingredients in a medium bowl; spoon into ramekins or a baking dish. Combine 2/3 cup flour, 1/2 cup brown sugar, oats, and cinnamon, and cut in the butter with a pastry blender or two knives and add the milk, stirring until the all the ingredients are incorporated. Spoon over the berry mixture. Bake at 375 degrees for 30 minutes or until bubbly.

    20 thoughts on “Nectarine Berry Cobbler and Why Jews Are Funny

    1. I love the idea of an upside down punchline of an ending! Though the idea of someone being hanged being funny.. I struggle with that a little! I thought we Brits were irreverent with our humour, but this is a whole other level!

    2. Love cobbler especially apple but yours sounds like a ‘must taste’ too!

      Love the circumcision = party concept. Drinking sounds necessary to cope with the idea of what’s actually being done.

      As a Russian from a long line of martyrs (!!!) odd excuses to drink and morose humor is nothing new to me 🙂

    3. Well, as you know. I am thoroughly obsessed with Jews. Jewish men, I adore. You, I adore. Adam Sandler, I adore. And it’s definitely true that all the Jews I know are hysterically funny. Pee your pants funny. Start to cry because your lacrimal ducts can’t handle the laughter funny. And that’s probably really why I love your people so much. 😛

    4. Oooh, you posted one of my favorite foods. However, you commited the ultimate crime here….you didn’t include ice cream. Holy moly ice cream take it to a whole other level. Can’t have cobbler w/o it. Other than that your pic is perfect. 😀

      I had a really cool, crazy jewish boss once. She was hilarious. She used to say ‘oh vey’ to me all the time, I guess because I’m such a goon. She was one of those people that, even though she was my boss, I felt SO comfortable with her that I could be my weird self around her. Anyway, her ‘oh vey’ rubbed off on me and I’ve been saying it for years. I’m not jewish, or even religious for that matter…haha.

      • I’m jewish, but totally not religious. I havent been to temple since I was twelve. And to be honest, I don’t love cobbler, but ice cream…..as you said whole other level!

    5. hahahaha i love jewish people. mainly because i grew up with so many. and also my dad’s parents were jewish but he was adopted so he was raised methodist. but i also think you should add that jewish people (or women) are GREAT hostesses’ or atleast this is an assumption based on one of my best friend’s mom who is amazing at entertaining guests haha

    6. I love the Book of Esther – it was my first book of the Bible to read. I love all the Jewish holidays and traditions – so much meaning! And a Jewish wedding? – best fun EVER! Man, they know how to throwdown!!

      Great cobbler and I love the fact it’s in individual ramekins!

    7. people often think i’m jewish but i’m not. i never thought about it before but yeah there are a ton of hella funny jewish folks out there! cobbler just isn’t cobbler without a big scoop of vanilla bean ice cream!

    8. I always wanted to be Jewish. Now I want to be even more. The no heaven thing interests me, I thought I knew a lot about Judaism, but I guess I missed a major point. You know what? Growing up no one really discussed religion, everyone just had one. Once I got to college, people seemed to care more. Wonder why that is…

    9. Hank Aaron was Jewish… there actually were / are quite a lot of Jewish athletes. And Adam Sandler? Nothing personal, but I. can’t. stand. him.

      Actually, the drinking is probably a good way to forget the holiday that’s coming up next…

      ❤ ❤

      • Truth: I dont love Sandler much either, but like I said in the post, anything “jewish” and he finds his way in. I’m more of a Jon Stewart and Andy Samberg fan when it comes to representing!

    10. i love jewish boys. And I love it all — the Jew-fro, the occasional big nose, etc. I’m jewish by blood, but don’t practice any religion. I think that 98% of the people in the world that I find hilarious are Jewish.

      p.s. my childhood best friend, also Jewish, is related to Roseanne Barr.

    11. The jew fros are my favorite. They can either be great if someone works it right or they can be absolutely terrible.
      Cobbler = love. The last time I had cobbler was over a year ago! It was in cooking class and wasn’t very good because my teacher really had no idea what she was doing.

    12. I really enjoyed this post, laughed out loud a few times, and agreed with you an almost all counts. You see, I myself am a Greek Jew, who is also a Christian, which seems odd, but works! Jewish humor is one of my favorites. And who doesn’t LOVE a good “Jew Fro”? White guys with fro’s are awesome!

    Leave a Reply

    