Coconut Sugar Cookies and What I Learned From The Oscars

Wow, my last post was popular. But to be politically correct, it wasn’t really mine. But I’m glad many of you enjoyed it and none of you said something mean in response. I feel that my pathetic guest post didn’t stand up to the abby’s swap. But reading your comments certainly made my weekend! I love it when other people get discussions going

I was going to write something pertaining to the Oscars today. I was thinking of writing up an acceptance speech I would use should I ever win (yea, for like best craft service!). I was considering giving out “blog awards” but I realize thats silly because a) why compare blogs? and b) I honestly have not had much time to read very many….

Instead, I realized I learned a few things. So I’ll briefly tell you about them:

1) Watching the Oscar Pre-Show is painful: um…..no one looks like crap! Lame!

2) Don’t Follow James Franco on Twitter: Like my blog reading, I only “follow” a few people. Actually, only 20 and it will always be like that. I “un-follow ” people when there is someone new I want to follow. My cut off is twenty. Otherwise, it gets stressful. But I digress….I started following James last week when he JUST got a twitter account. He only had like one tweet (PS, I hate that term, “tweet”….gag!). I’ve had a crush on James ever since he was on that show “Freaks and Geeks”. Since every other celebrity has over a million followers, at the time, he only had like 100,000 so I figured…why not? Turns out, on EVERYONE ON THE PLANET retweets whatever James Franco tweets on Oscar night!!! My twitter timeline exploded. Plus, we posts some strange ass photos of the pee in his toilet. Gross.

3) The New Oscar Envelopes Suck:ย I heard on NPR that this year, the envelops this year were serious business. They got pimped out! Theyย custom-designed the envelopes to be handcrafted from a high-gloss, iridescent metallic gold paper stock, with a red-lacquered lining featuring the Oscar statuette hand-stamped in satin gold leaf! Snazzy, but when the presenters tried to open them, they seemed to be stuck in there.ย Next year, I think we should use manilla envelopes.

4) A Million Dollars Isn’t Cool: Apparently, a billion dollars is. (Not really learned from the Oscar, but learned from Oscar favorite, The Social Network.

5) Anne Hathaway’s Orthodontist Should Win Something! And as annoying as she might seem, there is something human about her that makes me feel she’s genuinely down to earth and un-diva. She’s ok in my book.

6) Too Much Facial Hair Can Be Skevy! Case in point: Christian Bale looked like he was ready to slay Grendel!

7) Gwyneth needs an Ensure: maybe thirty!

8) Don’t Do Yoga on Oscar Sunday: My dad’s friend from out of town came to visit him and went to a yoga studio not too far away from the Oscars. He borrowed my dad’s car and after his zen yoga experience, found the car gone! Yep, not stolen, but towed by the Oscar nazis. Namaste my ass.

What have you learned this weekend? Favorite Oscar moment? I liked Kirk Douglas’ bit hitting on Anne Hathaway.

And its feel like forever since I’ve posted a recipe! So hears a coconut sugar cookie recipe to hold you over:

  • 1/2 cup coconut flour (or use a cup if your omitting the flour to make it gluten free)
  • 1/2 cup AP flour
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 stick butter (softened)
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Sift the dry ingredients together.
  3. In a separate bowl, cream butter until soft, then add sugar and beat until fluffy. Add in egg, and then add vanilla.
  4. Combine wet and dry ingredients into a soft dough. Roll into about 1 1/2 inch balls and flatten slightly in a bowl filled with the sprinkles so they stick.
  5. Place dough slices onto baking sheets and bake for 12-15 minutes until edges are golden. Cool completely and enjoy the sugar rush.

27 thoughts on “Coconut Sugar Cookies and What I Learned From The Oscars

  1. Pretty cookies! At the opening sequence I said, “James Franco naked. I WILL IT SO…” and then a few minutes later he was in teh black swan body suit sequence… I ALMOST got my wish haha.
    Anne Hathaway is pretty phenomenally graceful and stylish. I think she’s kind of funny too, not over the top though.
    Happy Sunday!

    • Like I said, she needs some Ensure or sandwich. I loved her when she was younger and not as known (esp in”sliding doors” netflix it!). But ever since shes been BFFs with Madonna and naming her daughter apple and all that, I kind of got turned off. I did like her Grammy performance but thats because I’m biased to the muppets.

  2. because you know what is better than 1 million dollars? 1 billion dollars! ๐Ÿ™‚ I didn’t watch the oscars because we were pretty busy being geeky, but I hope the social network won at least something. I actually didn’t realize the oscars were today until my twitter started getting crazy with dresses comments. Who said this thing is about the movies??

  3. haha…love the recap! i’m not even sure if the Oscars were shown here in Oz, maybe they’re still to come (we’re generally behind on things.) the show is so bloody long though, i think last year we Tivod so we could fast forward through the boring bits. and on a side note, why haven’t i heard of coconut flour?

  4. I didn’t even watch, as a) I hadn’t seen any of the movies and b) it just kind of seems like three hours of rich people telling each other how wonderful they are. Then again, James Franco, Hugh Jackman and Mark Whalberg were all duded up, so at least there’s yummy eye candy.

    Plus, they didn’t even really start until 9pm our time and well, I am in bed by 10:30.

  5. I didn’t watch, but I’ve been checking out the fashion this morning! I definitely agree about Gwen, the girl needs a couple of milkshakes.

  6. I think the Social Network should have won more awards … and Inception should have won for art direction and original script. I am never happy with who the “academy” chooses … it always seems like they are trying too hard to be “classy.”

    That is so cool that the Oscars go down in your city ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I usually don’t watch many award shows, but I’ve actually seen a couple of the movies nominated this year so that made it fun. I wanted The Kings Speech to win and it did, so I was really happy about that.

    Who ever told Gweneth Paltrow she could sing? It’s a good thing Celine came on AFTER her. She needs to stick to acting…

    I think Franco and Hathaway did a great job. I learned that a man can still look hot dressed in an evening gown.

  8. I loved the discussion from your last post as well. I wish a healthy and constructive debate was more common in the blog world!

    Oh the Oscars…how I adore both James Franco and Annie Hathaway as actors and people, but not as host and hostess. I was happy about a lot of the winners, but I think I prefer the Golden Globes because the celebs are usually pretty toasted by the time they get up on stage ; )

  9. I could still run through the streets with banners saying ‘i want to see the oscars in germany’! no such luck. I guess people here don’t care and only care for the berlinale??! wo knows? they are idiots anyways cause I want to see them nad not just stupid photos on the net!
    Okay so I guess I will now stop looking for a millionaire in my life and start looking for a billionaire! great! thanks eden ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. I didn’t get to watch the show because we don’t get ABC as apart of our satellitel…..package?? Lol! I did watch the red carpet though, which is really my favorite part anyways ๐Ÿ™‚ I thought Gwyneth’s dress was so pretty, though she could stand to gain a few lbs.!

  11. sorry this has nothing to do do with the oscars topice u posted as have not watched any tv for 10days…….been in rehab (i can never think that word without finishing with amy winehouse song in my head) aaaaaaaaaaaaaannnyway I so much more myself and reading u and abbey after being without Internet has given me such a mental boost. god i have misseed this feeling. THANK YOU times a million reading ur blogs again is really comforting and helpful. p.s now i look at the recipies and really KNow that i can mke them and actually eat them without the million thoughts ….bring on the Mcdonalds.

    • Yea, I think some people didn’t get that joke, but I had the best teacher in ninth grade and I will forever remember what we read, even if it was kinda weird like beowulf. Did you ever see that movie by the way with Angelina Jolie? I passed on it, given that the thought of Angelina in something like that might make me want to gouge my eyes out.

  12. I’m gonna agree on Gwyneth needing an ensure.

    The girl is an idiot. I’ve seen her on some Mario Batali food show, whining about how fat she felt while being treated to a churro in Italy. She needs to reset her priorities and stop trying to look like she did when she was 19.

    My fave part of the oscars was when they auto-tuned Harry Potter. Twas amazing.

  13. hahahaha i AGREE anne hathaway just screams “be my best friend!!!” especially after i saw her on oprah and how cute she was about billy crystal and oprah!

Leave a Reply

