Spaghetti “Nests” and Open Letter to Lady Gaga

Before I begin, I just wanted to say that I was not trying to fish for comments on my last post. I almost took the post down for fear I’d sound like a whiner fishing for compliments but believe me, I don’t take compliments well, so I never try to seek them. Anyhow, thanks for all the kind words. Truly, you guys keep me going!

But moving on….

I love writing “open letters”. I wrote an open letter to whole foods last year and I think its time for a new one. This time to the all time attention whore: Lady Gaga.

Dear Lady Gaga (or should I say Stefani Germanotta),

First off… Lets start off with the positive stuff. I have to say, your music is kind of catchy and I can’t help but sing along to your songs sometimes.  I can’t tell you how embarrassing it is getting caught, stopped at a stop light, belting out… RAH RAH OUGHT OUGHT ATTA!

But I am here to say, you are officially too much… you need a weekend with Jesus, Dr. Phil, or hell, maybe Tim Tebow. Or maybe you need something structured, try Buddhism, Tiger swears by it. Every time I see you I think to myself “Damn girl, put on a damn pair of jeans and a tank top!” Maybe take it a step further… try sweats. Oh my God GaGa, sweats and flip flops will change your life! Look, everyone is no longer “shocked” by you, so shock us with some sweats and or yoga pants, puh-lease!!!

After seeing you at the Grammy Awards I felt kind of bad for you. I mean, you were in an egg for crying out loud! What effed up hen laid you! Does this make you not a mammal anymore?

In the end, I probably could have forgiven you for all this. I could have blamed all of it on bad influences, bad stylist, or you just needing attention, maybe more hugs as a child. But you came out with something we can not forgive you for, the dreaded meat dress. Now I don’t have enough time to write down all the jokes that pop up in my head so I will just go with what I think are the best ones. First off, when I first saw it I couldn’t help but realize how much that looked like another one of the notorious crotch shots while Lindsay, Britney or Paris are getting out of a car (probably smelt similar too). For all I know that could have just been pictures of their crotches stitched together to resemble a meat dress. I don’t know if I can ever look at beef the same. But enough with that, you are lucky you weren’t wearing that steak on your head walking in, who knows what a bum in L.A. will do for a fresh steak. You obviously give all your love to the gays and not to the homeless. You could have dressed and fed them all for a month!

Also… I need to address your kermit outfit. The meat dress (although hilarious) didn’t offend me, what did was the kermit….thing you wore! How many poor kermits did you have to murder for that!? I guess its really not that easy being green….sigh.

I also would like you to stop being a philosopher. Whenever I read an article about you, you always try to regurgitate some made up proverbs but you end up sounding like a moron. ““I have this weird thing that if I sleep with someone they’re going to take my creativity from me through my vagina.” Hmm, I have a suspicion kermit was trying to sleep with you….

Anyways, not all hope is lost… There is always Oprah. Dear Oprah, please save GaGa, because there is so much gagging I can take!

Sincerely,

Eden

So here’s a recipe for her egg, a nest! A nice carby nest!

  • 1 package ounces spaghetti (or gluten free option)
  • 1/2 cup grated cheddar cheese
  • 1 cup greek yogurt or cottage cheese
  • olive oil
  • pinch garlic salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/2 cup frozen peas
  • 1/4 teaspoon paprika
  • shaved Parmesan for garnish
  1. Cook pasta according to directions, reserve 1/2 cup of cooking liquid. Be sure not to break spaghetti while cooking so you can twirl it into nests.
  2. Pre heat oven to 425˚F with the rack in the center of the oven.
  3. Lightly spray Muffin tins.
  4. Combine cottage cheese/or greek yogurt and cheddar cheese in a bowl.
  5. Toss cooked pasta with a splash of olive oil, peas all spices and seasonings. Add some of the reserved cooking liquid if you need to. Mix with cheese mixture. Reserve a bit of cheese to top each nest.
  6. Twirl spaghetti with a fork and add to muffin tins, create nest shapes. Top each nest with a bit of the cottage cheese/yogurt mixture.
  7. Bake for about 10 minutes. The tops of your nests will be lightly browned and a bit crispy.
  8. Let cool for a few minutes. Gently loosen spaghetti nests from muffin tins with a spatula and serve.

18 thoughts on “Spaghetti “Nests” and Open Letter to Lady Gaga

  1. Okay. Forget my pizza omelet…I kinda want to make those effing fantastic nests!!!!! Do they keep well? Or do you have to eat them right away?

    You might get slammed for this post…I know there’s a lot of hard-core Lady Ga-ga fans out there…they may call you a pedestrian who knows nothing about true art, blah blah blah.

    Personally, I think Lady Ga-Ga just really knows how to sell a product: her. And all her wacky jazz.

    • They actually keep beautifully! you wanna do them instead for the video? they are super easy and reheat well. And I am ok with getting slammed for this one. And I agree with those who say I know nothing about true art, because its true.

  2. Well there’s a reason she has “Gag” in her name. Really, it was the shoulder implants that did me in. But the sad thing is that the public buys into it and we “feed’ her addiction to attention. The only song I know is the Alejandro one. Catchy enough, I guess. Though at least she admits that she is high on weed (???) while writing her song lyrics. Not that she actually needed to say that out loud. She had a concert in my city last night…coincidentally.

    I am still holding out hope for Oprah. She is teetering though with this OWN and ‘I am so humble’ stuff right now. Still think she does so much good and her heart is in the right place.

    Oh and I have been lurking and reading your blog and have to say it’s a heckuva lot more interesting than lots out there. Thanks!

  3. While I can appreciate ‘untraditional’, she is a bit over kill for me. I can’t tell if she is really that eccentric or if she is pretending to be to ‘market’ herself. Probably the latter.

    I do know she has *some* talent. I’ve seen a video of her singing with only the piano she was playing and it was actually really good.

    I think she has lost most the ‘wowness’ factor that she once had. Now that she has gotten SO weird, she mostly just gets laughed at. Thing is though, she is the one laughing all the way to the bank.

  4. You obviously give all your love to the gays and not to the homeless. You could have dressed and fed them all for a month!
    hahah!! you’re hilarious!! I love your letters eden!
    And those nests looks fantastic!

  5. I can’t forgive you for that mental image of “crotches stitched together”!! Ahhhhh!!!!

    But this was quite funny! I for one am sick of her songs too. They don’t just play them on the radio, the play them, and play them, and play them, and………….you get the picture! They should just give her her own station and not play her on the other ones!

  6. I was going to say I’d make “nests” with blueberries to make them like robins’ eggs for spring, but that would taste nasty. I guess I could also dye the peas blue-ish. That would also serve to get in my quota of artificial flavoring in my food haha.

    I like this spring recipe, and now I’m giong to look at your last post because I saw something about “candy” and “protein” in the same sentence- got my attention 🙂

  7. Your posts never cease to make me laugh (at least the not so serious ones). I totally agree with everything you said about gaga! She confuses me so much. I read that article in which she said the creativity thing. She also said she was celibate, but she likes to “get down” every now and then. That makes no sense. She is an enigma.

    Those spaghetti nests are so cute. I have been obsessed with cheese lately, so these are right up my alley!

  8. I too have been quite disturbed by Gaga as of late. It makes me glad that I don’t have a tv so I don’t have to see all of the ridiculous things she does, only hear about them. I hope she reads your letter. But she might accuse you of trying to steal her creativity from her left nostril. Just saying.

  9. Anything in muffin/cupcake form is alright by me. Also, not like my child needs any coaching to eat spaghetti, but how could she resist these. Pea eggs in a sketti nest – genius. I wonder if you could put them in a baking cup, like a foil one that is a little more sturdy. I’m obsessed with savory cupcakes lately.

Leave a Reply

