Corn Chowder and Things I Love Week: The Library

Short and sweet post today because I had to work today and got to see my wonderful friend, Deb! (PS, she taught me how to properly jump rope and apparently, I rock at it!)

I’m continuing my “Things I Love Week” in honor valentines day. In case you missed it, so far, I have professed my love to:

Today, is very special because it doesn’t involve cheap furniture or John Mayer. In fact, it doesn’t cost anything at all. Its the Library.

I’ve always had a love affair with the Library. I’ve been very fortunate to have excellent Libraries in my city. Growing up I lived near the Beverly Hills Public library which looks like a Museum.

Gorgeous, no?

These days, I frequent the Santa Monica Public Library which I think is actually better than the Beverly Hills one (and I didn’t even think that was possible!).

Its pretty obvious why I love the library. Free books, free dvds (and my libraries have a great selection!), free internet, and the Santa Monica one even has a nice cafe in the middle of it where they have delcious brown rice salads and frozen yogurt!

So really, my post would be rather boring if I just wrote: I love the library because its all good things for free!!!

Right? That would be kind of lame and very “Jew” of me.

So instead, I have thought up of ideas of fun (perhaps even funny) titles of children’s books:

  1. You Are Different and That’s Bad
  2. Santa Clause, The Tooth Fairy, and Other Lies your Parents Told You
  3. The Boy Who Died From Eating All His Vegetables
  4. Strangers Have the Best Candy
  5. Whining, Kicking, and Crying to Get Your Way
  6. Pop Goes the Gerbil and Other Great Microwave Games
  7. It Hurts when I Poop

    Yes my friends, this one is ACTUALLY a real book!

  8. Fun Four-Letter Words to Know and Share
  9. Horton Hears a Ho!
  10. The Little Engine That Couldn’t Because He’s A Worthless Bum
  11. The Secret Garden…in Your Older Brother’s Bedroom
  12. Who Cares About Disabled People?

    Yes, shockingly also a REAL book title!

 

So….Any book title ideas you want to share? What do you love about the library?

So once again, here’s a recipe that has nothing do with Libraries. But I love bacon, potatoes, and corn…and this chowder has all the that!

  • 4 slices bacon, chopped
  • 2 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 4 cups chicken stock (or veggie stock if your vegetarian)
  • 1 cup milk of choice
  • 1 cup fresh or frozen corn kernels (Trader Joe’s makes a frozen roasted kind which I used!)
  • 2 medium potatoes, diced into cubes
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh chives
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice

 

  1. Ia medium saucepan over medium heat, cook bacon, stirring often, until crisp (about 3 to 5 minutes) Transfer the bacon with a slotted spoon to a paper towel-lined plate to drain.
  2. Add oil, onion, garlic, thyme, salt and pepper to the pot and stir to combine. Cook, stirring occasionally, until the onion begins to brown and soften, about 3 minutes. Sprinkle flour over the onion mixture and stir to coat. Add broth and milk and bring to a simmer, whisking constantly. Add corn and potatoes, increase heat to medium-high and return to a simmer. Reduce heat to maintain a simmer and cook, stirring occasionally until the potatoes are tender. Add the crisp bacon before serving and extra salt and pepper to taste. I personally am not a cheese fan, but if you are, this would probably be nice with some cheddar on top right before serving.


 

20 thoughts on “Corn Chowder and Things I Love Week: The Library

  1. i dont go to the library that much, you’d think w/ a kid i would…but i dont. I dunno, something about ordering books from amazon or ebay that are gently used for like 50 cents….it’s just as good as the library.

    And our weather, per your comment to me…yes, ppl always get a little green when the see how nice it is here. But we choose to live here, right?! Choices. All of life is a choice. Just like santa monica vs. bev hills. Love that 🙂

  2. I love my libary too. It has free cookbooks. Holler!

    Those book titles are too funny. Although I can’t believe those two are actually REAL books. How did they get past an editor? Really.

  3. I love the library too, but don’t go as often as I should. I love to read, but my problem is I look at books like a commitment. Which is why I haven’t started the one I have right now. I feel like I need to prepare myself and get ‘ready’ before I start one. Because once I do, I need to devote precious time to it and ‘schedule’ it in. Is that weird?! I feel like it is…lol. Plus it takes me foreeeever to finish one.

    One of the best books I’ve ever read was Linda Howard’s Mr. Perfect. It’s a really really good romance/mystery. Highly recommended.

  4. I flipping love the library. Of course, I’ve recently become a kindle convert (which is perfect for a traveling gal like me), and classic books are free. Hellooooo Jane Austin…

  5. I love libraries. Especially university libraries. Especially old university libraries. They give me the “holy halls of wisdom” feeling. Book stores are also nice. 😉

  6. hey girl, sorry for the lack of comments, finally been able to catch up on your posts. Loving your things i love week 🙂

    I have not been to a library in years…is that bad?? I need to get out more haha

  7. i love the library lately because one of my books for grad school is on book on tape and i’ve been able to read and commute at the same time which is amaze. library love is endless but librarians not so much

Leave a Reply

