Lemon Rose Cupcakes and Things I Love Week: Ikea!

As I mentioned yesterday, I’m doing a “Things I love series” this week until Valentines Day.

But on to things i actually love….

Today, I bring you my love for Ikea!

Hello, my name is Eden, and I love Ikea!

I love ikea so much, I want to marry it! I mean its affordable (seventy cents for tea light holders???), clean, organized, practical, and delicious. Of course, no body is perfect and sometimes I cant help but feel the assembly alone is degrading. But there’s so much that’s great about IKEA that I can’t help but forgive those issues.
Since I have this thing with lists, I’m just gonna list the reasons Ikea rocks my world.

Three weeks out of my treatment center and where do I go??? IKEA!!

The “Experience”: the experience of shopping at an Ikea is incredible! I love their showrooms because its not a fantasy! Most showrooms impress you, but you need to sell your kidney and get a bigger place for it to even resemble the showroom. Ikea has a few showrooms that have a theme such as “living in 350 square feet” – and that whole space will encompass living, kitchen, bedroom and bathroom! Apartments are very small and very, very expensive in Sweden; they know about maximizing space!

Shortcuts: Part of what makes the Ikea shopping experience special is the shortcuts! Throughout the showroom there are clearly-labeled shortcuts from one product area to another. These can come in handy if you’re not interested in say, perusing the entire showroom, and you’re looking to check out only specific things. I sorta wish they had this at target or costco!

Bedside Manners: The other thing that Ikea does RITE is sheets, towels, pillows, throws, rugs, and lights. There’s no assembly, and you can get a whole set for a queen-size bed for like $30. I can buy like six sets and if I get sick of them, voila, a new one! But in all honesty, I like my sheets simple. All white like a cloud. Although their prints are creative and groovy, their plain white stuff is beautiful and comfy. I’m on cloud nine.

No Kids! Thank the Swedish god for the child drop-off where they can roll around in blue and yellow balls. Forget the furniture; no annoying kids throughout the store and happy parents walking about!

no kids, so I take over the kids section! tell me u never wanted to swim in a pool of stuffed animals!

 

Clutz-Proof: I spill/drop/ruin everything! So its nice to know my bowls and pillowcases are easily replaced!

Clutzes unite!

FOOD: Did you really think I was going to write about Ikea and not mention food? Its Swedish, costs as much as McDonalds, tastes good, and it involves chocolate and meatballs (sold separately of course). Also, like the sheets, no assembly required! They even sell their infamous meatballs frozen! But dont think its all meatballs! Their 1 dollar frozen yogurt, Rye cracker bread, lingonberry jam, herring (yes, I like herring), one dollar coffee that doesn’t taste like chalk!!! I swear, if an ugly douche bag took me there on a date, I might consider the possibility of a follow up date (but meatballs would have to be involved). 

Do you love Ikea? its ok, I hate a lot about it too (assembly!!!)

Ok, and for valentines day, I’m not giving roses. Why give roses when you cane give lemon rose cupcakes! For about 12-15 cupcakes, you will need

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 stick of butter
3/4 cups granulated sugar
2 tsp. vanilla extract
1 egg
1 cup milk
2 teaspoon finely shredded lemon peel
juice of one lemon

For the “Rose” buttercream you will need:

1 stick of butter (softened)
1 cup granulated sugar
2 tablespoons honey
3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 350 degree F Line your muffin tin with paper bake cups; set aside. In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt; set aside.In a large bowl, beat butter with an electric mixer on medium to high speed for 30 seconds. Add granulated sugar, lemon juice and vanilla; beat until well mixed. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Add flour mixture and the milk alternately to beaten mixture, beating on low speed after each addition just until combined. (The batter will be thick.) Stir in lemon peel. Spoon about 1/4 cup of the batter into each prepared muffin cup. Bake for about 18 minutes or until a wooden toothpick inserted in centers comes out clean.

For the butter cream, simply cream the butter with the sugar until fluffy and then add the rest of the ingredient. Spoon into a ziploc bag and cut the corner to pipe the roses. Just swirl the frosting in a circle and you should get something that looks like a rose! Trust me, its easier than it looks!

26 thoughts on “Lemon Rose Cupcakes and Things I Love Week: Ikea!

  1. Your cupcakes look beautiful and perfect!

    As is the 1st shot of you in your kitch…wow, did anyone tell you you’re looking phenomenal lately? They should 🙂

    Ikea. Not a fan of the mega size of it, trooping thru it w/ a kid, dealing w/ parking, dealing w/ assembly..but for skylar’s bedroom makeover and getting her into a big bed, dresser, toy organizers, it was CHEAP and looks great!

  2. I love IKEA!!
    My best friends dad is the man behind the famous meat balls. He makes them for IKEA 🙂
    hope you’re having a good weekend eden. I would love to skype with you one day!

  3. Much like Trader Joes and Whole Foods, we do not have an Ikea within 200 miles of here. Unlike Trader Joes and Whole Foods, I have never even been to one. Apparently this is a good thing, as I actually like shopping for house stuff I don’t need but can’t refuse if on sale.

    Pretty cupcakes. Pretty lady 😉

  4. omg i just posted about ikea haha. i love it. i love their food, everything about it. the design is so smart. they are wizards i swear! my hubs and i remodeled our entire kitchen with ikea cabinets and we just built our bed and used a bookcase/baskets as our dresser. our rug, pillows, couch, spoons, bathroom storage etc. i am a slut for ikea. i kinda dig the assembly but my husband does even more…freaking LOVES building things!

  5. Haha! I love how easy you make it sound to make the little flower frostings! 🙂 Home decoration is the one single thing I never managed to get into. Maybe because I’ve never lived somewhere with intentions to be permanent and thus, none of my places felt like “home”. I prefer IKEA because it’s cheap and the quality is bearable for my poor grad-student’s stipend. But for bedsheets and towels, I vote Target all the way. They are so much softer and fluffier 🙂

  6. I love Ikea too but for some reason I cannot bring myself to eat anything from there. The meatballs scare me a little bit. The vanilla frozen yogurt does not though. I love that stuff.

  7. I adore IKEA! I’m Swedish though so I’m a bit biased. But either way, I kind of want to live in their store, the same way some people imagine living in a museum or Buckingham palace. My dream is for me to live in an apartment designed by Frank Gehry and furnished by IKEA. Lofty I know, but I believe we should reach for the stars ; )

  8. oh how I WISH I knew about the “Shortcuts”. I have a rather hilarious story involving one of my very first dates with my boyfriend, during which my body betrayed me and let’s just say I really, desperately needed to find a bathroom.

    I zig-zagged through the WHOLE 3675 miles of that store, following the regular signs, instead of figuring out a shortcut, sweating and squeezing my palms the whole time, trying to get to the bathroom. I will always think of that when I see the dizzying maze of Ikea.

    The showrooms are so much fun. We always get giddy and hopeful about the future, talking about how our living room will look one day…

  9. I have a love-hate relationship with IKEA. I really love the store, their things, their kitchen equipment department, and the affordability. (A lot of my furniture is from there.) What I don’t like so much is the terrible crowdedness. After an IKEA saturday afternoon, I’m always finished.

  10. I know there’s one about 3 hours away that I’ve never been to, but I just found out like a year ago! I wan to go sooooo bad!!! It’s not like I have my own place to remodel, but it just looks fun 🙂

  11. Ah, the closest IKEA to me is in Minneapolis. The last time a friend of mine went there, she picked up some lingonberry preserves for me, but that’s the closest I’ve been to one. I have a feeling it’d be like the organic grocery store that opened down in Sioux Falls not too long ago…I’d go in, be dazzled, and spend too much money.

  12. I’ve never been to Ikea before. We used to have one nearby but it closed before I ever went. I’ve heard amazing things about it though.

    Those cupcakes are beautiful!!! You have skill, my friend, and I am very jealous.

  13. I adore Ikea- the only thing that keeps me away is that ours shares its parking lot with the mall of america… can get a bit obnoxiously busy at times you see 🙂

  14. I LOVE Ikea!! Especially the meatballs, and the sauce they sell in the packets to go with the meatballs…and their cinnamon buns! YUMMY! Plus, all 3 of my kids rooms are ALL Ikea, and my kitchen table, and my desk…uh huh!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

