Vegan Waffles and Thing I Love to Hate

Valentine’s Day: these two words alone evoke an array of emotions. From delight to disdain, simply mentioning the holiday often brings an immediate change of mood. What is it about Valentines day?  After all, its the day when love and affection are supposed to be celebrated! And yet, it seems to generate such passion and revulsion all at the same time.

So now that Valentines day (and also, my first day of jury duty) is a few days away, I thought I’d write about stuff I love until Valentines day.

Don’t worry, it won’t be boring. Promise…kind of….

So to kick off the “stuff I love series”, I’m actually gonna start today with stuff I love to hate.  Because lets face it, I people definely love to hate Valentines Day!

Without further ado…..

John Mayer: I dont know why, but everyone seems to love to hate John Mayer. And I’m unapologetically one of them! hated him from the moment I heard that song he became famous for, “Your Body is a Wonderland.” I think it’s supposed to be an ode to sensuousness, with lyrics like “I’ll never let your head hit the bed without my hand behind it.”  Blech. Listen, let’s just have sex, okay? Call me insensitive but that mushy-smoochy stuff makes me cringe. And you know that song, “Daughters”? “Fathers, be good to your daughters. Daughters will love like you do. Girls become lovers, who turn into mothers, so mothers, be good to your daughters, too.” In other words, everyone, should try to be better parents, so it’ll be easier for John Mayer to get laid twenty-three years in the future. Because it’s all about you, John Mayer. It’s all about you wanting to chew on someone’s daughters’ tongue. Ok, rant over.

Women’s “health” Magazines: with headlines like “The One Diet Secret That’s Keeping You Fat.There seems to be a different secret every month; all versions of “you’re eating too much and exercising too little.” Or giving headlines like this: ““Get Rid of Clutter and Get Control of Your Life!” Hmmm lets start by trashing this stupid magazine.

Aunt “Flo”: I think all girls realized the advantages of using our menstrual cycles as a scapegoat for just about anything at some point in their lives. Yep, I think both women AND men love to hate it.  Just ate an entire Costco-sized bag of Kettle Chips?  Have a strong desire to karate chop that annoying co-worker?  Tears forming upon the realization that some model is dating James Franco?  IT MUST BE PMS!!! And of course, by no means is it acceptable for men to accuse us of being on or cycle.  The next time I hear someone tell me, “Wow, you must be on your period,” I will make him bleed.  Or not.  Sorry, I must be PMS-ing.

“The Hills”: I love California, I really do. But I think this show makes everyone feel like they’d wish California would just slide into the ocean. Its like the “Truman Show”, only awful! I think I speak for many when I say I just love to hate these whiny, babbling jet-setting, air-headed cast of calorie deprived trust-fund baby friends. I know, I’m putting it nicely.

What are things YOU love to hate? Come on don’t be shy!

What I love NOT to hate are some waffles! I recently saw Susan’s attempts at making a vegan waffle, and not being vegan myself, I’ve never actually tried to make one. But I’m glad to say I think I’ve figured it out!

  • 1 cup all purpose flour (for a gluten free version try 1/2 c brown rice and 1/2 c coconut flour)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup soy/almond/coconut milk (or the cow kind if you dont care about the vegan aspect)
  • 1/2 cup apple or pear sauce (trader joe’s maked a fabulous unsweetened pear sauce which I used!)
  • 1 tbs canola oil

Blend all ingredients together in blender. Preheat waffle iron and pour batter from blender onto hot waffle iron, and cook according to directions. I dont even miss the eggs, all this needs is some butter on top…..(tee hee)

and bacon….bacon is vegan…right????

24 thoughts on “Vegan Waffles and Thing I Love to Hate

  1. bacon should be vegan. In my perfect world at least.

    I love to hate Ed Hardy shirts. HATE them. Paying more than $50 for a t-shirt with a dragon and a lion on it? No thanks.

  2. I think Tyra Banks inspires love/hate in a lot of people. I simply find her fascinating, yet sort of hating lots and lots of things about her at the same time. But then she goes and whips out another onesie pantsuit, and I’m in love all over again…
    Just kill me now…

  3. Hm, people that try to be hipsters and hate on all the mainstream stuff. (Although I tend to hate on some popular trends as well)
    Ditto on John Mayer. That guy creeps me out, as does his music.

  4. um, I think John Mayer is kinda annoying around V-day. The hubs and I are so not mushy. haha. We haven’t even celebrated our anniversary and its been over a month. I just told him to just buy me sunflowers. I can’t stand all the cheesy jewelry commercials, like Kay’s. AHH!

  5. I love to hate Britney Spears. A truly manufactured success by the music industry. She has ALWAYS sucked. Same for Justin Bieber…wth is all the hype about? Gag.

    I love to hate this cold a$$ weather!! Not that you would know, ms. LA! j/k! 😛 I just can’t seem to warm up. At least this w/e it’s supposed to get up to 70 sunday, thank god.

  6. My new waffle complex is leaving me to believe it’s my protein powder that’s sticking to the iron. Because non-protein waffles are still coming out fine. I’m going to have to try this version! I didn’t add any apple sauce or anything, just coconut oil.

    In other news, I love to hate Jersey Shore.

    • I think the apple sauce might help with the protein powder as it could help hold it together more and become maybe less prone to sticking?? not sure but its worth a shot. and yes, the fact that the jersey shore are getting book deals??? ugh…

  7. I used to hate John Mayer but then I was stuck on a flight from Minneapolis two weeks ago and I was forced to listen to his new album and you know? I have to say he isn’t so bad after all! Shocking, I know.

    I’ve let all of my magazine subscriptions slide with the exception of Marie Claire. But yes, I am totally sick of those headlines!

    I am not into Val’s Day, much to Ali’s chagrin! I HATE the way restaurants totally scam you into fixed menus that cost an arm and a leg.

    • ugh. yea, she bugs me too! I heard that you cant look her straight in the eye or she’ll have her security go after you or something. I’m like, “who do you think you are??? you didn’t cure cancer!”

  8. “healthy living blogs” – well some of them. I can’t seem to unsubscribe (what if i miss something?) but everytime they sign up for another race or indulge in a piece of fudge or take a self pic of themselves, i press “mark all as read.”

    also, i think jury duty is fun. i know thats off topic, but just throwing it out there. maybe something awesome will happen. last time i had jury duty, it was breach of contract. snooze.

  9. I have a definite love/hate relationship with John Mayer. I HATE that daughters song. It’s like he’s just singing random sentence fragments. Weird. BUT…I hear that in real life he actually seriously rocks at playing the guitar. So I can love him for that.

    Lady Gaga. Love to hate her. Absolutely. Or hate to love? Or both? It’s a confusing relationship we have.

    • I respect lady gaga more than john mayer. I mean, at least shes not trying to sleep with everyone’s daughter! But I think shes an attention whore and disrespectful to meat. I mean if your already killing the animal, it might as well be feeding someone and perfectly seasoned!

  10. I’m way late to this post, still catching up on blogs after being gone for a few days, but just wanted to second you on John Mayer. That guy is seriously one of my biggest pet peeves….

    And I love to hate people that talk loudly on cell phones in confined public places. Especially on those little ear clip phones…

Leave a Reply

