Perogies and Yoga Class 101

I’ve realized I’ve neglected writing about yoga lately.

In all honesty, I havent been teaching much since I finished my 500 Teacher Training.

So I think its time for a post about yoga. Most specifically, attending yoga classes. I don’t know how many of you have even tried yoga, but you should know that you dont need to attend a class to practice. There are plenty of good yoga dvds and even on line youtube videos and yoga sequences.

However, I think its always best to take a class. Yoga actually means “union”.  And nothing feels more appropriate than practicing yoga with others. However, there are things I think you should know before attending a class. I’ve been on both sides, as a yoga instructor and student, so here’s my little “yoga class guide”:

Even classes without “Hot” in the title may very well be!

 

In all honesty, this is my one gripe about yoga. I cant stand “hot” yoga (if you want to know why, I explained it in this post). Many yoga studios believe that muscles that are warm are more pliable and they stretch more efficiently.  Many students find that their tightness goes away quicker in heat and it is more comfortable to move. Regular yoga classes are usually around 75-85 degrees, which when your moving, is very hot and sweat is inevitable. “Hot” classes can be upwards of 100 degrees. However, I find that yoga classes at gyms are “less hot” for some reason….anyhow, if heat is an issue, bring a fan or stay at home.

People Touching You

Besides the lovey dovey people who enjoy giving hugs, many yoga teachers use touch to correct alignment and to guide students into postures. I know I do when I teach, since thats how I was taught. Adjustments and assists, when safely administered, help you to grow your practice quickly and I think, actually feel great when administed.  If you feel uncomfortable with touch or the touch is unpleasant,  you can always tell them no thank you politely.

Strange Noises

Yoga postures are great for bringing things up. That can include gas, crying, burping, crazy congested breathing, gurgly sweat sounds, farts, sighs that sound like orgasms and many other noises. Yoga postures twist and compress the abdomen and stimulate the digestive organs. It’s kind of the point. So, yes, farts in yoga class happen. Its sort of funny sometimes, but dont get too grossed out. I mean, it beats some of the weird grunts I’ve heard in the weight room.

It’s Not The Most Ideal Singles Hang Out Seriously. You will look like crap immediately after – sweaty, flushed, splotchy. And don’t forget about the aforementioned bodily function overload and over-sharing.  It can be a bit much for even the most desperately seeking individual.

Discomfort (confusion, anger, frustration, etc)
Yoga is a feel good activity but it does involve moving the body, using the breath and channeling the mind in ways that you are not used too. I’m sure if your a “runner” these days, your first time running wasn’t exactly “fun”. It may take several sessions before you get used to it and until then you may be tired, grumpy, confused, lost, frustrated, angry etc. Part of yoga is controlling the mind and learning how to be calm when under stress. If the yoga class was easy, you would not have the opportunity to practice this.  As you continue to practice, the tasks get easier and you learn how to use your mind to  control the experience.Yoga can also bring up suppressed emotions from traumas that were not totally dealt with. Don’t give up after one try at yoga. Try a different teacher, work through the “discomfort” and I think in time, you’ll start feeling better about it.

Have you ever attended a class? Care to share your tips?

You know what has absolutly NOTHING to do with yoga????

Perogies! I’m part Pollack, but I never remember anybody in my family making these. So making up for what I never got!

  • 4 approx cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1 cup greek yogurt or sour cream
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil

For the filling:

  • 1 lb ground beef (you can use chicken, turkey, or if you are a PETA member, use potatoes or cheese)
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs (I used stale bread soaked in milk!)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 medium onion diced

Mix all of your filling ingredients so they are ready to go and store them in the fridge until your ready to fill. Sift all your dry ingredients. In a large bowl, stir together the flour and salt. In a separate bowl, whisk together the butter, yogurt, eggs, and oil. Stir the wet ingredients into the flour until by making a little well and gradually working it all into a nice dough. Knead it for a few minuets and cover the bowl with a towel, and let stand for 15 to 20 minutes. Separate the perogie dough into two balls. Roll out one piece at a time on a lightly floured surface until it is thin enough to work with, but not too thin so that it tears. Cut into circles using a cookie cutter, perogie cutter, or a glass. Brush a little water around the edges of the circles, and spoon some filling into the center. Fold the circles over into half-circles, and press with a fork to seal the edges. You can place perogies on a cookie sheet, and freeze. Once frozen, transfer to freezer storage bags or containers. Or if you want to eat pronto, drop the perogies in a pot of boiling salted water or chicken broth. Let them boil (about 5-10 min) until they float at the top like a buoy (isn’t that a funny word? “buoy”!). Fish them out and you can have them in a soup like dumplings or sautee them with some butter. Remember, butter makes everything taste better!

27 thoughts on “Perogies and Yoga Class 101

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Perogies and Yoga Class 101 | Eden's Eats -- Topsy.com

  2. I love perogies!!! I have only had the frozen kind though 🙂 haha, I should try this recipe to see how much better they taste when they are FRESH!

    I am intimidated by hot yoga, because I’m such a baby when it comes to extreme temps (I’ll admit that…). I love yoga at normal temps, and I still sweat. I just can’t imagine cranking up the heat. I feel like it would ruin the whole yoga session for me!

  3. Being Polish, pierogis are obviously a staple with our family. However, we’ve never had meat–always potato and something else. They have kielbasa on the side. Anyway, my favorite are these special mushroom ones (I LOVE mushrooms) that we can only get in Ann Arbor–about two hours away. My uncle lives there and brings them for me on holidays 🙂 Boiled and then covered in butter? Best. Ever. I suppose I could make a mushroom version myself, but they’re a nice treat.

    And you know I love yoga, but at home. No creepy people and the noises are my own.

  4. We have this weird obsession with pierogies in Pittsburgh. Maybe there’s a large polish population. SO many restaurants serve them, including on pizzas, and at the baseball games four grown men dress up as pierogies and race around the field. We’re not insane, I promise.

    I miss yoga and wish I could take some classes, but I’m only able to do certain poses so I mostly practice on my own these days. I’m not super gung-ho about it like some people, but I love it wayyyyyy more than any gym-related exercise.

  5. oh these are a thing of my childhood! i have eaten so many potato, cheese and prune PIEROGIES (my grandma spelled it that way are both accepted?) she also called the prune ones “lech-wire” or something. def a phonetic spelling there ahaha. she passed and i have no idea half the stuff she was saying.

  6. omg, I love pierogies! I’ve only ever had them stuffed with potatoes and cheese but they were soooo amazingly delicious! 🙂 I love doing yoga too, and I’d say major tip is to have something (like a towel) to wipe your hands off because mine always get SCHWEATYYY!

  7. Yoga and me, it’s… complicated. I rationally know that it has many benefits and when I do yoga after long runs or at times of heavy training I feel so much better but still… I cannot like it, you know? Maybe some day… But the perogies? Those I like every single time 🙂

  8. oh yum those look delicious!

    I really need to get into yoga. I can’t sit still and relax. I’m always doing doing doing. Even my husband told me I need to do yoga the other day… lol

    I tried a few classes a long time ago when I had a gym membership. I liked it much better after the first couple of classes once I ‘got it’. Anyway, I was way more flexible than I thought, so I was pleasantly surprised at how well I did. (or at least *I* thought I looked good…)

    What DVD do you recommend? I don’t have ‘Fit TV’ or anything, so I’d need to buy a DVD and do it in the living room…when they are sleeping or not watching me of course.

  9. The only classes I’ve attended are at one of the local Ys (when my sister was a member and I got to go for free) or my lovely sister’s classes. If she still lived in Minneapolis I’d go all of the time because she is awesome, but typically I won’t shell out the dough to go, I just practice my favorite poses at home while watching telly. My favorites include the whole warrior sequences, as they make me feel like a, well, warrior… the twisting triangle ones, and basically any other standing pose. I’m not crazy about corpse pose because I have a bony back and it’s physically uncomfortable. Thus, I get cranky at the end of classes when you’re supposed to lay there for like 10 minutes, and all I can think about is my C-curve spine and aching tailbone…

    Perogies look fun. Maybe I’d stuff some pumpkin and blue cheese in there! Or cream cheese and jalapenos? Mmm

    Winter makes me hungrier than usual, methinks…

  10. Ooh ooh! I starred this post as perogies are something I’ve been wanting to make for FOUR years. Gotta get on that.

    As you know, I don’t like hot yoga either. I like a warm class, but mostly warmed by the heat generated during sun salutations. I’ve actually been doing a lot of Yin and restorative yoga lately and it is SO cold!! I have to wear socks and a sweater. I don’t like that either. Clearly I’m a princess 😛

    Oh, and I can only do yoga in a classroom environment. I’m the kind of person that feeds off the energy of others. Not to mention, my crappy apartment is not really conducive to relaxing and rolling around on the floor.

  11. I took some yoga classes in college but haven’t really gotten into it since coming back to NYC. I probs need to investigate.

    Anything to get away from the weird weight room moans. I can’t stand that shit.

    Pierogies! I’ve only made them once…but I love that dough. uber love.

  12. Funny, I just got back from a yoga class. I love the vinyasa flow. It really challenges me and yes, you do sweat even when there is NO heat. My word, flow like that and you get your HR up. I also like the gentle yoga, so god for the soul. It took me a while to let myself relax, but worth it!

  13. I take yoga at yogaworks- I believe where you teach and I totally agree about the ‘hot’ classes not being just the hot classes. I think the rooms are plenty warm without actually going into a heated room, although I do a couple because I really like the teacher.

    Also, yoga hair is something that’s just not hot, no matter what. My fro goes crazy after class and I look around to see others with the exact same ‘do.

    Now to the pierogies- I’m Russian and they look just like the same version of dumpling, but with a different name call pelmeni. Both are good 😉

  14. I’ve only tried yoga a handful of times. I enjoyed it and if I had the cash I’d like to do more of it as I think it would be a perfect compliment to kettlebells and walking. One of the classes I went to this lady was burring incense and kept hitting together these little chimes. I’m sure it had some meaning and was supposed to be relaxing but it was all I could do not to crack up for some reason.

  15. I love that you talked about frustration!! Yoga def teaches you TO breathe when you’re in a pose, frustrated you’re not going as far, holding it for a while, yada yada yada! But it’s good to teach our minds to be quiet and to just..BE!!

  16. i forget where i’ve had perogies before but i do remember them being ridiculously tasty haha i feel like i need you to come and make them for me because i don’t have the skills for this haha

  17. Hi miss Eden. Do you have a way to private message you? I commented on your about me page and don’t know if you saw it.

    Also, although I am not a yogi, friends of mine who take the practice very seriously are all very anti-hot yoga. It is the fad yogi’s who seem to be into it!

  18. I’m going to be honest and tell you that ever since you guest-posted on Janetha’s blog, and I checked out your site, I’ve been reading and reading all of the older posts on your fabulous blog. I just now (two days later!) got here. Though I read every single word of every other post I read, this one had me skimming straight to the bottom (sorry). The perogies caught my eye. I had a Polish nanny for a while growing up and she used to make these fantastic blueberry and cream cheese perogies for me (is that traditional?!) and I have been thinking of them and dreaming of them for well over a decade. I’m 25 now. Anyways, I’m going to try your dough and try to make them. I really like how your recipes look and sound so gourmet, but the ingredients are quite simple. thank you!

Leave a Reply

