Ice Cream Cone Splits and Great Debates

I love a good debate.

I don’t love being involved in one, but its very entertaining for me to watch them. I blame me dad for my slight addiction to watching “Hardball with Chris Matthews”.

But this ain’t a political blog.

Over the course of my life, I have had dozens of lively discussions with people debating a wide range of topics relating to foods. Some of these were as short as a minute long, others lasted well beyond thirty minutes. Here are ones I thought I’d mention (but I’m keeping them short for the sake that you don’t pokeΒ your eyes out in boredom):

Coke or Pepsi? Well, I drink them of the diet variety (I never said I was 100% recovered!) and if the diet, I HATE diet coke! Bleh! Not a fan of diet pepsi either but the coke zero and pepsi max are not bad. But if I’m drinking the real version, I’m a coke gal. I feel like pepsi is too sweet.

Thick crust or thin for your Pizza? I think what I like is “slightly crispy” which thin crusts tend to do. But I hate it when the crust can’t withstand the toppings and it just falls off or bleeds through. If its loaded with toppings, I need a thicker crust.

Rare or Well Done for you steak? Medium Rare please. Only a hamburger is acceptable as well done.

Hot Dogs or Hamburgers? Hamburgers I can eat any time. I have to be in the mood for hot dogs.

Ketchup or Mustard on your hot dog? Cheap, yellow mustard. I don’t mind ketchup but I need my cheap mustard no matter what!

Cake or Pie? Neither. Ice cream cake.

Brownies with a fine, glossy crust, or soft cake brownies? Soft cake brownies are not brownies, they are, in fact, a soft cake.

Nuts in the brownies? Hell yes.

Vanilla or Chocolate ice cream? Chocolate. I’m female, its always chocolate!

Blue cheese or ranch dressing with your Buffalo wings? Neither, both sound gross to me with wings

Soup or Salad? I’m only choosing salads because I’m clumsy, and me with liquids always involves some major spillage.

Peanut vs Almond Butter? Depends on what and depends on the mood. But I’m gonna say that peanut has a slight lead.

Butter vs margarine: I trust cows more than chemists. As Julia Child said, “With enough butter, anything is good”.

Steamed or Fried Rice: It depends on the type of rice. But it usually always fried!

Butter on your Popcorn? Only if it’s real butter. That crap they use at movie theaters is not butter and is best used in 4-cylinder engines.

Coffee or tea? Coffee if I’m in Europe, tea everywhere else (earl grey).

Beer from a can or a bottle? There is no circumstance where I can see me purchasing beer from a can. My Belgian dad would disown me.

Oreos or Hydrox? Hydrox sounds like dish detergent. So to play safe, oreos..

Eggs Scrambled or Fried? Neither, unfertilized πŸ˜‰

Feel free to join the debate and give you take!
And on to food…..
I teach my desserts class at a local elementary school mondays. So I came up with this creation that I actually think adults might like. You will need:
  • cake cones (or sugar cones, but cake cones are easier to work with because they stand upright)
  • yogurt (I used fruit flavored yogurt with the kids but greek yogurt would work)
  • whipped cream cheese (make sure it whipped! otherwise it doesn’t blend nicely with the yogurt)
  • bananas
  • walnut, cranberries, sunflower seeds, cinnamon or any other toppings you would like!

Slice the bananas about 1/4 of an inch thick.

bananas are great for super young kids that are learning how to slice

Line the cake cones with the banana slices (this prevents the yogurt mixture from seeping through). Mix the yogurt and whipped cream cheese in a small bowl and fill a ziploc bag with the mixture. Seal the bag, cut a small hole at the tip, and squeeze the mixture into the cups (like a soft serve swirl). Top with toppings and eat. WARNING: kids are prone to eat this from the bottom up.

Extra napkins recommended for this method

 

34 thoughts on “Ice Cream Cone Splits and Great Debates

  1. Hmm, in the great cake vs. pie debate (jezebel had quite the debate on this last summer), I’m officially team cookie. I don’t even like pie at all. Ick.

    And what’s this business about choosing coffee or tea? One should never feel they must choose one of these… wrong…

  2. I literally just googled “Hydrox” because it sounded more like Clorox’s sister than anything else. Haha, who knew it was …
    (via wiki) : Hydrox is the brand name for a creme-filled chocolate sandwich cookie that debuted in 1908 and was manufactured by Sunshine (later Sunshine Biscuits)
    Haha. The things I do when I’m procrastinating πŸ™‚

  3. I was all excited to get my panties in a bunch (not at you…I have a feeling we’d be on the same page for the most part) over some food politics but this was cute. I’m with ya on the butter. How about Red Vines or Twizzlers? I don’t do either anymore since I don’t eat candy but back at the height of my sugar addiction I was a Twizzler girl. I even stole them from my son.

  4. That sundae looks adorable πŸ™‚ How fun!

    But medium rare for a steak? Sorry, but that’s just a little nasty for me. I like all my meat medium-well (including burgers!)

  5. I like coke out of the bottle but pepsi out of a can – not that I really drink either, but that’s how it is. Pizza crust – what about not too thin but not too thick. I’m one of those kinds of people. Not too hot, not too cold, juuuusssstttt right πŸ˜‰

  6. Diet Drinks? I vote diet dr pepper. I don’t like diet coke much either, not in the can anyway. From a fountain though it’s ok.

    Pizza? I don’t care, just gimmie your crust if you aren’t gonna eat it.

    Brownies? I will take those crunchy little pieces of heaven if you don’t want those either.

    Always peanut butter… πŸ™‚

    How about cocoa crispies or cocoa pebbles? Pebbles for sure. They are crunchier and chocolate-ier.

    • As a kid, cocoa krispies were my choice cause it weirded my out that the Flinstones were making cereal. For some reason, I trusted a monkey over Fred Flinstone….but both are delicious! Now I want some!!!

      • Yep, my husband prefers the cocoa krispies too. I only just recently learned that there is a difference between the two! Of course my son prefers the pebbles….go figure.

  7. I love the line “I trust cows more than chemists.” Exactly my feeling on the issue.

    What about crunchy vs smooth nut butters? I prefer crunchy hands-down, although I’ll use smooth if the occasion requires it.

    • I just find the crunchy ones hard to spread….but I think the main thing with pb is no-stir! I hate having to stir the oil and then peanut gunk gets all over my hands!

      • Totally agreed on the stir issue. And I live in the south, so the ones you have to stir often sweat oil on the outside of the jar in warm seasons (often).

  8. Just an observation on Chris Matthews: Lately it seems as if his brain is like a pinball in a malfunctioning machine. Nevertheless, I watch his show whenever I can!

  9. I really don’t like “cola” drinks at all, but was a total diet soda addict- my picks were fresca, diet sprite, and diet raspberry ginger ale. I still drink zevia black cherry. It’s awesome.

    Always real butter. Margarine is scary and nasty.

    I am more of a vanilla ice cream person, because as much as I love chocolate, I hate “chocolate flavor” which really doesn’t taste much like chocolate to me.

    And I am 100% on team cookie. Fudgy brownie would be second. Cake and pie are tied for last.

  10. “Rare or Well Done for you steak? Medium Rare please. Only a hamburger is acceptable as well done.” <– I totally agree! If it's not pink, you might as well put it on a bun πŸ˜›

  11. Medium rare is how REAL men eat their steaks! And women with big lady-balls. Keep your well-done meat for children with weak gnashers. Steak tartar is AWESOME. Sheesh, doesn’t fish (aka your sushi) have a higher risk of going bad at quasi-room temperature than red meat?

    Yeah, I’m joining you on team ice cream cake. Or cookie cake if there’s ice cream on top.

    And a brownie is not a brownie unless there’s some chewy-fudgy action going on. Or else I would have ordered chocolate sheet cake.

    • Last I checked, I dont have big lady balls, and real men will eat anything…..rare steak is how steak lovers eat steak, believe me, I know kids that liken em pink too.

  12. Coke or Pepsi? Coke Zero if I had to pick
    Thick crust or thin for your Pizza? Thinner I think …
    Rare or Well Done for you steak? Medium
    Hot Dogs or Hamburgers? I like both
    Ketchup or Mustard on your hot dog? I like both
    Cake or Pie? Neither. Homemade cookies.
    Brownies with a fine, glossy crust, or soft cake brownies? Glossy crust.
    Nuts in the brownies? Sure
    Vanilla or Chocolate ice cream? Both are decent, but I like chunks in my ice-cream.
    Blue cheese or ranch dressing with your Buffalo wings? I don’t really like wings, but ranch because blue cheese is nasty.
    Soup or Salad? Soup, always.
    Peanut vs Almond Butter? Peanut
    Butter vs margarine: Butter
    Steamed or Fried Rice: Both
    Butter on your Popcorn? Yep, lots!
    Coffee or tea? Both, but coffee more often.
    Beer from a can or a bottle? Bottle
    Oreos or Hydrox? Neither … don’t know what Hydrox is??
    Eggs Scrambled or Fried? Both!

  13. Ketchup, agreed- medium rare, butter, and thin crust from a coal fire over… unless you’re in Chicago, then it has to be thick crust

  14. Coke (yes, I love Diet…but the Coke Light you can only find in foreign countries is actually the best…mixing fountain DC and Coke Zero is the closest I can find)–and while we are at it, soda tastes best from the fountain, followed by can, followed by plastic bottle…

    Thin crust, with a little doughiness around the outside for some CHEW, preferably a grilled crust (made by my dad if possible).

    Hamburgers.

    Ketchup or mustard? BBQ sauce.

    Cake or pie? Ice cream. Perhaps cake or pie flavored.

    Vanilla or chocolate? I’m actually a vanilla girl! [With mix-ins…]

    Coffee, coffee, coffee.

    Eggs? Poached.

    Soup AND salad (and breadsticks?)

    Peanut vs almond butter? Um..either/or/all/together + every other nut also πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

