Baked Corn Dogs and Food That Make Me Laugh

Sometimes, I laugh at food. Believe me, sometimes I laugh at the fact that I even had psychological problems about food. I don’t know if that means I’m insane or genius, but I just find certain foods hilarious.

In all seriousness, I’ve been thinking I’m for sure more insane. So to make myself feel better, I thought I’d share with you my list of foods that give me a chuckle.

Fancy Feast: I don’t quite understand this popular cat food. Not only is a feast, its fancy!

Banquet Frozen Dinners: You know, for when you can’t make it to the President’s Ball.

Spray Salad Dressing: I dunno its just too “Aqua net” for my taste…

Tuna Helper:“Healthier” version of Hamburger Helper. Just add water and tuna.

Activia: Yogurt for women in khakis

Beggin Strips (for dogs): And I’m fairly certain dogs know its not bacon!

Half-Caf: The coffee equivalent of “smart-casual”

Orangina: Its actually a very tasty European orange drink but the name makes me giggle for people (Americans, mostly) that don’t pronounce it right.

TaB: This popular 80’s drink makes a terrible mixer and I also think there is no good reason for the “b” to be capitalized.

What about you? Do you laugh at certain foods, or am I really a loon? Do you find yourself laughing maybe at your old food habits (or current ones…I laugh at the fact I called a giant frozen yogurt a meal).

And speaking of foods that are funny, I always thought corn dogs were rather funny….

I actually never remember eating a corn dog as a kid. I love hot dogs, but corn dogs are so American and rather odd looking, that my mother never once considered to even offer me one. Anyhow, the first time I made one was when I was about 10. I saw someone on food network (old school food network, when it was mainly cooking shows instead of bobby flay trying to “throwdown” people”) make one and I decided to try it myself. I loved it! But in all honesty, I don’t think I’ve had one since! Corn dogs are not usually things you get when you go out to eat, nor are they staples most people tend to make during the week.  But I thought these were kid friendly enough for the family I work as a personal chef for. Instead of frying, I baked them which you might expect is as exciting as a virgin margarita, but I promise you, your stick will be bare.

  • 1 1/2 cups flour (or for a gluten free version, try brown rice flour or potato flour), plus more for dusting the hot dogs
  • 2/3 cup yellow cornmeal (the stuff you make polenta or corn grits with)
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons sugar or fake sugar of choice
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 2/3 cup milk of choice
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 2 teaspoons vegetable oil
  • 4 or 5 turkey, veggie, or dare I say it, real hot dogs
  • Preheat your oven to 375 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and grease it with spray or butter and set it aside. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, cornmeal, baking powder, sugar, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper. Make a well in center; add milk, eggs, and oil. Mix just until combined. Insert a skewer or popsicle stick into one end of each hot dog. Dust with flour and tap off excess.  Rotate each hotdog over bowl as you spoon batter to coat evenly. I know, that sounds extremely phallic, bear with me….. Place on sheet and bake 5 minutes. Remove from oven and using a spatula, reapply batter that has slipped onto sheet. Return to oven and bake for 20 minutes or until golden.
  • Advertisements

    27 thoughts on “Baked Corn Dogs and Food That Make Me Laugh

    1. I’m immature, so there are a million foods that make me laugh (often sarcastically, as most of them are diet related.) Away from diets, I have to say potted meat totally grosses me out, and not just because it’s meat.

      Anyway, I used to love corn dogs! Fun recipe for tube meat (another name that makes me giggle.)

    2. I’ve never had a corn dog…but I did LOVE “pigs in a blanket” growing up…like insanely loved them. In fact, now I kind of want one. Although I don’t know why we called them pigs, since the ones we ate were made with hot dogs that were clearly the cheap-o mystery meat variety.

      OK, you got me. I loved Orangina, but now I’m not sure if I pronounced it right.

    3. hahah I love the ‘fancy feast’! I am always grossed out by the ads you see on TV about cat food. I mean come on no matter how tasty they try to serve it to the pet owner it still looks nasty. I mean what are they on about do they want the owner to start eating this stuff too?? I wonder!!
      It’s interesting how the american food culture differs from the european. not to sound mean or anything but the look at corn dogs makes me feel a little grossed out. I guess it all depends on what you grow up with and the food that is around you. Some Chinese don’t mind eating ants etc and we europeans don’t mind eating cheese with mold on it. funny world!

      • no, i think its quite simple really, americans eat a lot of crap. I mean, we have fairs where fried twinkies and whole turkey legs are eaten…and yes, those cat food commercials weird me out, as if I need this gourmet meal in a can!

    4. The chicken sausages I bought a week or two ago made me giggle, as they looked rather phallic before I cooked them. Vienna sausages make me giggle for the same reason. Cat food is just nasty no matter what.

    5. haha- the boyfriend and I laugh so hard every time we see the “5 hour energy drink” commercial with the girl getting up to work out and drinking the teeny tiny bottle (it reminds me of zoolander pulling out the tiny phone).

      I’ve also laughed at people spraying their salads. It’s a visual joke, I think, as well 🙂

    6. I use to eat corndogs all the time as a kid! The frozen ones though. I’m sure they were fried first. But a baked corndog is so creative! I don’t have a deep fryer anyway.

      My mom has about three ‘salad spritzers’ in the fridge right now!~Haha!

      • deep frying turns into a big ass mess too! I usually dont know what to do with all the extra grease because its not good to put it down the drain! too bad I dont have one of those cars that run on oil…sigh

    7. I have never wanted a corn dog so bad. They always creeped me out, but these look incredible, and if it tastes anything like cornbread and a hot dog I’m in.

    8. Oh, and I LOVE the blue-and-white dishes! I know I’ve said that before, but I just need to say it again. 🙂

    9. I’m dying at the fancy feast. LOL. Why is that so funny? I don’t know! I love the word fancy.

      I have only ever had a bite of a corndog. I don’t know why but I just don’t think I had many opportunities to try one. I do love pigs in a blanket though, they are very popular in my family. My dad told me I had no choice when it came to making them one of my 8 hors d’ourves (sp) selections at my wedding. Your at home version looks great!

    10. WOW! Those corn dogs look amazing. I need to make them. I mean I used to LOVE corn dogs when I was a kid but they were the ball park version. I am sure that your would be much better!

    11. i made these today. They were awesome! I added a little sugar free honey to make the batter a little sweeter. They reminded me of my childhood. Thanks for the recipe!

    Leave a Reply

    