Chocolate Cookie Waffles and Almost Spring Cleaning

There is hardly anything bad to say about cleanliness.

(O and if you want to drool, scroll to the bottom)

“Clean” is always a positive adjective. When you read hotel reviews, “clean” is usually a key word to search for. A clean car, home, workspace, closet, all help alleviate stress. When we see clutter, our mind tends to feel cluttered. Maybe it’s because we feel, “Holy crap! There is such a mess! O man, I better clean it!”. Plus, we cant find stuff, then we are late because we couldn’t find anything and it ends up screwing us big time.

I had no new years resolutions this year, but I would like to tidy up my life a bit. Let start with:

work: I have four jobs. Not complaining, but they are all scattered and there is no way to tidy them up. I dont go to the same office, form a certain time to a certain time. I write lesson plans for schools, teach four cooking classes a week, and in between, work as a personal chef/food buyer.

Car: My car is infamous to become a mess since I spend so much time in it! Plus, I bring all my cooking supplies for the cooking classes I teach so there boatloads of random pots and pans spilling out. Plus, I hate driving ravenous, so I stick cereal, almonds, and gum in the car for oral stimulation. Anyhow, I spent a small fortune today at the car wash. They shampooed everything and I’m on a mission to keep it clean. So to do that, I’m sticking a plastic bag in the car for any trash I accumulate. Receipts, apple cores, gum wrappers, used condoms (totally kidding!). If your car tends to look like its your home too, I suggest you try that having a trash bag.

Inbox: Oddly enough, having an overfilled inbox makes my heart race, and not in a good way. So today, i trashed all those unopened spam emails, old email, everything I didn’t need. I tend to be a “hoarder” with emails as well as I’m worried one day I’ll need info from one of them.

Closet: I just purged my closet last weekend. Don’t fret, it’s not bulimic. I have a bag of clothes thats off and ready to go for consignment shops and if they don’t sell, then to charity donation shops. I tell you, nothing feels better than finding what you need to wear!

I’d add more, but I would like to hear what YOU do to help you stay clean. Kitchen, bathroom, car, anything! I think it would be cool to hear and exchange tips from all the comments.

And remember my flashback from yesterday? Yea, as Deb mentioned, it was fairly cruel of me to give you a cabbage recipe when I was talking about Belgium. So here is a super yummy, super dense (but in a good way!) super chocolaty waffle cookie!

1/2 cup unsweetened chocolate, coarsely chopped
2 sticks of butter (yes I said two!)
4 large eggs
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar or your fake sugar of choice
1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
1/2 cup cocoa powder, sifted
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (for gluten free version, try 3/4 c almond flour and 3/4 cup rice flour)
In a small saucepan, add unsweetened chocolate and butter – melt over medium heat, stirring constantly. Remove from the stove and let cool slightly.

In a large mixing bowl, add eggs, vanilla and granulated sugar – beat on medium speed with the paddle attachment until very pale – about 5 minutes.

Add in chocolate mixture, and the dry mix. It will look like chocolate velvet! Like this:

Preheat a waffle iron until hot. Lightly coat grids with cooking spray.
Using a tablespoon cookie scoop, portion out the batter between the center of each waffle-iron square. Pull down the cover and cook until set, about 1 1/2 minutes. Use a fork to help you coax the cookie off and move them to a wire rack to cool completely. Repeat with remaining batter.

I simply glazed it with melted coconut butter and melted chocolate chips.and let the glaze harden….

and voila! Chocoholics unite! (and dyslexics, untie!)

18 thoughts on “Chocolate Cookie Waffles and Almost Spring Cleaning

  1. 1/2 cup unsweetened chocolate, coarsely chopped
    2 sticks of butter (yes I said two!)
    4 large eggs
    1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
    1 1/2 cups granulated sugar or your fake sugar of choice

    It would be impossible!!!! for that NOT to be amazing!! That blob on the waff iron looks just like nutella…mmmm, i want some! πŸ™‚

  2. i want to faceplant in the bowl of chocolate velvet? mmmk. i love doing a good closet and/or random household stuff purge. i get a nice bag off to the donation shoppe and call it a day. that’s my idea of cleaning ;p

  3. My jaw seriously dropped at that last photo of the glazed waffles. I wasn’t in the mood for a chocolatey breakfast until about 2 minutes ago! And I think I might have everything on hand to make those myself…Hmm…

    I am horribly cluttered at home & it doesn’t bother me, but I hate when my desk at work is a mess…It tends to mentally paralyze me. This past week I’ve been working on getting that cleaned up a bit. I also hate when my kitchen’s a mess. That’s the one room of the house I do make an effort to keep cleaned up, just because it gets so much use!

  4. I love cleaning, but that might just be the OCD in me.
    But there’s a big difference between messy and dirty, and I tend to have messy things. Dirty stresses/grosses me out. Plus, cleaning is something that keeps me busy and active when I’m pissy or in a funk. πŸ˜‰

  5. Clutter makes me anxious, so I constantly make time to “de clutter”. Purging my closet is one way….I also purge my drawers and cupboards and basically everything in my apartment. Stuff I don’t need seems to pile up unless I get rid of it on a regular basis. Sometimes I feel guilty about wasting things etc, but really, if I am not using it and it is just sitting around, then it is essentially being “wasted” anyway, and will eventually end up in a landfill so its prolonging the inevitable. Don’t get me wrong though- I recycle and donate crap when I can.
    Totally agree with the comment about the difference between messy and dirty- I can handle messy (and I am messy most of the time) but I could never deal with dirty. The OCD in me can’t handle a dirty environment.

  6. My biggest tip (and this is from an OCD cleanliness freak) is not to allow things to build up. I am constantly cleaning as I move from room to room, shifting toys back to Maya’s room and socks to Ali’s hamper. It really cuts down on having to do a bunch of things all at once.

    My other solution? Hire a housekeeper to come in once a week. I realize this is rather extravagant but honestly? I’d rather skip an expensive dinner once a week and have a clean house and the laundry done. Best $75 I spend each week!

  7. First of all, holy crap to those waffles. Freaking delicious!

    But my only tip to get places clean (and keep them clean) is to do a little every day. Say like for the kitchen, clean it good once and then clean it a little eveyr night when getting ready for bed. Of course, I’m one to talk because my kitchens hardly ever clean (and the closet..let’s not go there) but they would be if I followed that advice lol

  8. I hear ya on the car. Every time I stop to get gas I try to clean it out. It helps a bit. Actually I’m not the cleanest person in the world all around. I’ve been trying really hard to just run around the house as quick as possible at the end of the day at pick up. Helping a little bit. Inbox? Lost cause.

  9. Omg. I have never thought of making a cookie in my waffle iron before. I want.

    I’m a notoriously messy person. I’m good with kitchens and bathrooms, but I seem to be allergic to putting clothes away. I have two big empty closets in my bedroom and a wardrobe on my floor. Oddly enough, when I owned a car it was always spotless!

Leave a Reply

