The BEST Smashed Potatoes and “Whats Up With Me Recently”

I dont have something brilliant today. I don’t have some thought provoking question to ponder, nothing to mock, no myth to bust. I’ll do what most blogs do, I’ll give you a check in on whats up with me recently:

  • Work: I have a new job (another one, as I already have two others) which I sorta needed since yoga school is over now and I had more time on my hands. But thanks to the new job, this leaves me slightly stressed since there is of course other stuff on my plate (pun sort of intended). However, I love being a private chef, and I cannot complain about working with food all day.
  • Family: Thanks to everyone who showed their support when my dad was struck with his brain hemorrhage this past Thanksgiving. Its been so hard to deal with especially since I lost my mother when I was 13. He still has bodily pain on and off, but he actually just saw the neurologist yesterday and he said the bleeding in the brain has almost cleared! But we need to be extra careful with his blood pressure so this wont happen again. His memory is not 100% but better. Lets go with 90%.
  • Love Life: My husband, James Franco, is up for a Golden Globe nomination! (but seriously, my love life is nonexistent…..shrug)
  • “Blog Social Life”: a few blogger meetups in the near future!
  • “Food Issues”: I’m totally fine with eating whatever I want, when I want, and however much I want! Can you tell I went a little overboard with the sarcasm??? But seriously, I feel like ever since my dad got ill, I’ve been a little more forgiving with food and my feelings around it. There is plenty of room for improvement, but I’m far from emaciated and I never go without eating every few hours. Cause Eden when she’s hungry is more annoying than Paris Hilton.
  • Exercise: Since my yoga teacher training is completed and I’ve been crazy busy with three jobs, a semi-sick dad, a blog (which is beginning to feel like a child), I’ve skimped on my yoga practice. I know this doesn’t serve me, and I’m hoping that I’ll be able to work on that as I adjust to my new work schedule. I’d like to work a little more on my weight training which is hard for me since I feel it takes out more energy out of my than running. But hey, lugging around 15lbs worth of raw milk and produce from the farmers market counts as weight training….right?
  • Face: Usually, its flawless, but my skin is acting like its 16 and sprouting zits galore, hence “love” is rather in the toilet.
  • Weather: After LA got pissed on, its actually “warming” up to the idea of sun and breeze. Its fabulous, all you sun whores, come hither!
  • Hair: no comment

That pretty much covers it.

So what’s been going on in YOUR life lately? I’d go read your blog to find but you’ll have to take my lame excuse:I’m so busy! And non-bloggers, especially since you dont even have a blog where I can see what your up to!

Did I mention I know the secret to the best mashed potatoes in the world?! Double bonus: very minimal cleanup! Mashed potatoes was on of the first things I learned in culinary school. The kicker: classical french mashed potatoes dont have better! And you know what, they actually dont need to (shocker, I know). Here is what you’ll need:

  • about six medium rose or yukon gold potatoes (these are best for my version and for stews/chowders since they have a low starch content unlike the tradtional russets which become mushy super quickly)
  • 1 cup milk (I used the raw whole milk I got from the farmers market, you can use skim but if you ask me, it will taste like “skim”)
  • dash of salt
  • dash of nutmeg (optional but totally worth it)
  • Any other add ins! (like garlic, kale, spinach, rosemary etc)

Quarter the potatoes. Place potatoes in a saucepan and cover with water and bring to a boil cook for 20-25 minutes or until very tender. Drain the potatoes and warm the cup of milk until it gets a little foamy and bubbly. Add in the potatoes keeping the heat on medium and stir stir stir. You could use a masher, but I find just mashing it with my wooden spoon does the trick. This where you ad in the seasonings and any extra add ins. Stir a little more until the milk evaporates a little and it becomes nice and goopey. “Glop” it on a plate. This won’t last long, its that good! And the cool part, its SO creamy, its doesn’t even need butter or any substitute of butter! This is why you better use whole milk or a “fattier” soy milk!

 

25 thoughts on “The BEST Smashed Potatoes and “Whats Up With Me Recently”

  1. Mmm, your potatoes look lovely! I love that you left the skins on and left lots of lumps — they’re the best part, I think.

    I’m still on Winter Break — school starts for me in another week and a half. Oh, and my birthday is on Friday! Would you believe I’m turning 25 for the second year in a row? 😉

    Sounds like you are busy, indeed. Good luck with balancing everything, and best to your dad!

  2. I’m so very happy to hear that lovely weather is in the near future 🙂
    I bet soon things will get a little less hectic, that’s usually how it goes with change. Hang in there!
    I don’t really like potatoes, but I do like the skins. So these look pretty good!

  3. Serve those potatoes with grilled sausages and saurkraut!!!! I ate mine like that and it was gorgeous.

    I had an interview with a sausage and beer restaurant owner today. Do you want to hit by Wurstkuche for a bite soon? 🙂

  4. We ran out of milk the other night and made mashed potatoes with coconut milk instead. GOOD, but an interesting after taste. 🙂

    I’m grumpy when I’m hungry, so Ryan makes sure there are snacks in my vicinity.

    I wanna hear more about these future blogger meetups!

    • yea, Im not sure coconut with taters would be a winning couple….It seems like everyone runs out of milk at least once a month. I turn into a combo of the seven dwarfs when I’m hungry…grumpy for sure, but also sleepy and sorta dopey!

  5. Girl you are brilliant no matter what.

    First of all congratulations on your new job, your dad’s improvement, and your chill attitude about food. That’s great!

    And don’t fret too much about the other stuff. Pimples go away and yoga isn’t disappearing any time soon. I’m sure you know this, but sometimes we all need a little encouragement/reminder.

    As for me, my life is entirely revolved around the massive pile of crap that needs to make it into my car in the next 24 hours. Yugh.

  6. HA! I love your sarcasm! You will definitely find a guy who loves that 🙂

    I’m glad you love your new job! It is extremely important to find joy in work. I would want to be a chef, too!!!!

  7. I’m glad to hear that your dad is improving. I have a feeling that any face issues are from the recent stress. Just remember to take care of yourself and make time for yoga or whatever exercise you prefer. I know it’s easier said than done of course, but you gotta take care of you before you can take care of others right? Hope you’re liking your newest job.

  8. First of all, I love that you leave the skins on your potatoes. On Thanksgiving I took the sweet potato skins off everyone else’s plate and ate them…and people thought I was weird. But I mean…they are just…so….good!

    Um, hello non-existent love life…I can relate.

    As for your new job…how jealous am I? I want to be a private chef, but, well…I’m not really that good, nor do I have formal training…guess I’ll stick with my blog baby as my culinary (and random thought) outlet to the world…

  9. Mmm mashed potatoes, this could be good with yams too hey?

    So glad your dad is doing better! And being a personal chef IS a workout- carrying groceries and cooking is the best!

    In my life- work, work, trying to do some side projects and my amazing cousin from San Fran is visiting me next weekend!!!

    And hopefully a trip to LA at some point?

  10. Haha! A blog is sort of like a child!

    I’m glad that everything seems to be going well right now with you. I always appreciate a quiet time in life. Maybe nothing exciting going on, but nothing bad is happening either!! Lol 🙂

  11. I have to say, I kind of love reading about your life. Is that weird?

    I’m so glad to hear your dad is doing better! That makes me giddy. Positively so.

    My life. Nothing much going on. Except for running a half marathon on Saturday and going to Disney world. Exciting!

  12. i wish i could tell you that i love mashed taters but i feel the complete opposite about them haha i think its a texture thing..but no offense to you!

    umm with my life right now well i need to get another job and nobody is hiring me even though i know i have a ridiculously good looking resume and a bastard broke my side view mirror and is lying about it haha

  13. I’m thrilled about the news on your father, Eden! That’s fantastic! You both are still in my thoughts and prayers.

    “Usually, its flawless, but my skin is acting like its 16 and sprouting zits galore, hence “love” is rather in the toilet.” <– This is my problem too!! Doesn't it just piss you off? I hate being so angry because then it makes me feel so superficial, but I don't care. Skin is important!
    I've found that Burt's bees stuff is really helping to clear mine up. It's really expensive, but its working (… for the most part. It's no miracle in a bottle.)

  14. I loooove mashed potatoes, especially with the skins in! I usually use ff sour cream or greekyogurt to creamit up (sounds slightly dirty…). Anyway I will try heating my milk next time.

Leave a Reply

