Dutch Cocoa Frozen Yogurt and “Jackpot”

I dont know if any of you heard about this but the Mega Millions Jackpot for yesterday was $355 million. This was across 41 states and included Washington DC.

Ok, so the odds of mw getting into a car accident on my way to purchase my ticket is higher than the odds of me winning…So even though my dad actaully offered to give me five bucks to try, I passed.

But this got me thinking about money….and how it can make people funny (I know, that rhyme was lame).

My mom and dad were never “rich”. We were upper middle class at best, but there were time in my life when money was tight and times we did a little better. We never had luxurious cars or a big house. But there was always food on the table. I never got everything I wanted but I didn’t NEED anything.

A lot of time, finances overlap out mental issues. IT can go either way. I personally have trouble spending a lot on myself. But I know people that were with me in my treatment that had severe cases of malnourishment that had shopping addictions. While in treatment, we went weekly to CVS and my roommate would by so many lotions, body sprays, and other useless things. Eventually, my treatment center told her she could only spend a certain amount. Me? I usually ended up with a pack of gum if anything.

I know some people that judge potential dates according to their jobs or financial situations. I can tell you from my experience on Millionaire Matchmaker, that millions won’t buy you charisma. But alas there is no shortage of women that will dismiss guy if his financial situation is shoddy. Granted, no one wants to date someone irresponsible. But with the economy being so bad, and with formerly wealthy people having to actually wipe their ass these days, I’m hoping we all can be a little more forgiving about each other’s financial situations.

But back to me…..

Anyhow, there are members of my distant family that are wealthy. And there are some that are I know are barely living paycheck to paycheck, if there even is a paycheck. I think no one in my family will starve because I sure hope the richer ones will be a little benevolent and forgo a new prada bag to help out.

I’d like to say that after treatment, I had gotten better about spending on myself….but not really. Just like I’d like to say I’m 100% recovered. I still will wear my socks until they have holes before I will buy new ones, I’ll still forgo fancy dinners at restuarants when I can whip up the same dish for 1/4 of the price. But I think if there is anything I’ve learned up until this point about money, its that I don’t like money, I dont need a lot of it to be happy, but I would like enough to keep my anxiety down. I dont know where I read this, but someone once said this and it sums up how I feel: “I don’t like money, actually, but it quiets my nerves”. Yep.

How do you feel about money? What would you do if you won that jackpot?

  • 32  ounces  (about 4 cups) plain 2 % Greek yogurt
  • About 1/3 cup agave or maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 3/4 c whole milk

1. In a medium bowl, whisk together yogurt, cocoa powder and agave. Taste and add more agave if you like.

2. Spoon mixture into an ice cream maker and freeze according to manufacturer’s directions. Transfer yogurt to a container and freeze until firm, about 2 hours.

20 thoughts on “Dutch Cocoa Frozen Yogurt and “Jackpot”

  1. My parents always kind of taught me that even if you don’t want material things, you can’t really have total security unless you have some amount of money. That’s kind of how I feel now- I’m not a big spender, but I like to save some money in case something happened, I wouldn’t be in a chaotic scramble. But then some days, (ahem, Target), my spending is completely irresponsible once again. Nobody’s perfect, and I wouldn’t wanna be 🙂

  2. It is times like these that I wish I had an ice-cream maker!

    It is so strange. There is a show on in the background while I am reading blogs, and I am kind of watching it. I just read your post, and then realized that “Millionaire Matchmaker” is totally the show I am watching! I had never seen it before now!

  3. Hi Eden, I’m a lit. J major at uci, and I’m considering taking up an article to do with the subculture of food bloggers (who’ve become food bloggers through interesting ways with stories of struggle and health issues, what not) in LA. I’ve e-mailed Sophia already who agreed to do an interview, and I’m wondering if you’d be interested answering a few questions via e-mail.
    I’ll probably know within a week or so whether or not I’m going to go through with the article. Let me know if you’re interested — I think you would be a wonderful interview-ee, as you have such a wonderful compelling story behind your blog!

    Florence
    (you can e-mail me squigglemefloey@hotmail.com)

  4. My family wasn’t wealthy, we never went without, but we never just got what we randomly wanted either. We were taught that you had to work for what you wanted – that meant getting jobs at 16 if we wanted to buy trendy clothes or unnecessary accessories. If I won a lottery, I’d pay off my house, buy my sister a house (near me of course), and invest the rest into retirement.

  5. Right on…I’m not even going to comment because you basically said exactly what I would have.

    Oh wait. I did just comment.

    Also, I need to buy an ice cream maker. But I won’t…because I don’t want to spend the money on it.

  6. Money doesn’t really matter much to me. I rarely think about it and the only thing I ever spend it on is food. Good cheese is the best kind of splurge in my opinion. Or good chocolate.

    This frozen yogurt sounds delicious! I’ve always wanted to make homemade frozen yogurt from greek yogurt. Thanks for working out the kinks for me 😛

  7. I like that quote! I’m super cheap. I clip coupons. I look for good deals. I try the generic before I splurge for the real thing 😉

    And I think $355 million dollars is entirely too much money for one person. Heck, one family! If I had my wish, I’d just have this tree in my back yard for whenever I wanted/needed anything. I wouldn’t know how much was on it. I’d just know that it’s enough. And this might seem weird, but I’d never want a mansion, because I’m super lazy. And I wouldn’t want to travel so far just to get to something I left at the other side of the house. No. I’m happy with a nice, simple, small house!

  8. Ooo money is a tricky subject. I wish I had more of it sure, just to make life a bit easier or so I wouldn’t have to work as much to live in Cali. Or to buy a home that you can only get for $1M and it’s still a piece o crap.

    But too much money can’t put you in a different reality and bring a different set of pressures and demands that I don’t want either.

    If I won that money, I’d donate a couple million to animal shelters or maybe start up a few of my own 🙂

  9. I was never concerned about money until I had kids. When I fell CRAZY in love with my husband he was so broke driving the crappiest car (seriously at stop lights it would be covered in a cloud of smoke…like pigpen from Charlie Brown) and living with a bunch of guys in a house paycheck to paycheck. I didn’t matter at all, he was my price charming (and still is). BUT now we care a little more. We don’t care if we are rich but we want to be comfortable and be able to provide for the kids. Living in CA it’s hard b/c it’s so expensive. I hoping our kids are learning simplicity but they definately arent’ in need or hungry. I also don’t want my husband to have to work until he is 80 unless he WANTS to so I care in that way as well.

    I’d pay off my house and credit cards. Donate to worthwhile charities. Put the rest in savings. (Oh and go on a shopping spree or two to Anthropologie.)

  10. Interesting! I come from a similar family to yours (upper middle class, nothing swanky but comfortable), and I’ve been taught from an early age to save save save! I don’t like having a lot of “stuff” either so my spending habits are usually limited to food.

    That being said, this post made me wonder what I’m saving for? Something to think about I guess.

  11. Ok, dumb question here, but am I missing something or are there supposed to be walnuts in this fro yo? I’d prefer w/o, but notice that your recipe doesn’t have them… thank YA

  12. We always had financial issues growing up so money was kind of tight. But now that I am an earning member of society I feel like I have to make up for lost time! I am not a huge spender or anything but I definitely like to treat myself to the ocassional Bloomingdale’s splurge, which has been a bit too much recently!!

  13. i think (back when i was sick) i used to have a borderline shopping problem.
    no joke.
    it was never like i would go and just buy a ton of useless stuff at cvs all at once or anything, but i used to just BUYBUYBUY stuff on days when i would go shopping (clothes, mostly) and i would kind of get a high from it. i’d feel great while i was doing it (if i could quiet the little voice in my head that knew how irresponsible i was being) and then after i got home i’d be back to my usual, numb self.
    it’s not like my parents never taught me how to budget. In fact, my parents were always a little crazier about money than was ever really necessary, because they did both grow up pretty differently than i.
    spending money on nice things for me was kind of a way to ‘binge’, and ignore everything about my life that iwas upset about for just a little bit, and (as expected) i usually felt pretty remorseful afterwards.
    i think both money restriction (which a girl who i was in treatment had a SERIOUS, SERIOUS problem with) and money “bingeing” are pretty sucky ways to live life. i’m glad to be (mostly) done with that now. sorry for the novel!

  14. oh!! i’ve totally been looking for a reason to take out my ice cream maker and me thinks i found it!! we don’t have regular milk in the house just soy and almond do you think i could use that instead?

    hahaha deej totally played the mega mills last night. i was hoping she would win but she didnt obvi

  15. I totally agree with this. I’ve never really had money troubles… though my family isn’t rich or anything. Still, I have a huge problem with spending money on myself or even letting someone else spend money on me. I have this constant nagging in the back of my head to save everything I have because I don’t ‘need’ the item in question. It really ties in with my eating disorder and other issues, but it’s proving to be a challenging one to work against.

  16. If I won the jackpot, I would TRAVEL. I could care less about buying new/expensive stuff. We’ve never been wealthy, but I have everything I need. What I’d really want if money were unlimited was to see and experience as much of the world as possible, it’s a shame that it costs so much to be able to do that.

Leave a Reply

