New Year, New You? “Fat” Chance!

Resolutions mean essentially one thing: change.

Ah yes. Many blogs today are probably writing up their goals for the year. Things they would like to change. But if only it were so simple for me.

Changing some things is easy. Changing your shoes, tire, hell even an ingredient in a recipe is relatively easy. But changing the way we do things is oh so tricky….

Although I’m not that old, I’m old enough to know what makes me change and what doesn’t. I know that changes take time with me. Letting go of exercising for 3 plus hour everyday took a few good years. And I cannot honestly say that I still have some of those demons yelling in my head.Β 

I also know that I dont handle instant change very well. Like with what happened to my father. He was totally normal one day, and the next day, couldn’t remember the name of his own mother. Since I get impatient waiting for water to boil, I wanted him to “change back” to the father I knew when he was healthy the minuet he got out of the hospital.

I’m still uneasy about him, but he’s slowly but surly recovering, and I’m slowly but surly beginning to accept that he will never be 100%. Well, at least no tomorrow.

So I’m not writing resolutions or goals for next year. I suppose my goal is simply to not have one. To let my life unfold, let changes that happen slowly happen at their own pace, and accept those changes that come instantly.

Oh, and maybe lose 10 pounds.

(TOTALLY KIDDING)

I suppose most of you have been asked on other blogs what your goals for next year are, so instead I’ll be random and ask what the best that this year was for you? For me, I think the whole foodbuzz experience was awesome and proabably my favorite moment of the year.

In other news, I got a new job as a personal chef so in addition to the cooking and yoga class I teach, I’ll be cooking for a family. Juggling the extra work and making sure things with my dad are running smoothly leaves me little time to comment of some of you guys’ blogs. I apologize, but life happens and thats a good thing.

Anyhow, I actually had a fantastic recipe but I left my camera at work! I promise, your in for a real “treat” tomorrow!

21 thoughts on “New Year, New You? “Fat” Chance!

  1. Congrats on the new job, Eden. I don’t really believe in new years resolutions, but I love dreaming about all of the opportunities that a new year brings. I love seeing it as a clean slate. Throw away all the negative thoughts from the past year and just jump in.
    The biggest parts of this past year were FoodBuzz, Chicago, Vegas, and applying to culinary school. I cannot wait, especially to whole living in a new place part of the adventure. I need a change of scenery so much.
    Hope you have a fun new year’s eve!

  2. Congrats on the new job! I didn’t make resolutions last year because then I just feel bad about not fulfilling them. Why bother? I’d rather just be happy with what I do accomplish as the year goes on. πŸ™‚

    Anywho, best moments of this year were when I finally could eat again after jaw surgery. I love food too much to be wired shut for long! Wine tasting with friends was a lot of fun too. My roadtrip to Utah and trip to Hawaii in October – awesome!

    Blogger meetups and conferences were good too, but I’m on the shy/not as social side, so they’re more awkward for me than anything. :/

  3. I’m definitely a “routine” person, so if there’s something I want to be different I know that I have to make an effort to make space for it in my life. This year I’ve been loving going for things at work (new roles at the non-profit I work for) and ending up doing more of the kind of work that I’m good at/ like. I’ve also been having a ton of fun blogging, and the whole experience so far has been really cool.
    Happy New Year Eden!

  4. Ummmm….yeah…I’m still up messing around on the internet and your post popped up. So much for my go to bed earlier resolution. πŸ˜‰

    My favorite moment of the year has been the same for the last 12 years…at the risk of sounding super cheesy….and over the top….but totally sincere….my favorite moment is always being held in my husband’s arms. There. Is. Nothing. Like. It. It’s the best part of my life. I tried to think of other things this year but nothing comes close. True.

    Told ya. Cheesy.

  5. Congrats on the new job!! How exciting!!

    I agree with you I need some time to change too. I have stopped setting big yearly goals since I never seem to really fulfill them the way I would like because things always seem to change during the year. πŸ™‚

  6. Congrats on the job Eden – that’s great!

    I totally agree with you on change. I don’t accept it very well, but I do realize that it takes a heck of a lot of time for worthwhile changes to take place. As in, more than one year.
    The best part of this year for me was being accepted to university! I can’t wait to go. Well, terror is the same thing as excitement, right? πŸ™‚

  7. I’m so glad to hear that things are slowly but surley getting better. Its quite the adjustment I am sure. This past month has stretched you and made you stronger! Your dad must be proud. πŸ™‚

  8. what happened to your dad really puts life in perspective. so glad to hear that he is making progress and the positive change it’s made on your outlook on the new year. best of luck juggling all those things! i cannot imagine doing all of that and remaining sane!

  9. The job sounds interesting! Is it a cool rich family? Are they famous?!

    I guess actually finding a job earlier this year, was a blessing for me. That was the “good”, and not being able to go back to school again was the “bad”. Here’s to hoping I get to go back in for Spring semester!

    Happy New Year Eden!

  10. just found your blog…and i’m pretty tickled i did!

    i think not making any goals is pretty perfect. just let life take you where it wants to take you. nothing wrong with that. as long as it’s in the right direction, of course.

    change is never easy…but eventually, everything changes, right? i hate it, too. {i kick, scream and whine like a five year old}

    the only thing that comes to mind about your dad is, that seriously sucks. but like, really. that makes my stomach hurt for you.

  11. i can’t even thiiiiiiink about anything that sticks out in 2010! is that really bad? haha now i feel like a 2010 failure. hahaha i kid but 2010 was kind of a blur! i have no expectations for 2011 other then to just keep truckin and have fun!

  12. Foodbuzz was one of my fave, too. That’s the time I truly got to know you better. πŸ™‚

    I like your no-resolution resolution (makes sense?). It’s good to learn to take things as it flows, to learn to deal with the curveball that Life throws at you with grace, and turning it into a home run.

  13. I didn’t bother with resolutions this year. I always end up breaking them, so what’s the point? I have a couple personal goals for myself, but that’s about the extent of it.

    2010 didn’t really have much in the way of stand-out moments for me…I listed off on my own blog a few of the things that I thought stood out a bit, but it’s nothing spectacular. No big deal. I’ve had a few crazy years in the past decade, so a failry calm & boring year is nice once in awhile!

    Congrats on the new job! πŸ™‚ Had I known you were for hire, I could’ve spirited you here to SoDak…Although I’d be kind & only keep you here half the year. Prairie winters are harsh & they suck big time. It does make one appreciate spring & summer that much more, though!

  14. I’m just now catching up on blog posts from the holidays, so am waaaay late, but just want to congratulate you on the new job, I hope that it goes well!

Leave a Reply

