Almond Berry Crumble and 2010 Blog Current Events

A few significant things happened this year on the blogosphere. I thought now that 2011 is inching closer and closer, its appropriate to recall some of these blog “current events”:

“The Article”: Who can forget the infamous Marie Claire article about the healthy living summit (and I desperatly want to write “healthy” because that terms is controversial). When all of it went down, I made the decision not to mention it on my own blog. I just didn’t think it needed the extra attention. But this girl and this one covered it nicely. But your probably dying to know whatI thought about it, right? well, in short, it was annoying. On both ends. Blogs that tout themselves “healthy” can be annoying and the article written in a rather biased view is annoying. I’m not defending or opposing anyone in this debate. But boy did it stir up a lot of hoopla in the blogosphere.

Operation Beautiful: Ok, before I say this, I have no disrespect to any blogger that endorses Operation Beautiful. But here is what I think: I don’t see why this is effective. I don’t doubt the sincerity of what is trying to be accomplished here, but some random stranger who probably has never seen me leaving a note telling me I am beautiful is never going to do anything for me. Yes, I understand that beauty is subjective, and yes, the majority of people will be beautiful to at least one or two people. But at the same time, I reject the idea that beauty is an ideal that people should consider the be-all and end-all to their self worth. In the same way that if I were an obese person, I don’t want notes on bathroom mirrors telling me “You are skinny!” Sure, it may make a few people who are feeling slightly down about their weight feel better, but it just masks the problem. Beauty, when most people talk about it, has little to do what is inside. Anyhow, I suppose my note would read this:  “You may be beautiful, you may not be. Just be who you are and own it.” -Eden”

Bloggers got knocked up: It was a very “fruitful” year in the blogosphere. This chick and this one. But this girl made me feel a little better that I don’t want a bun in my oven, and that furry babies

Bloggers got hitched: A few of my favorite bloggers got married and made me insanely jealous of their exotic honeymoons and I had to get used to calling them something different (I was very used to Janetha b, now she’s Janetha g!).

Some bloggers hung up their….keyboards?: By, hung up their keyboards, I mean they stopped blogging. Its sad but eventually, we’ll all do it. Goodbye those of you who stopped this year, some of you will be dearly missed.

I debuted on TV: No, I wasn’t on the today show about a book deal or anything like that (although I would have liked that to be the case!). Nope, I was on Millionaire Matchmaker on Bravo. You can read about my experience here and see shots from my episode here.

Any major events for you this year you want to share?

I realized I havent done a recipe in a while, so here’s a good one that tastes better than the crummy photography.

  • 1 cup almond flour
  • 1 package of frozen berries (about 3 cups)
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • 3 tablespoons cold unsalted butter, cubed
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 cup oat bran  (or oatmeal
  • 1/2tsp teaspoon salt

 

Lay out your frozen fruit in a shallow pan. Combine the oat bran (0r oatmeal), almond flour, sugar, butter, cinnamon and cut the butter into the nut flour with a pastry cutter and finish by rubbing in the butter with your fingertips until it resembles bread crumbs, then stir in the sugar and other ingredients. Crumble the mixture of the fruit and bake at 350 degrees for 3o min. Done!

 

30 thoughts on “Almond Berry Crumble and 2010 Blog Current Events

  1. you never cease to make me laugh. i see what you are saying about OB. i never really got into it and yes, it is a nice idea, but i just didn’t catch the OB fever.

    thanks for the shout out. it is hard for me to get used to the G!

    ❤ you eden.

  2. I’ve not done an OB note yet, but I think the “beautiful” part of it doesn’t really apply just to physical appearances. At least, I hope not. Hm, maybe it should be called Operation Wonderful. 🙂

    Girl. I’ve got some more gossip to tell you. But we’ve got to meet up first. 😉

  3. I am so impressed that you were on the Millionaire matchmaker. My boyfriend can’t stand patty, he spews vitriol lava whenever I’m watching it, but I think she’s hilarious. She just knows how to sell her “character” and I think the show is hilarious.

    I can’t wait to see what drama will unfold in the blogworld this next year 🙂

      • I agree she is a d-bag, however I like watching the show sometimes because it’s so ridiculous. I’m trying to remember what show they did a parody of it… Oh yeah, Scarlett Johanssen did her for SNL, it was pretty funny I thought. Bravo is kind of going down the crapper quickly though…

  4. I love your 2010 recaps. And your recipes. This will keep me warm in wet, icy London!

    I agree with what you say on OB. If I were heading some big operation, it would be a more elegant version of “Operation Do Something That Means Something” because I see so many people my age utterly bored and directionless, or at the other extreme of “I must marry myself now and forever to my life-long career!”

  5. I actually enjoy your year-end wrap-ups and lists, so don’t worry about that 😉 You know my OB thoughts–if it works for you, great. Me? I think it’s a bit adolescent and don’t really get it.
    I would like someone to leave me a sticky note that says, “Redeem this post-it at the local grocery store for free avocados and Amy’s frozen meals.” That would really mean something to me.

  6. I partly agree with what you say about OB – it’s better to encourage people to just be how they are and be fine with it, and OB is still very fixated on outer appearance. Nevertheless, I think it’s a good thing togo against the current beauty ideal and bodyweight delusion far too many women and also men pursue in a very unhealthy way.

    My 2010 blogsphere highlight was that I joined it. 😉

    Your almond berry crumble looks delightful. This is a thing I’d love to make myself. 🙂

  7. Whew, I’m glad I’m not the only one who doesn’t think operation beautiful is the best thing around. Nothing against it, I just never really saw the value…a note like that doesn’t do much for me.

    And thanks for the baby link love! No shame in not wanting a bun in your own oven, I’ll hopefully have enough little kiddos for the both of us. 😉

  8. I totally agree with you about Operation Beautiful. I too have struggled with an eating disorder and have seen these notes everywhere in treatment facilities and I can promise you that these notes have not really helped much. I mean they are a nice thought, but they are NOT making treatment and recovery easier. I hope that you keep blogging and that you never hang up the keyboard!!
    Do you think you could do a post on why you think that Operation Beautiful actually not being helpful to women/girls in eating disorder recovery?

      • Please dont worry, I think that you have enough support from people who have been through an eating disorder to back you up. I read the Operation Beautiful Book and I dont think I feel any better about myself. I have had to find inner strength to recover and “beauty”notes have nothing to do with it!! It all has to do with my hard work and determination that I am in recovery today!! I am sure that you would say the same thing!! 🙂

  9. Pingback: everybody’s doing it. « meals & moves

  10. Hey! I’m so behind in my blog commenting. I’ve been reading but just not commenting. I am terrible!

    The article was definitely annoying. I’m glad my blog isn’t big because I’d be sad if someone judged me like that. Yay to being unpopular!

    I never thought about OB that way but it makes sense. I like your quote. And you are so right about the comment about obese people not wanting to see a post-it saying, “you are skinny!” I have a ton to say on that matter. This is why I like your quote. Just be who you are and enjoy it! Real beauty comes from behaviors and attitudes anyway!

    I still need to see your episode. Is it on youtube at all?

  11. I’ve never participated in OB. I don’t think a post it would make my day unless my day was going super shitty and it was some sort of divine prophecy only unique to my situation. 😉 Truth be told, I may have looked at that blog two or three times at the most but I will say it’s an unique and clever idea for a blog. Apparently, others thought so too or she wouldn’t have been offered a book deal.

    Last year was a pretty mellow year for us. I got my RKC (which means nothing to 99.9% of people), our mortgage modified, and we didn’t go into any more debt.

  12. Love the 2010 blog recaps. I think I knew most of it even though I only started my blog in July, I started reading at the beginning of the year.

    I’m glad I was able to meet you this year, hope we will have more opportunities to hang out next year.

    Happy New Year girly!

  13. Pingback: What Is “Food”? | Eating for Living

Leave a Reply

