Earl Grey Molasses Cupcakes with Orange Honey Buttercream and Life and Death of Blogs

I think it’s that time of the week for: what bloggers think but don’t say.

Today, I thought I’d touch on the life and death of blogs.

Lets face it, blogs are kind of like people. They are born, they go through infancy and awkward embarrassing stages. They have their days of glory and some rock bottoms. They get makeovers, they “move”, they mature, and they even get sick. I hate to bring up death, but they die. I suppose their advantage over us mortals is that they can be brought back to life. Come to think of it….maybe they dont “die”, sometime’s they’ll got on vacation or they will hybernate. Ok, so maybe blogs are more like bears.

Anyhow, most blogs when they first start out tend to be “cute” and naive, like children. And like children and babies, they can also be annoying as hell. This is why I cringe at my first few posts (dont you dare go hunting in my archives!). They seem to get overly excited over new kitchen creations or happened to them at work or something. Or, they do what a lot of kids do. They’ll be “clingy” to their “parents”. What I mean by “parents” is other, more popular blogs that those newbies got inspired by or follow religiously. They’ll comment on every single post in hopes that the big blogger will give them the light of day and take a peek at their new blog. If they are especially lucky, maybe those big bloggers will drop them a comment or two.

They go through “puberty” and start develop better posts, followed by some “what were they thinking” posts.

And eventually, blogs mature. Bloggers find their voice and they become “parents” to readers that start to toy with the idea of starting a blog themselves. I guess they are like “sperms” at this point (yes, grin at this “sperm” reference). Sperm in the sense that they are almost blogs…or a fetus I guess…..

Anyhow, after some time of lots of comments and blog chatter, blogs begin to “age”. The blogger behind them have other things going on in their, gasp, real life and may even begin to feel like they are running out of blogging ideas. Posts become less frequent or lack luster. They turn “grey” and are no longer as attractive to readers as they once were.

And like all people, all blogs eventually end. Maybe not today, or even next year. But one day, that blogger will move on and loose interest in the upkeep of the blog.

(que the funeral procession)

Alas, they post a final post, readers comment, “oooo noooo!!!!! I’ll miss you!!!!!! dont go!!!!”

But at this point, the blogger has already made up their mind and the idea of not constantly checking for comments or replying to comments is too tempting. And so, the blog “dies”.

As I mentioned, blogs are sometimes brought back to life. This actually happened with me, twice! Who knows, maybe I’ll be like a cat and collect nine lives. For now, number three is doing alright. Right????

What do you think about the life and death of a blog? Where do you think your blog is on the “lifetime” spectrum? I’m gonna say mine is having a quarter or half life crisis. Unsure about the future, but still alive and kicking.

O yes, and a recipe!

I didn’t disclose this with a lot of people, but ever since my dad came back from the hospital, I’ve been trying to tame my anxiety by focusing on something completely different. Hence I decided to enter a cupcake competition. I might enter more cupcakes but this is my first entry.

  • 1.5 cups flour (I used 1 cup AP and 1/2 cake flour)
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup dark molasses
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2  earl grey tea (brew it in 1/2c water)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp salt

First (and this is IMPORTANT!) take out all your ingredients so they are all room temperature! Begin by sifting the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, and baking soda into a bowl, and then mix salt into that. Set it aside.

In a second bowl, mix the buttermilk, brewed tea (make sure its not boiling hot) and molasses. Set this aside.

Cream the butter and add in the sugar, mixing until the sugar has dissolved into the butter. Then, add in the eggs one at a time, mixing until fully integrated before moving on to the next one, and then finally, mix in the vanilla.  At this point, you want to bring it all together. Add a third of the dry mix into the butter bowl and mix just until fully incorporated. Then add a third of the buttermilk/tea/molasses bowl, mixing until incorporated. Repeat until done, mixing only as much as is required.

So with the batter ready, pour it into paper linings in a muffin pan. I got about 18 cupcakes from this, so plan accordingly. Transfer to a 325°F oven for 20-25 minutes or until a tester comes out clean.

For the frosting you will need:

  • 1/2 c. butter
  • 3 c. powdered or confectioners sugar
  • 1 tbsp. lemon zest
  • 1 tbsp. honey
  • 1 tsp orange extract

 

Cream the butter until soft.  Start to mix in the powdered sugar and continue adding until you read a stiff consistency.  Add the lemon zest, orange extract and honey – this will thin the frosting out slightly.  Correct consistency with more powdered sugar.

 

 

22 thoughts on “Earl Grey Molasses Cupcakes with Orange Honey Buttercream and Life and Death of Blogs

  1. oh my goodness i need to make those cupcakes. i’ve been dying for an interesting cupcake recipe…(i’m getting a bit bored of the many many ‘holiday’ cookies/bark incarnations) and earl grey is my fave!
    i was actually thinking about ‘blog death’ the other day. its funny how sometimes you can really really tell when a blog is getting to that stage…the blogger starts posting less and seeming less interested in the actual subject matter for whatever reason (usu because their life has evolved far beyond the reaches of the blog content) and then one day comes that final post. i hate it when blogs die! but i guess it just happens.
    i have no idea where my blog is.
    i think it’s in puberty. yuck.

    • 1) yes, these cupcakes are divine! Not too cloyingly sweet like most cupcakes! 2) puberty is not so bad…especially when your a blog and lack the ability to develop zits

  2. Great post Eden.. and so true! My blog is currently in the greying stage I am afraid… but I kind of have super secret plans to start a new blog once I am settled at university. New start without so much ED crap, ya know?

  3. I think mine is either entering a rebellious teenage stage or the early stages of dementia and senior citizenship. Now I’m much more content to just kind of browse a couple other blogs here and there and spew my venom when the motivation hits me. To be honest, I would rather read “real” things than the opinions of others all the time (with exceptions, of course.)

    Do you ever watch “Cupcake Wars?” It’s horribly cheesy, but I still dig it. Anyway, one of the competitors made a deconstructed sushi cupcake. It sounds gross, but everyone loved it.

  4. Good luck with the cupcake contest! I love that you found a positive way to channel your energy. I am not sure my blog really is at any stage right now. It just is. I love writing it and cannot wait to see what happens to it once I am in Colorado for a bit and hopefully feel more inspired. Right now it keeps me going and gives me something constructive to work on at night. Which is never a bad thing. Hope you are doing well, Eden!

  5. Oh yes, I definitely see blogs as having a lifespan like this. I look back at my first few months of posting and just shake my head amazed that I had any readers 😉 I do often wonder how long mine will last. I mean, eventually I’ll get tired of taking pictures of and posting all the recipes (time consuming), or spending so many hours a week writing posts, responding to comments, etc. Right now I still enjoy it very much though.

  6. I’ve never really thought about my blog like this before, but I think you’re right. There were definitely a lot of fumbling posts at the beginning (bad bad bad…don’t look at them) but now I think I’ve found my voice and matured. But I don’t really see death anywhere in sight. yet. I’ll keep you posted.

    These cupcakes sound marvelous! I’ve been meaning to infuse tea into a baked good for a while now and you’ve gone and done it! Beautifully, might I add.

  7. My blog is like a bumbling teenager. Really active, but with no direction or purpose as of yet. Still finding a voice. A bit moody at times. Crazy.

    Good luck on your cupcake competition! You’re right, sometimes we need a healthy distraction or project.

  8. I think my blog is in a transition phase. Not sure where it’s going or what’s going to happen next. But that’s really me, so I guess it reflects my life pretty well, huh? Lol!

  9. I love your blogging about blogging posts. I think my blog is in adolescence. Even though it’s on the newer side- I had a previous one that is pretty embarrassing. I just didn’t know who I was trying to be in the blog world, and my posts were sooooooo long. (and boring?)

  10. Mine has gone through all those stages and is more towards the old folk stage. It’ll probably die in the near future but I do love blogging so I’m trying to keep it alive!

  11. I would hazard a guess that I’m a stubborn toddler blogger, i.e.
    “NO, I WON’T take a day off even though the fridge broke because I LIKE blogging!”
    or
    “I don’t CARE if you aren’t interested in my 37th felt flower craft project. I will post it ANYWAY.”
    “PAY ATTENTION TO ME!!!!!!”

    And back to cupcakes… the molasses/ honey/ orange flavor combo sounds genius. I wish I could use a summoning charm to bring one to my mouth!
    Meri

  12. i get sad thinking of the day i’ll stop blogging! but i know someday it will happen 😦 i also get sad when i think about the day that some of my bloggie friends will call it quits!

  13. Oh touchy subject…;)

    But the cupcakes!? YUMMO. I made Ginger-Molasses muffins the other day and put them on my blog – first time working with Molasses – so good 🙂 Good luck !

  14. I think my blog has evolved into a much better place than where I started but that is only my opinion so I guess I can’t be too sure…in any case I love your parallel here. Very cute and true!

Leave a Reply

