Salty Caramel Popcorn and “Painkillers”

Pain sucks.

It might even be more painful for people watching others experience pain. At least that’s what’s going on for me. With my dad having in explicable pain, I myself feel pain.

It’s awful, it’s almost unbearable, and the worst part, there is no painkiller for this type of pain.

Or is there?

Actually, its not so much my dad’s pain that inspired this post, but rather, an episode of one of my favorite shows, “Nurse Jackie”. The plus side to being at my dad’s house is that I get Showtime on demand. Sweet!

I fell in love with “Nurse Jackie” last year when I ordered the first season on Netflix. It was like a shorter version of house (half and hour vs an hour). Perfect, because I have a rather short attention span. Anyhow, I caught up on the second season these past couple of days and have been even more interested in the show since I’ve been to the ER three times in the past month (lets hope we keep it that way). “Nurse Jackie” takes place at the emergency departement (which around hospitals is know as the “ED”….hmmm go figure πŸ˜‰ ).

Anyhow, in the last episode I saw, Jackie suggests to a patient that comes in for nausea and pain from chem treatments try smoking pot. The guys is a “nerd” and had no clue where to get some, so Jackie hooks him up and makes a bong out of an apple. Its all very Woodstock or college of her. She’s craft that nurse.

Funny how she pushes for a “natural” pain killers when Jackie herself is addicted to pain killers (hmm…kind of like Dr. House, maybe TV writers need new “quirks” for their characters).

Ok, I went off topic a little. My point is, people have all sorts of “pain” and all sorts of “painkillers”. Right now, the pain killers my dad is getting aren’t doing squat. And I’m trying to find out what sort of pain killer I need. Don’t worry, I’m not one to turn to booze, prescription meds, or other drugs. Believe me, I’ve tried yoga and I just can’t get into it. And food, is not much of a painkiller. Lack of food is not one either….you anorexics out there!

Anyhow, I thoughts I’d write out my list of “pain killers” that make at least a little dent in my “pain”:

-Family Guy, Curb Your Enthusiasm, The Office, and Joel McHale…basically, good quality TV laughter. (I think the shark in the family guy clip below has so eating issues to work on…)

-pancakes. I’m a weirdo in that I make homemade pancakes and like to eat them as my midnight snack. I know I’m breaking that whole “dont eat before bedtime” rule, but they can suck it! More on “night eating” in a future post, by the way….

yes, pancakes with yogurt and jam....I dont love syrup

-Some blogs. I like a handful of blogs, but there are a few that are always positive and bring a smile to my face. Some don’t know it, but they really do “kill the pain” a little.

-NPR and especially shows like Fresh Air with Teri Gross and This American Life with Ira Glass. Even “Marketplace” (which is a show about money and the economy, something that I used to think of as gibberish) somehow makes me a little stimulated. Plus, I think its raises my IQ a little (which after my dose of reality TV, I’m sure drops a bit….)

He's kind of attractive....no?

-People. Nice, kind, funny people that love you. Sometimes, the best pain kills come in the form of humans. Some friendly human interaction is always good and soothing. Love is definitely something I’d actually agree to OD on.

People like this chick...and tea....tea always kills some sort of pain

What are your “painkillers”? Β Have you ever taken prescription ones? (I have when I had shoulder surgery four years ago, it wasn’t anything other than super strong advil).

I got some salty caramel popcorn so I thought I’d try to make my own batch today! Β I totally forgot to take the pictures while whipping it up, but I wrote it out as best I can.

6 Tbsp. unsalted butter
1/3 cup granulated sugar or your sweetener of choice
1/3 cup light-brown sugar
2 tsp. kosher salt
2 Tbsp. water
10 to 12 cups freshly popped popcorn (a 3.5-oz. microwave popcorn bag, or 1/3 cup kernels)

Combine first 5 ingredients in a medium saucepan; bring to a full, rolling boil. Meanwhile, place popcorn in a large bowl; drizzle hot syrup over popcorn and toss to coat. Spread popcorn into a large rimmed baking sheet lined with parchment; bake at 350˚ for 15 minutes, or until crisp. Let cool completely in pan.

mmmmmmmmmmm you know you want it!

 

25 thoughts on “Salty Caramel Popcorn and “Painkillers”

  1. I really hope your dad finds the appropriate painkiller for him. That really sucks to be in pain all the time.

    I love Ira Glass, too. But now I’ve got bad memories of him because of some brouhaha over an article I wrote on his visit to USC.

    And wait…you made that popcorn!? Really? So homemade caramel popcorn really does look like that? Goodness. One of my favorite snacks is caramel popcorn. Occasionally, they turn into a meal, too. πŸ˜‰

    Btw, do you watch Desperate Housewives? That show always cracks me up. And so does Drop Dead Diva.

    • Well….the trick is getting the caramel right! but I had to make batch after batch of caramel in culinary school so its like making mac n cheese for me. And I also threw away half the popcorn in the pan that got burnt. I just dont like burnt popcorn

  2. I know I’m WAY behind the times, but I’ve just discovered how hilarious Family Guy is. I watch it every night I see it’s on TBS! It’s so bad,……..but so, so good!! πŸ™‚

    I think I was on some major pain killers when I got my wisdom teeth taken out. I don’t remember a lot of it but people told me I was trying to hug them a lot, and I’m not a hugger!

  3. Being around/ talking to loved ones always kills anything I’ve got. Looking at photographs or old cards/ notes always puts a smile on my face. Especially the silly ones. Certain songs can trigger a mood change in me too if I play my cards right…

    I also make pancakes almost every night around 11 pm or midnight. Except I’m lazy and make them in the microwave from the mix- I’m impressed you make them homemade at night!

    Also, I love nurse jackie! I have seen only the first season so far, and I’m intrigued by the British surgeon friend of hers

    • O god, you will love season two!!! This new hot nurse comes in to work whos a recovered drug addict and her british surgeon friend “does the deed” in the hospital chapel! (dont worry, I didn’t give anything important)

      • I get my vids from the library, so I better get in the request now so I can see it sometime in the next decade… πŸ™‚

  4. Absolutely no reason why shouldn’t eat late at night…in fact it’s recommended to help your body repair for the next day!

    But I’m sure you know all that : )

  5. Perhaps you need to bake your dad some *ahem* brownies πŸ˜‰

    The family guy clip is hilarious- I’ve never seen it!

    My pain killers: cuddling with my kitties is high on the list. Massage. Some blogs. Getting out in nature. Dancing. Sadly right now your dad can’t do any of those things (except he could have a massage therapist come to the house?) I’m sorry that he’s still having this. So unfair. 😦

    Hugs.

  6. I definitely turned to family guy during finals week. Needed a lil laughter relief. Love your list, makes me think of what else I would put on my own.
    Many blessings of hope and health to you and your father… πŸ™‚

  7. I think the worst pain is feeling helpless. I can deal with my own pain, physical or emotional, but watching someone else go through it and being unable to help them sucks. I feel for you Eden.

    I haven’t had any real painkillers stronger than the prescription advil for my tooth surgery. My friend was on morphine once though… which was really crazy to witness.

    You have the most beautiful eyes! Did you know!? πŸ™‚

  8. Oh pain. I wish I knew less about it than I do. But I’ve learned that pain is a normal part of life, it just takes different forms in each person. I feel fortunate that most of my pain is physical and not emotional, if that makes sense.

    For me, people are the best painkiller. Volunteering and spending time with friends take my mind off of any bad feelings in my body! No drugs required.

  9. I hope the pain lessens for you dad. I said this before but I am praying for you both! As for pain killers, codeine is awesome. okay, only when you really need it, haha. But my best “pain” killers are some good ‘ol family time, maybe a yoga session, and cozy time by the fire. They bring me relaxation and comfort. Oh and of course pancakes at midnight, no doubt!

  10. I threw my back out a few years ago, and have been on Percocet, Vicodin, & some really awesome muscle relaxers that I could only take at bedtime, b/c they made me so loopy & drowsy. Fortunately, that’s been about 4 years since I’ve had any real issues with my back, and even after I had my son, the most I was given was prescription Advil & Tylenol with codeine (which my husband ended up taking all of, once he learned it would make him sleepy–I only learned of this when I went to take one b/c I really needed it, and discovered they were all gone. Jerk.).

    These days when I really need a pain killer, I go and bug my little boy for hugs & kisses…Which he’s usually too busy to give me because he’s making one of his dinosaurs eat Batman or Buzz Lightyear.

  11. There are times I wish I could deal with emotional pain half as well as I deal with physical pain, but it’s all a learning process. It just stinks when you feel helpless against anything, especially when it effects the people you love.

    That said, mindless funny TV is a great painkiller (or distraction.) You know I love those shows, and I would add in “Forgetting Sarah Marshall” and “Zoolander” as movies that always make me laugh. Funny blogs and witty writing sometimes work as well. To be honest, a connection with anything or anyone that lightens my load–physical or mental–is better than any drug. Plus, no hangover effect (in a bad way.)

    I’m glad you have Sophia!

  12. haha i don’t think you’re weird AT ALL. i always fill my pancakes with something and then roll them up and eat them. actually i’m pretty sure popcorn all saltied with caramel goodness would taste DIVINE in a pancake.

  13. I’ve only watched a bit of Nurse Jackie but what I saw I liked. Now you’ve got me wanting to check it out some more.

    Joel McHale is my favorite type of medicine. Yum.

    I don’t love syrup either. We are twins now.

    I’m actually on a lot of painkillers for my back since I got a herniated disc. I don’t like the way it makes me feel at all. I just sleep all day. So I’m just in pain instead, fun times!!!

  14. My pain killers are talking to my family, watching ER and eating good food with good company!
    I know you have been through alot at the end of this year and that is why I wish you a merry christmas eden and loads of strength to get you though the next month. You should be proud of yourself for being where you are now!
    xx

  15. All the best to you and your dad! Have a wonderful holiday without pain, and just enjoy having each other! πŸ™‚

  16. Pingback: Santa Hates Me Too | Eden's Eats

  17. Great list. I eat SO much before bed…unbelievable actually. But I eat A LOT during the day too. I can’t seem to win.
    There seems to be this mentality amongst everyone that its okay if you can “work it off”. Unfortunately, physical health issues make exercising impossible for me. So, I feel pretty much double the guilt. Not fun. I hope something comes straight for me eventually.
    I admire your attitude. Great stuff. And those pancakes look great. Love yogurt. I can eat a full giant tub in a sitting.
    Oops.

  18. I am not an overly ‘girly’ girl, but I think that picture of you and Sophia belongs in a frame or on the fridge! 2 beautiful, intelligent, hilarious and sarcastic girls! great picture!

Leave a Reply

