Date Walnut Granola and Shout Outs

Sometimes, people in our lives come to the rescue int tumultous times. And now that the holiday season is creeping up on us (ugh yea…how is it already mid December???I’m still in August….of 09!), we are in a “giving” mood. This time of year makes even the penny pinchers shell out something, even if its not money, to help others. Or at the very least, give someone, anyone a gift.

After my dad’s brain hemorrhage, so many awesome people have stepped up to the plate to make his and my life a little less stressful. They have donated invaluable things like patience, composure (because I sure as hell was lacking that at times), time, and most importantly, their love.

My dad has two very close friends. One has been his “BFF” since they were born. Seriously, their mom’s were BFF’s way back in my dad’s hometown in Antwerp, Belgium. Since then, he ended up in Israel and my dad ended up in Los Angeles. They always kept in touch and saw each other maybe three times a year (usually, my dad would go to Israel and see him). But when he heard about my father’s hemorrhage, he asked no questions and flew out here to be with him for a week.

The other friend is my dad’s work colleague. Ironically, he also lives in Israel but he comes to LA so often, I suggest to him a few months ago he simply live here and go visit Israel every so often. Anyhow, just like his childhood BFF, he packed his bags and within days of the whole brain hemorrhage fiasco, was here to help my dad in any way he could.

My dad is blessed to have friends like that.

The thing is, these awesome friends left today. So its really hitting me how much they helped in my dad’s recuperat ion.

And you know what? Those people deserve some shout outs.

So this post is to for them, for being a sort of “stand-in” parent when I desperately needed some guidance and reassurance that I used to rely on my dad for. And since I’m in the mood for shout outs, I thought I’d give some other people that have helped me tremendously during this time some recognition.

So………..

A shout-out to Abby. I know she would have dropped everything and fly out to LA to help me if she could. But she called and texted me in times I felt most afraid, just kind of to help ground me and gather myself. And most importantly,reminding me to take care of myself first. Wise a woman. A defunct, sleep deprived, hungry Eden would not make a good care-taker for my dad.

A shout out to my dad’s “doctor” friend (basically, my dad’s good friend who also is a doctor). Honestly, this man may have saved my dad. He was the one who initially noticed something was wrong and helped me take him to the ER. He stood by my dad in the ER until they got him a room at the ICU. And most importantly, he translated the medical gibberish to English for me and always kept me informed. Promising never to sugar-coat anything for me. Oh yea, and he baked my dad challah. So yes, big shout out to him.

My dietitian. You may remember my post a while back about my dietitian. To be honest, I haven’t seen her in a while. Not that I’m avoiding help or that I don’t like her, it’s just that I don’t exactly need a dietitian at this point. But as I’ve mentioned in that post, she has been more than a dietitian to me. I know it may go over that whole “controversial professional/client” boundary, but screw it. She has always taken my calls when I needed emotional support (and not during her work hours) and I know I’m like the daughter she never had. Anyhow, she has been checking up on me and how I’m dealing with all of the hoopla a few times a week. So a shout out to her as well.

A shout out to tbs. For providing me with the Office, Family Guy, and some other comedies to at least keep me smiling a bit while all the drama was going on. Even if I already knew the episodes by heart…..

A shout out to Sophia, who also was texting me daily to check up on me and even though I didn’t want the attention, for mentioning what happened on her own blog. At least people would maybe understand why I haven’t been commenting on their blogs lately.

And finally, a shout out to each and every one of you that dropped me a line, email, or text. Seriously, I used to think my ED kept me ticking, but I think its honestly my blog and the friends I’ve made on it that preserved my sanity. I would name every single one of you, but there were a lot of comments that day, but you know who you are. A giant XXXXXL shout out to you. I never get much for Christmas (you know, being a Jew and all) but you have all given me the best present I could have asked: your support and kind wishes. Plus, I don’t have to stand in line and return anything. Nope, I’m sure as hell holding on to this gift!

Anybody you’d like to give a shout out too? Who (or what) was there for you when you were going through a rough patch. Say it here.

So as I was most of the day with my dad, I decided to make him some “good for you” granola, chock full of walnuts and flaxseeds (which is apparently very good for brain function). This also is a small batch so it wont hang around you kitchen and go bad.

2 cups rolled oats

1/4 ground flax seed

1/2 cup raw walnuts, roughly chopped

1/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce

1 tsp cinnamon

4 dates, chopped

3 tbs walnut oil (or olive or canola oil, I happened to find a bottle in my dad’s pantry)

2 tablespoon honey (or other sweetener, use more if you like it sweeter)

1 tbsp vanilla

Preheat the oven to 400* chop the dates, and mix the walnut oil, honey, applesauce, vanilla and cinnamon. Pour it into the oat and walnut mixture and stir until well coated. Spread onto a baking sheet but keep stirring the granola every few minutes. It goes from perfect to burnt really fast. Between 5 minute intervals, stir the granola around to ensure even browning. Cool the granola on the pan and stir in the cranberries and then store in an air tight container in the freezer.

 

21 thoughts on “Date Walnut Granola and Shout Outs

  1. Dude. I wish I had friends like your dad has. That is adorable. It’s so important to have friends that would be there for you, whenever. No questions asked. In high or low times.

    Sometimes I feel like some of my friends avoid me during my low times.

    I never said anything but your comments on my running post about the “slow” 5k meant a lot to me. I didn’t say much on my blog but I really needed a friend that day. I felt so crappy. So thanks for commenting, seriously. I know what you are going through and you still took time out to read me be whiny and a big baby. It makes me happy that you are here for me. I definitely want to be here for you too.

    Wow that probably made no sense. (And I’m an English teacher, for shame!) I am really tired. Let’s figure out a time to get together whenever you can.

    • Dude, there is NO SHAME at running slow, or to hell with it, not running at all. I’m never the “fastest” at anything and its like the tortoise and the hare thingy, slow and steady wins…I dont know what it wins but I’m sure it wins something!

  2. πŸ™‚

    I know I may have pestered you quite a lot, but I just wanted you to know that you have someone to call on whenever you need. Hee hee. This is one of the roughest patch you could ever go through…and you’re surviving. Things can only get better, Eden. And I’ll be here to rejoice with you when it does!

  3. Eden.. this was so heartfelt and wonderful. Are you trying to make me cry?! I’m glad to hear that you are still pushing through this tough time, and you are still in my thoughts and prayers as always.
    I would offer you more support in the way of texting and phone calls, but being in the hands of the amazing Abby and Sophia, your dietitian and TBS leaves very little leeway πŸ˜›

    I also haven’t forgotten about your corn dog challenge πŸ˜› Except I’m not much of a corn dog girl so I was thinking some type of hot dog πŸ™‚ Haha!

  4. Now I feel like a total douche because I had a “down” moment last night and don’t feel deserving of a shout-out. However, we all have those moments, and the important thing is to pick ourselves up and move on. I WOULD have flown to LA in a minute, and not just because of the weather and health food. I still would.

    I would like to give a shout out to the blog world in general, as even though I can be snarky and a smart ass sometimes, I also know I can write whatever crazy emotion I’m feeling and at least one person will get it and make me feel a bit more normal. True, there will be a lot of people who don’t and I’ll feel the need to defend myself, but that one person will cancel that out.

    Also, I would like to give a shout out to the person that invented the automatic car starter and hand sanitizer.

  5. So glad that both you and your dad have such a great support system. That’s the best isn’t it. I think I would like to give a shout out to all of my blogger friends (like you) who are always there with encouraging words on those down days. Sometimes all you need is the right comment, the right words. Hugs girl.

  6. Sounds like your dad has a great support group. It’s so nice to see that and for you to appreciate it/publicize it during (what better season than) Christmas! Your granola recipe looks really tasty, thanks for posting it. My dad is having surgery next week so maybe I should make him some of your recovery granola? I should probably wait though…I may eat it before I even give it to him…
    (Tag. You’re it. Ha. Just kidding. Hope you get the joke from your previous post.)

  7. It really is amazing how much support I find in teh blogosphere each and every day. It’s the place I go to when i feel happy, upset, apathetic, whatever. I’m glad you have such a great support group Eden! This was SUCH a sweet post!

  8. Eden, I really wanted to email you the other day but couldn’t find your email–can you send me a shout?

    Shout out to my best friend in highschool who was there for me when I hated the world. She made it a little brighter.

  9. I would like to give a shout out to the 2 poeple that have been their for me at the worst times in my life. My Dad and my Husband. They are always there when I need them. When my Mom died, when my “family” stole from me and rejected me, and when my kids came into my life. They have been there at every turn and I love them for that.

  10. Great shout outs, Eden:) It’s great that you have a great support group right now!

    If I had to thank someone who was there for me in a rough time, it’d be my closest friends and family who were there when a close family member died. They were such a big part of me getting better!

  11. Thanks for the Jewish input on my movie poll- I really hope they make your “you’re a schmuck, Charlie Brown” movie haha. My best friend and I always joke about how they all treat him like crap and tell him he can’t do anything right. Poor guy! Sorry to unload a ton on you today, but I am sending you an e-mail about something unrelated for whenever you have time. If it were possible in a comment, the “whenever you have time” would be italicized.
    πŸ™‚

    • Nevermind- I just looked and I couldn’t find an e-mail (not that I blame you…)
      I didn’t know you lived in LA. I’m going to be visiting in January and if you have time to respond to this comment with a few budgety/healthy dining options or fun hikes, that would be awesome. I’m a vegetarian but my boyfriend is not. We’ll be staying in the venice/ near santa monica area.
      I would appreciate any guidance if you have a minute, but I understand it’s sort of a busy time of year πŸ™‚

  12. This is a really sweet post. It is crazy how much we need human connections in our lives. I think it may be right up there with air and water. Okay maybe not that high, but we can put it with clothing and shelter.

    Shoutout to my friends and family for their support and love!

  13. can i tell you i was just thinking the other day how i want to make granola and gift it with things for people for xmas! so i need to shout out to you to thank you for reminding me of the fact that i need to granola it up haha

    hope your papa is doing alright girl ❀ much hugs!

    • granola is a great gift. You can doll it up by putting it in glass jars with ribbon. Or just cheat and buy granola and put it in a glass jar and pass it off as “homemade”. Trust me, they will probably not know the difference.

  14. This was such a beautiful post! I only wish to have dedicated and loving friends like your dad has! i am so happy that they were there and gave you such amazing support!
    HAve a wonderful day Eden!
    Barbara

Leave a Reply

