Too Easy Donuts and 50 Things I Want From Santa

What do I want for Christmas? Normally, I don’t ask for anything. I’m jew, so I figure Santa skips my chimney. But in an effort to cheer myself up since I’ve been very down lately, I figured I’d go whole hog and ask Santa Claus for everything under the sun.

Why not?

It’s just a list, and I know he’s not going to give me everything I want anyway.

1. World peace.

2. For anyone who doesn’t believe in world peace to be shot in the head.

3. For all the little children in the world to not bother me

4. Money. Lots and lots of money.

5. Power. Over everyone.

6. A puppy.

7. A new car, like a prius so I dont have to stop for gas and people will think I care about the environment

8. World peace. No, seriously.

9. Lots of free avocado

10. I mean lots.

11. Men that are good looking, humble, funny, and smart, and happen to be available

12. The ability to write 10,000 words an hour.

13. Lady GaGa’s meat dress.

14. In size 5X.

15. With a bottle of steak sauce.

16. To become a vegetarian.

17. But only after I’ve finished with Lady GaGa’s dress.

18. A new computer.

19. Oh, what the heck, make it an Ipad

20. Truffles (it just sounds expensive)

21. A flute. Why not?

22. Immortality.

23. But just for me. Everyone else can go hang.

24. The ability to travel to any point in time which I choose.

25. I’ll start with yesterday.

26. A little ignorance towards “nutrition”

27. Larry David as my tharpist

28. Full control over Santa’s Naughty and Nice list.

29. A bigger kitchen

30. A maid to clean the kitchen.

31. Forever.

32. Fewer scumbags.

33. Fewer litter bugs.

34. Heck, NO scumbags and litterbugs!

35. Never to have to wait in line for anything ever again.

36. For everyone to stop arguing about religion and politics all the time.

37. Because I’m always right and everyone else is always wrong.

38. Silly putty (just cause its so much fun)

39. Good health for me and all those I love

40. Especially my dad during this time

41. A car that cleans itself.

42. Gelato, by the truckloads

43. With none of it going to my thighs

44. More hours of sleep.

45. To bring back the Walkman. Just because. Ipods look like something you’d get out of a Cracker Jack box..

46. More mail

47. Less texts and twitter updates (admit it, its a procrastination bomb)

48. To meet the bloggers I love

49. And hell, even the ones I dont

50. Over gelato

What do YOU want?

Today was the last day of the semester for my desserts class. The kids go on break next week so I decided to be “festive” and indulge them with a super easy and cheap donut recipe:

  • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar, divided
  • 5 tablespoons milk (or as needed)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cans large buttermilk biscuits
  • Food coloring (optional, very optional)
  • oil for frying (or bake them, if your scared of fat)

For iceing: In a small bowl, whisk together 1 cup of confectioners’ sugar, 2 tablespoons of milk and set aside.

Fill the skillet with about 1/4 inch of oil, or about two cups. Turn your burner on medium heat and let the oil heat up. Remove the biscuit roll and separate them into individual biscuits. With the thimble (or a bottle cap) cut through the center of the biscuit leaving a hole and removing the center.

  • Look how many of those silly bandz she has??? yes, apparently they are spelled "bandz"

    Remove the dough from your cutter and set aside. Continue this until all biscuits have a hole in the center and you have one dough ball for each center. Drop the biscuits one by one in the hot oil. They will float so make sure they do not stick together. As one side gets golden brown, turn them over so the other side will brown. When they are completely brown, remove them immediately from the oil and place them on a paper towel. Dunk in icing and give kripsy kreme a run for their money.

  • festive


    31 thoughts on “Too Easy Donuts and 50 Things I Want From Santa

    1. Those donuts are super easy. And they also look delicious. I am not scared of fat, so frying sounds great to me! For christmas I want to have a fun and stress free transition to life in Colorado. But we all know that is not possible!

    2. You made a pretty knock out list right there.
      In addition to the obvious happiness and health for my family, I’d wish for the ability to write a novel series that is completely my own– with ideas that haven’t already been thought up.
      On the side as a mini gift, I’d also like to be content with myself, and to be more present.

    3. Hehe… whenever I’m asked what I want for Christmas, my first response is always ‘world peace’. I hate asking for specifics.. it seems dumb to me.

      I especially love #26 though. Maybe Santa will bring us both a little ignorance this year 🙂

    4. Mmmm…Donuts. Santa could bring me a dozen of those & I’d be happy. Maybe I’ll have to make some of those with my son Christmas morning. Santa could also bring me the KitchenAid I want (in Bayleaf, please), or the folks at KitchenAid could just send me one. Either way works!

    5. Thats the coolest looking donut I’ve ever seen. I think I just like things that look goeey and colorful. I weird like that. I drool over Charlie and Chocolate factory ever time!
      Anyway, If you ever get the meat dress you must take pics and then invite me over for steak night! I’ll bring the sauce. 😉
      LC

    6. I hope that Santa appreciates your list and gets you everything on it, because seriously, it’s the best Christmas list I’ve ever seen. I just want to be a fairy princess for Christmas. You know, fly around looking all regal and sparkly and everyone who isn’t an evil wolf loves you. Or I’d like to stop being lactose intolerant along with a sample of every kind of cheese ever.

    7. I would like to have the patience to make a list of 50 things that I want, as I think I would get to five and get bored. Yours, however, was entertaining. In fact, I would like to tell you that in person over gelato or avocados (avocado gelato?) See what the Jewish Santa can do.

    8. santa could write me a diploma and get me into college so i can just skip the rest of highschool aka the biggest waste of my life ever.
      or he could just magically throw out all of the people in my school and replace them with nicer, (preferably more interesting) ones.
      your list pretty much covers everything else though, cept that i’d HATE to have immortality when everyone else didn’t, that’s kinda my worst nightmare!

    9. Hehehe. A kitchen maid. 😀 I could use one, too. (Not only for the kitchen. Housework in general is such a burden. :()

    10. I would like a magic self restocking kitchen. And a never ending supply of peanut butter ice cream. And for it to be socially acceptable for me to walk around with a heating blanket all the time.

    11. Very random… but were you on Millionaire Matchmaker?
      My roommate was watching the show just now, and I took a break from studying and saw you!!
      I have been reading your blog for a few weeks now, but dont usually comment….but I recogonized you, the name and it said you were a personal chef!
      ps I love your blog 🙂

    12. Pingback: Santa Hates Me Too | Eden's Eats

    13. Pingback: Lessons Learned from 2010 | Eden's Eats

    Leave a Reply

    