Cranberry Corn Muffins and Stuff Bloggers Like

Before I begin, thank you SO much for your support in what has been going on for me. I feel like I’m on a roller coaster with far too many dips. My dad was indeed released today from the hospital (once again) and I will update you on the changes.

So this was what I meant to post yesterday….

I don’t know if any of you are familar with the website, Stuff White People Like, but aside from being hilarious, they are pretty accurate.

I’ve realized, I could devise a short list of stuff I’ve noticed being widley liked on the blogosphere. Don’t feel bad if you find yourself indeed in love with some of the things on the list. But I wouldn’t be surprised if you your fed up with some stuff either. Anyhow, like most of my writing, take this with a grain of pink himalyan gourmet salt.

#10) Oatmeal:


This is where I feel left out, but I pick five food related blogs and I gaurantee you a mention of some form oatmeal from at least two of them. Boy do bloggers like their oatmeal. They like it soaked overnight, with eggs, with pumpkin, cinnamon, peanut butter…..they even like it savory with cheese and herbs. I won’t bash oatmeal because if I do I’ll be on the blogger hit list, but I personally am not a fan. I dont hate it, but I dont prefer it. I do like using if for baking like for cookies or granola, but not in the traditional bloggers breakfast.

#9) Comments:

Whether or not they will admit it, bloggers like comments. Even the bad ones (sometimes). I don’t expect to get hundreds of comments, but I do hope to get a few. It gives me some sort of gratification someone at least too three seconds out of their life to at least skim through my blog. I don’t think all commenters read my whole post, but I dont care. A little encouragement from a few commenters is always appreciated. Don’t be in denial, you know you love comments.

#8) Giveaways!

I dont think this is a singled out to bloggers, because even non-blogger and non-jews like free stuff (and I’m a certified jew, so I can say that!). They can be a little annoying because they can make a usually creative blogger sound totally generic because they have to adhere to guidelines given by the company giving away the product. But giveaways are a great avenue to also get readers to donate to charity or at least bring awareness to a cause. And I personally love giving more than recieving (I know, what planet am I from???). Believe me, if I could, I’d go all Oprah on you and giveaway Ipads and hybrid cars.

#7) Balls

I blame foodbuzz for this one. Annie the Baker from Napa Valley show cased her cookie dough balls this year at the foodbuzz tasting pavilion. Mama Pea got a hold of them and once Mama Pea pimps something out, the word will spread and before you know it, every blogger will start to make balls. Snowballs are SO last year, cookie ball fight anyone?

#6) Greek Yogurt


This isn’t a bad thing, I for one love greek yogurt and wondered what the world was like before it became so popular? And vegan bloggers aren’t off the hook, sometime during their food blogging life, they will attempt at recreating it. But to be honest, I actually eat regular fruit flavored store brand yogurt because its cheaper. I told you I was a frugal Jew!

And since blogger tend to have short attention spans and wont read uber long posts, I’ll save the 1-5 for tomorrow.

In the meantime….Feel free to add to the list? What do you as blogger (or reader!) love? Don’t be surprised if it makes it to the 1-5 tomorrow.

And for today’s recipe…you will need:

  • 1 Cup Masa Harina (aka corn flour
  • 2 tbs  honey (or maple syrup, brown sugar, sugar, stevia, etc)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cups milk
  • 1/2 Cup Fresh or Frozen Cranberries
  • Cooking spray or butter for greasing your muffin tin

Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 350 ° F. Grease the muffin tin. Mix masa (corn flour), baking powder and salt together.Add eggs, milk and honey. Mix wet and dry ingredients together thoroughly adding more flour or milk as needed. Fold in the cranberries.Spoon into muffin tins (only make four muffins, perfect for the single ladies).Bake for approximately 30 minutes or until the muffins are golden and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. 


37 thoughts on “Cranberry Corn Muffins and Stuff Bloggers Like

  1. Coconut.
    Bloggers love their coconut butter, coconut oil, coconut shreds, coconut bras…
    seriously, though, coconut.
    Personally, I prefer my coconut in curry and in M&Ms!
    Your post is funny so far- can’t wait to read tomorrows.
    And I’ll be sitting here knowing you enjoyed a comment 🙂
    Meri

  2. I am so happy that you dad is back home! I hope the two of you enjoy your holidays together. Cherish this time. You are a truly lucky girl (and he is a very lucky dad). Bloggers (not necessarily me) like:
    Pumpkin lattes
    Agave
    Kale and kale chips
    That’s all I can think of right now. I think it is my bed time.

  3. Stuff White People Like is the best! I nearly died laughing when “picking your own fruit,” “pot,” and “hummus” showed up.

    I’ve always thought there was a Stuff Bloggers Like too. You know, trends that seem to never die.

    I love Greek yogurt. And goat yogurt. I like balls, because they remind me of cookie dough…which pwns all. But jeez, it’s been forever since I had oatmeal for breakfast. Heck, it’s been forever since I’ve bought oats. I have some oat bran and bulgur that I occasionally eat…though usually it’s mixed into yogurt or cottage cheese. Woo, I’m (somewhat) bucking the trend!

    Here are other things I’ve noticed–I wonder if any will pop up on your list?

    – Chia seeds
    – Dates/figs
    – “Mix It Up” bowls — I was doing this long before I ever saw it on blogs, but it was probably around before me.
    – Hummus — I like hummus, but I’d take baba ganoush any day. Where’s the baba love?
    – Cheese/Cheeze — It’s either the “I’m a cheese whore!”, “I’d be vegan except for cheese!” or “Yo vegans, missing some cheese? Time to break out the cashews and nooch!”
    – Gluten free/Wheat free _____ — I know lots of people have gluten allergies, but it seems people go out of their way now to de-wheatize everything. Granted, I think most Americans eat too much wheat, based on allergy-related research I’ve done, but it’s an amusing trend.
    – Fro yo — because eating Ben & Jerry’s/Hagan Daaz/Bluebell is only allowed in dreams and hypothetical examples (guilty of this one, except that I’ve dove into my fair share of B&Js)

  4. I’m glad your dad is back! I hope this is the end of it.

    1) Bloggers (the healthy living kind) seem to love desserts. Sweet stuff. Except, they don’t really let themselves have the real stuff. It’s always veganized or something.
    2) Dark chocolate.
    3) Smoothies with some kind of green stuff in them.
    4) Protein powder. Ew.
    5) “Ice-cream”. It’s icy, but definitely no cream.
    6) 100-cal sandwich or bagel thins.
    7) Nut butters. I like almond and cashew butter myself, but I don’t flip over them. And I certainly cannot eat them by the spoon. Ew.
    8) Pumpkin. (this one I totally get, just not the canned ones)
    9) Cottage cheese.
    10) Hugh Jass salads. GSFJSDBFSJ!! Just call it Huge Ass. HUGE ASS. There! I said it!

    11) Brekkies. Linner. Din-din. All the cutesy names.

  5. still thinking of you and your dad and really hoping for the best for you.
    You’re RIGHT on with these! Haha and i couldn’t agree with you more about the oatmeal…i just don’t get it for some reason…
    Bloggers like…
    Cool DSLR cameras that make you look like a serious bloggie nerd
    Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods
    Eating vegan/vegetarian specialties even if you’re not vegan/ vegetarian and then eating really special,( $$) red meats on occasion
    Protein powders. Shakes anybody?
    Having witty captions for photos that really are nothing special in actuality

    i’m guilty of most of the above 🙂

  6. hahaha this is too true. i’ll add to the list:

    1) FOOD PROCESSERS. goddamn, normal people don’t own these! yet, they’re used in everything from burgers to cookies to nut butters and increasingly, blogger recipes make them seem indispensible. i refuse to buy one out of principle (and also lack of funds). what does “processing” food even mean? evidently, something that a knife and a little elbow grease can’t achieve.

    2) seasonal obsessions, ie: pumpkin, molasses, peaches, etc. when it’s time to start eating them, bloggers will LET YOU KNOW it’s time. i think my pupils flickered orange from reading so much about pumpkin this past fall.

    3) blending soups. i don’t know why, but i always cringe when i see a blogger take a perfectly lovely bowl of chunky, textured, soupy goodness and blend it into oblivion.

    4) also, kale. just…kale.

    i’m glad your dad’s home; it broke my heart to hear that he had to go back to the hospital. can’t imagine what you’re thinking/feeling, but your family is definitely in my thoughts.

    • Many of your points are right, but the “soup blending” thing is classic. The french do it for many of their classic dishes where they want a more “creamy” texture. For me, it just depends. If I want something creamy, I’ll blend, if chunky is what I feel like, I leave it be 🙂 And I must be the only blogger and chef that does not own a food processor. But I will accept a free one!

      • I blend soups too, but I have weird texture issues when it comes to food, and certain things I like chunky, certain things I don’t. Plus I just love any excuse to get out my immersion blender.

  7. Definitely praying for you and your dad still. Glad to know that he’s out of the hospital though!
    Your list is intensely funny. It always amazes me how intense a lot of bloggers are about their oatmeal toppings and oatmeal…flax…steel cut, I honestly can’t tell the difference. It’s all mushy to me.

  8. Lemon cranberry muffins are my favourite flavour… so cranberry corn would be awesome!

    I must admit, I fall victim to 4 out of the five you posted 😛 The only one I don’t is the ‘balls’.. because I’ve yet to try them.

    I think sweet potatoes should definitely be on the list. I mean they can be sweet, savoury, used in baking and cooking… I know I love them 🙂

  9. Haha food bloggers DEF have certain things that they love unconditionally. PB and winter squash/pumpkin also being on this list.

    I’m so glad to hear that your dad is doing better! Makes my morning.

  10. I love this post..it’s so true!! Yesterday my brother and I were at Anthropologie and I said “bloggers love Anthropologie!!” because whenever someone posts new clothes or anything they got from there, people go crazy. 😛 Oh..and Lululemon- big time. But that’s not as popular as the ones you touched on lol

    Glad your dad is back home! 🙂

  11. I use to eat oatmeal almost everyday for breakfast, then I just stopped completely. I guess I got tired of it. But I just started up again a couple days ago. Maybe it’s the changing weather that made me crave it. I don’t know. I don’t question, I just go with it. However, I have never, and will never like greek yogurt. The texture makes me sick! Give me the sweet “chemically” Yoplait!

  12. I too am glad your dad’s home & doing better.

    Besides the DSLRs & food processors (which most of us normal folks can’t afford), stand mixers seem to be a necessity for any food blogger…And they absolutely have to be Kitchen Aid Artisan stand mixers. I fully admit to dropping blatant hints on my blog that I think Kitchen Aid should just send me one, because I often get tired of having to get my hands in something to get it mixed properly (although sometimes that;s relaxing & fun).

  13. I love this post. So, so much. Yes, I love oatmeal and Greek yogurt, but I don’t claim to have invented it and it’s not novel to actually add things into either of them. OIAJ? Unless the jar is the size of an industrial-size nut butter jar, not gonna fit. Those people who claim 1/3 c. of oats as a filling serving are nuts. And annoying.

    Anyway, I think everyone covered it above! I wish I would have logged on sooner to take credit for some of them 😉

    Glad your dad’s home and text me any time!!! That’s something this (white) blogger won’t get sick of. Now reading about kale chips and banana “soft serve”? That’s a different story.

  14. Hubster wants to know if he can move in with you and have cranberry corn muffins every day of his life. He tells me to tell you he’s handy (he’s not! But he is anally neat)

  15. Ridiculously expensive “add ins.” Yeah, coconut butter sounds delicious, but there is no way I am going to spend $20 on it.

  16. I love this. I always read a blog called ‘Stuff Parisians Like’ when I was in Paris and annoyed with all of the Parisian ways.

    I’ve been guilty of some blogger loves, here’s a few I can think of:

    Bloggers love:
    vegan baked goods
    green smoothies
    larabars
    Whole Foods hot bar bowl
    kombucha

  17. Question: could I sub cornmeal for masa harina?

    This list is hilarious. Oatmeal is like the blogging “meal”. It’s kind of crazy to me, even though I love it. I know so many people that can’t deal with the texture though!

    What about protein pancakes, muffins, etc? I don’t like them myself but I do see them quite frequently on blogs.

  18. I love all those things except the greek yogurt.. and I’m not sure what I think about balls. I haven’t had those yet. (TWSS)

    Actually, TWSS is another thing that bloggers seem to like.

  19. This post cracked me up – I totally agree on the oatmeal thing. What’s the big deal? It’s neither here nor there, it’s just…oatmeal! And OIAJ – that acronym just about sets me over the edge. And coconut anything – I am totally not a fan of coconut. At all.

    So glad your dad is home Eden! I am hoping for a speedy recovery for him!!

  20. haha! hilarious idea for a list. you hit the nail on the head. bloggers also like natural light, free products for review and dining with fellow food bloggers so they aren’t the only ones taking photos of the bread basket 😉

  21. Hee, hilarious. I honestly can’t add anything that your other peeps have mentioned. If I were to rattle off some things that bloggers like that I don’t get: GREEN smoothies, balls (too many calories for me- I’d eat them in my dream world, but c’mon I live here, in THIS body), kombucha, oats (not filling for the calories for me), trying to quit coffee (it’s not crystal meth- it’s coffee), vegan desserts of almost all kinds (I respect peoples’ need to be vegan, but the desserts are too caloric. If calories were no object I’d be on this like flies on sh!t), Chia (no taste). I do get: pumpkin, huge ass salads, ezekial bread, wintersquashes, vitamixes etc.

    Soooo glad Daddyo is home- hope things go smoothly there.

    Hilarious post.

  22. I made a version of this today Eden…I only used 1 egg, dried cranberries, and 1 T maple syrup and put it in a 9″ pie plate. It was delicious! Thanks for a gluten-free recipe that satisfies my carb-cravings!

Leave a Reply

