Pumpkin Pie English Muffin French Toast and my Trump Card

I’m not a big gambler. I have the wonderful capability of loosing every card game. Maybe I bring bad luck, but point is I’ve never been popular at the poker table.

What I am good at is working the trump card.

If your wonder whats so special about a trump card (outside of a poker game), its basically can refer to any sort of action, authority, or policy which automatically prevails over all others.

I have many trump cards. Lets take a look:

Trump #1 :With my ED, my “trump card” was probably denial. I knew what anorexia was, but I ate, I never purged so I couldn’t have been bulimic. I was “healthy”. I was in denial that even “healthy” activities could be take to the extreme. Bottom line, I didn’t need help because denial trumped it.

Trump #2: Funny thing is, my ED was a trump card. Let me explain. I was often offered to go to parties or whatever in college, but no. I was “special”. I had an ED with strict regimes and rituals attached, it simply “trumped” all the social opportunities. I couldn’t eat dinner with everyone, cause I had issues. Trump!

Trump#3: My other trump card was exercise. I suppose this could fall into the ED catagory, but I thought I’d mention it and give it it’s own “trump card” acknowledgment. Here’s my example of how I used “exercise” as a trump card. I missed classes and lectures in college. I woke up late and needed to get my exercise in. Insreadt of sitting nervously in anthropology class, I succumbed to my exercise and missed it. Trump.

Trump #4: As of late, I’ve had a very depressing trump card. Its been my dad’s hemorrhage. I’ve missed a few days of work, I’ve put off seeing people, I’ve stopped reading some blogs (sorry, I’ll try to get back when I feel up to it). I suppose that this trump card may be the only justifiable one. I mean, now that I think about it, running X amount on a treadmill seems like a rather lame trump card to be holding.  I don’t like having this trump card. In fact, I want to forfeit it. And on the bright side, it makes me forget about all the other silly trump cards I used to posses. hmm…..Trump!

Do you have a “trump” card? What is it, why does it prevail over everything? What makes it important?

I know, I promised you a myth busting monday but I didn’t deliver.

Truth is, I’ve had a hard weekend. My dad is back home, although I felt better while he was in the hospital. I felt he was slightly more alert and lively there, and at least in the hands of professionals to help him if something went wrong. I fear the bleeding started again, or that another anryem or hemorrhage. And of course, I feel he will mentally never be the same again.

I really didn’t want to write a negative sounding post, but this is how I’m feeling. Scared, worried, anxious, and helpless.

I had to teach my desserts class this afternoon despite my minimal tolerance for naive and energized adolescents. So we made pumpkin pie french toast. To make this concoction you will need:

2 large eggs
1/2 cup pumpkin puree
1/2 cup milk
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
you favorite kind of english muffins

In a large bowl, whisk together eggs, pumpkin puree, milk, vanilla, pumpkin pie spice until smooth.
Preheat frying pan or griddle over medium-high heat. Lightly grease with butter or nonstick spray.
Soak each slice of the muffins in the egg mixture (getting ever “nook and cranny” drenched in the yumminess). Cook on the griddle on both sides until golden and toasted.
Dust plate with ground cinnamon or additional pumpkin pie spice. Or, slather some pumpkin butter and make a pumpkin pie sandwich of sorts. You think this will trump pumpkin pie?

28 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pie English Muffin French Toast and my Trump Card

  1. I may have to make that pumpin pie french toast with my homemade english muffins tomorrow mornings. I will let you know if I do!!
    My trump card is my boyfriend. I don’t care for the other people in my department, so if I get invited somewhere I make an excuse involving Stephen. We have date night. Or we have to go to Waco and help his mom…with something. In all fairness, I am his trump card as well.

  2. You know I rarely comment on your food, Eden, because I find that your content always trumps the food, although they always are amazing like this one.

    I’ve been worried because you didn’t update for a while. I was wondering what was up, if there was some sort of trouble. I’m glad everything is still okay.

    I have a challenge for you, Eden. I know it’s extremely hard, but try to find three things to give thanks for each day. In no matter what kind of hard situations, we’ll always be helpless until we decide to change our perception on it. Keep finding reasons to give thanks for, and slowly your fear and anxiety will ebb away. Positive thinking works miracles. And I know they can work miracles first within your heart and mind, and then your dad’s.

    (hugs) always, my dear.

  3. I always pulled the (and still do) “its ok for me to act this way- I have an eating disorder” Especially when I want to skip social engagements that get in the way of my meals or workouts…

  4. My comment is not related to what you just posted but…..just wanted to let you know that I stopped by and checked up on you 🙂 Hope things will get better soon for you and your dad. I’m sending positive vibes towards your way. Hang in there.

  5. For me, french toast will always trump pie. Always.

    Don’t you worry one bit about writing a “negative” post. It’s a “real” post in my mind. I’d be a bit confused if things were sunshine and roses over there. This is your blog girl, and your place to write whatever the heck you want!

  6. You and your dad are in my prayers, too! It might take time to get over this, but I’m sure everything will happen as it needs to. I thoroughly believe that everything happens for a reason.

    And pumpkin pie french toast=my breakfast this morning!

  7. We all have Trump cards and those things we feel will just make everything “better” and help us feel successful, even if it’s superficially. Mine are very similar to yours–eerily so in many ways. “It doesn’t matter if X happens, because at least I will exercise.” “If I go workout, I will be able to handle X.” “It’s OK if that doesn’t work because I’m sick and doing the best I can.”

    While it is a justifiable excuse some of the time, we always have the option to change things–to change that Trump card, so to speak. After all, why use it to gamble with your health–emotional and physical? We’re dealt certain hands and play the cards we’re given. It’s our job to make the best hand out of them possible!

  8. I never thought of making french toast with an english muffin. Of course, I don’t ever make french toast, but it sounds like a good idea!

    I hope things get better with time. Maybe they will never be exactley the same, but better than now. Stay positive!

  9. This is semi unrelated to your post, but I just wanted you to know you have my full support! I know it is hard to stay positive, and I am not even going to attempt to say ‘i know how you feel’- but you should be so proud of yourself for how you are coping. You’ve come such a long way! I am not going to say ‘focus on the positive’ etc, because I’m sure you are sick of hearing about that. I will say this: focus on you! Be kind and patient with yourself. Take each day as it comes, and know that there truly are so many people that are pulling for you! I am grateful that your dad is slowly getting better, and I am grateful that you haven’t lost your ‘snarky’ (I mean that in a good way) sarcastic sense of humor. Just don’t use it as a mask to hide your pain behind it. I am so appreciative of your willingness to be open and honest about your feelings. Don’t ever apologize for saying what you need to say, and feeling what you are feeling. You are amazing! I know it is hard to see that now, but I hope that knowing that so many people care for you, helps you feel just a little bit less alone!
    You are in my prayers!
    XOXO
    Barbara

  10. Oh babe I totally understand your anxieties and fears. I’m sure the move back home altered your dad’s mood because big changes like that do that to any and all of us. And it’s a good thing that you’re being so cautious because then if by some crazy chance something DOES go wrong again, you’ll probably notice. Be strong girl.

    I used the ED trump card for so long. And exercise still sometimes rears it’s ugly head (but you know, class can be really boring sometimes!). Actually, lately I use my blog as a trump card. I have to cook FOR THE BLOG. i have to edit pictures FOR THE BLOG. And medical school figures in sometimes as well. Although I guess that’s warranted…

  11. I’m sorry to hear about your dad, this is a lot to deal with and you deserve a billion trump cards.

    Being extremely anti-social I have a lot of trump cards. Ex: “I’m on a detox” to get out of going out for drinks or parties, “I’m lactose” for getting out of eating sketchy cakes I really don’t want, “I didn’t sleep well” for not exercising, going out, or doing anything. My insomnia is a super trump.

  12. Does crazy eights count as a ‘real’ card game? Because I am wicked at that one! Poker? Not so much 😛

    Your dad as a trump card is definitely justifiable. I don’t necessarily think that all life’s ‘trump cards’ are negative things. There are always going to be things at the top of your priority list that you just can’t stop thinking about… but having so much compassion and caring for your father is anything but negative or self-destructive.

    I’m still thinking of you and your father. Chin up 🙂

  13. Hi Eden,

    Like one of the other commenters above, I was also a bit worried when you didn’t post on Monday. Sorry to hear that you aren’t feeling great (though it’s quite understandable and you’re coping admirably well…at least that you’re still updating and cooking). I felt the same way about my mother coming home from the hospital, except that people can pick up a lot of other illnesses in hospitals, so in that sense it’s better to be home (once my mother got a staff infection from a hospital).

    My current trump card is finals and definitely law school in general. I can’t go out because of finals, I’m not returning fb messages, etc…This trump card is really important because I’m in my last year of law school and I feel like I’ve put a lot into it mentally and financially, so I don’t want to screw it up now. I also need a job, so at this point studying and getting better grades can only help. However, if I actually studied for finals as much as I talk about it, I could prob be valedictorian of my school, which I’m most definitely not.

    I think when your father has recovered, you need a vacation! You should check out Kripalu, which is a yoga retreat/school/spa in the Berkshires. I’ve been 2x with my mother for short stays. They also have scholarships (I know they have a work/live option for 3 months, but I think there are prob shorter options too). Just a thought for something down the line.

    I hope you’re feeling better and remember that a lot of people are thinking about you and your father and wishing you both the best! I also like this slightly cheesy quote, “Everything will be okay in the end. If it’s not okay it’s not the end.”

  14. I’m so sorry about your dad, Eden. My grandmother actually had the exact same thing. However, she had dementia for awhile before that, so she was kind of already gone. I say “was” because even though she’s still alive, she’s not the lady I grew up with. My heart goes out to you, dearie. I can’t imagine what I’d do if my dad went through something like that.

    As for trump cards, haha, denial was definitely one of mine. “I’m just being healthy, I’m just righting all the wrongs of 18+ years of being fat.” Now, my trump card tends to be work. If someone’s suggesting a club I hate (which is many), my first response is “Ugh! Damn, I have a deadline I’m on, sorry guys.” But sometimes I also pull my trump card because I get anxious about strange situations, or like to withdraw. Still something I’m working on.

    That French toast looks delicious! I am said I have no more bread but am about to move out so I shouldn’t really buy anymore. Hmm…French toast-like bulgur perhaps? 😉

Leave a Reply

