Daikon Zucchini Latkes and Flashback Friday: Hanukkah Edition

This will be brief as I spent most of the day running errand and helping my dad settle because he was released from the hospital! But we are not out of the woods yet, he still has blood in his brain although it should be minimizing day by day. Also, his memory is still not at its best, but I’m hoping for the best.

Just like my recovery, you have to be patient. Hmm maybe thats why they call them “patients”.

Anyhow, I dug up some old photos of me in some Hanukhah play (I guess a Jewish day school’s equivalent to a nativity play?). I don’t remember it well, but I’m guessing it was something lame like us dressing as candles and dreidels (more on those tomorrow when I continue my “guide to hanukkah”).

I have no clue why our arms were up in the air like that. I'm guessing we all wanted to smell each others armpits.

 

 

did you notice I'm the only one wear a dress, a BLACK dress! This was the phase I refused to wear pants. Now. you lucky to find me in one.

Were you in plays like this when you were little? Did you have strict rules about the way you dressed like I did? Yes, I realize I was slightly psycho.

 

My roommate was pissed I didn’t save her any of my orange latkes from yesterday, so I made her a batch with the daikon and zucchini she had in her vegetable drawer. You will need:

-1 medium daikon (or any root vegetable)

-1 large zucchini

-garlic powder

-1/4 cup corn flour

-1 egg

-2 tbs parmesan cheese

-pepper

Shred the vegetables

Mix all the ingredients together. Form into small patties and with some butter or oil (this time, I used butter), cooked on both sides until golden.

18 thoughts on “Daikon Zucchini Latkes and Flashback Friday: Hanukkah Edition

  1. 1.) Butter is always better.
    2.) We only had one play in elementary school, some Peter Rabbit gig, and I chose to be a gray flower because gray was my mom’s favorite color. Umm…a gray flower? However, I took tap/jazz “dance” classes when I was 4 or 5 and when we had our recital, they literally had to drag me off stage. I was a huge ham and loved every second of it. Go figure, huh? πŸ˜‰
    3.) I was NEVER a fan of dresses, but my mom still has that tutu.

  2. You are too precious. I wouldn’t wear jeans for the longest time when I was younger. They felt far too stiff. Now that is practically my uniform. I love jeans. I was n plays like that when I was little. One that I remember very well was called, the Superkids Save Christmas. There was a kd super hero for every letter of the alphabet. I was not a super kid. I was the first narrator elf, because I was the best reader in class.
    I always looked super awkward, because I was super tall in comparison to the other girls when I was little.
    So so glad your dad is home now. Enjoy it!

  3. Love the pictures. Too cute. Oh yes, we were always having school plays. Sometimes we had to wear costumes, sometimes just a nice dress (for girls). One year I was an elf and my mom made my little elf dress. Loved that thing. I wanted to wear it every single day. Hope you’re doing well sweetie.

  4. YES glad to hear about your dad! I think I was in a lot of plays but seeing as I have no recollection of my childhood, there’s not much I can meaningfully say about those experiences. Though I did go home recently and watched some ancient family videos of my class plays, and it seems I never got any “play time” and was ALWAYS the narrator/announcer instead…lame. But evidently I somehow used those opportunites to load makeup on my face, and that’s probably all I really wanted.

    Sending good thoughts your way…and towards those latkes too.

  5. Damn, I feel like daikon and zucchinni would be even better! I want you as my roomate!

    I went through a pink and purple phase, a dress phase, and then a phase where I was a fake tomboy because I wanted to be like my brothers, and I would ask for video games and things I didn’t want for Christmas and wear the 80’s big t-shirt tucked into faded jeans look. That look isn’t good for anyone. These days I’m pretty stubborn and always wear black dresses, black leggings or dark jeans.

    So glad your dad is getting better!

  6. love the pics- you were so cute! I was in a lot of singing type shows in pre-school and kindergarten..they are so funny and i love going to see my nephew and nieces shows now. glad your dad is improving!

  7. Your dad is out of the hospital now? That’s great! I’m so glad things are starting to look up. πŸ™‚

    I’m actually the opposite of you in that I use to hate wearing dresses and now.. I love them. I find them cute, comfy and freeing!

    • I have no problem with dresses these days, but I just never get a chance to wear them much. Being a chef and yoga instructor, I want to avoid possible flashing at all costs!

  8. Hi Eden,

    It’s great news that your father is coming home! I also refused to wear anything but dresses through elementary school and I still prefer dresses/skirts to pants unless it’s really cold out (like today). I think I know why your hands are up in the air. One of the few childhood videos I have is of a Hanukkah party my mother hosted at our apt. for my nursery school class. In the video we sang a song about dreidels and spun around with our hands up to resemble dreidels. This post makes me want to go find the video and watch it now, but I have to study for finals 😦 Happy Hannukah!

  9. Glad Dad is settling in. Hope he gets better and better (he will- I just hope it’s soon!)

    Yum those daikon latkes!

    I pretty much wore whatever mom put me in. Now is when I refuse to wear clothes that are age-appropriate πŸ˜‰

    I was in a play once and the character was something that sounded like Hezbollah, but I can’t for the life of me remember it. I think it was jewish, not sure. If you know the name of the character, let me know. And while your at it, you can tell your dad that he isn’t alone in his memory issues πŸ˜‰ Hugs.

  10. I was never in any plays that I can remember.. but I definitely was picky when it came to what I was wearing. I used to hate dresses. It would take my mom thirty minutes to get me into something respectable for the annual holiday visit to my grandmother. Haha!

Leave a Reply

