Homemade Samoas and “Taking Care”

Before I begin, I’d like to thank EVERYONE who left such kind and supportive comments and messages. This is indeed a difficult time but I feel the love sent my way. Truly, as mushy as that sounds.

And in all honesty I dont have much to write today. I was busy juggling my dad’s situation and returning to work. And boy teaching kids was hard today. I always lack patience, but I couldn’t take their naivety today. And seeing their parents pick them up made me want to cry.

I’d like to be picked up, taken care of, etc. But I not only have to take care of myself, (which I admit I do a shitty job at) I need to start to take care of own parent.

How well do you take care of you? Do you find you take better care of others? Do you miss being taken care of?

Maybe this was why my ED started, maybe I was silently screaming people to take notice that I needed care and that i did a poor job of being my own caretaker. Eh, thats one theory. But as most people know, there are many roots in this ED plant, that whole “take care” is just one of them.

Anyhow…..

I have always dreamed of opening a bakery that sells homemade versions of girl scout cookies just to piss off the girl scouts. Well, my money is tight right now, so making these with my desserts class would have to do.  I have never met someone who didn’t care for Samoas – even people who say that they usually don’t like coconut (like moi!). I think that the cookie is just a good and rather unique combination of flavors.

1 package of shortbread cookies

3 cups shredded coconut (sweetened or unsweetened)
12-oz good-quality chewy caramels
1/4 tsp salt
3 tbsp milk
8 oz. dark or semisweet chocolate (chocolate chips are ok)

Preheat oven to 300. Spread coconut evenly on a parchment-lined baking sheet (preferably one with sides) and toast 20 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes, until coconut is golden. Cool on baking sheet, stirring occasionally. Set aside.

Unwrap the caramels boil them with milk and salt. Let them simmer on high for 3-4 minutes, and keep stirring to help the caramel caramel melt. When smooth, fold in toasted coconut with a spatula.
Using the spatula or a small offset spatula, spread topping on cooled cookies, using about 2-3 tsp per cookie. 

While topping sets up, melt chocolate in a small bowl. Heat on high in the microwave in 45 second intervals, stirring thoroughly to prevent scorching. Or simply melt over a “double boiler” (pot with boiling water underneath a bowl with the chocolate). Transfer  chocolate (or melt a bit of additional chocolate, if necessary) into a piping bag or a ziplock bag with the corner snipped off and drizzle finished cookies with chocolate.

yea, its that good (and Abby, it does not taste like suntan lotion!)

and this might happen…

 

 

24 thoughts on “Homemade Samoas and “Taking Care”

  1. Whenever I see one of my parents sick, esp. my mom, it’s always so hard for me to handle. I start going bonkers and want to do everything I can to make them better, but probably just stress myself out with worry so much that everything gets worse. I really admire you taking care of your dad and going back to work after this “holiday” weekend. You have so much strength.
    ps. I don’t like coconut, but on girlscout cookies it’s tolerable 🙂

  2. Those look amazing. I would be all over that caramel coconut and chocolate sauce!! Is that what girl scouts sell in the States? I was a Canadian brownie/girl guide/pathfinder/loser and sold cookies for years, but we sold a chocolate and vanilla mix and a mint chocolate one. They recently made them trans-fat free and I have this bad feeling they’re no longer as good.

    I know the feeling of wanting to be taken care of. It feels like there was an age in my life where that option got cut off, and I had to learn to be a care taker. There are still moments where I’m trying to be strong and I’ll break down because all I really want is for someone to take care of me. Then someone tells me “Be strong,” and I want to say “I’ve been doing that for too long, I’m done.” You are being so strong for so many people right now and it must be exhausting. Don’t forget that a lot of people care for you and will take care of you when you need it, even if it’s through a phone call or an email. Especially when you make cookies like those.

  3. Wow.. those look professional 🙂 I love the little chocolate swirl addition. Sadly, I am not a fan of coconut (I know right?).

    Do I take good care of myself? I’d like to think so these days… but I’ve obviously had some experience treating myself like the dirt stuck under someone’s shoe. It definitely feels better to treat yourself properly.
    Having said that, I still tend to push others to the forefront and take better care of them than I do myself. If someone is in need of help, I usually let my self-care go to the wayside. Not exactly ideal, but it’s hard to change!

  4. I really miss someone taking care of me. Someone else, though, not myself! I love taking care of stephen and apacking his lunch (every day) and serving him dinner (most nights), but for once, I want someone to bring a meal out just for me that was prepared with me in mind. Too much to ask? I miss my parents for that reason some days.
    Those samoas look amazing, and so much easier than making it all from scratch!

  5. I’ve actually had a disabled parent for as long as I can remember, so I’m no stranger to having to take care of a parent. There are times I think I developed my ED as a way to kind of excuse myself from that responsibility and force people to “look at me and take care of me!” but I don’t blame anyone but myself.

    Now it’s taking care of my mom and my grandma, and I realize that I have to take care of myself above all. It does no good to wear yourself down trying to be everything to everyone. If you don’t have your health, you’re screwed, and you can really only depend on YOU to keep you healthy–mentally and physically. Make sure you realize this is temporary and you’re not in charge of making him “better” or paying bills. You’re in charge of you and being there for him if he needs it (you are still the kid.)

    It can be hard to remember, but it’s true! Trust me 😉

  6. Um hello, those cookies look great. Funny thing, I hate coconut, but love those darn cookies. I am definitely better at caring for others. I’m like the mama bear to everyone. Sometimes the best care is for yourself though – as hard as that may be to remember.

  7. I think Abby is right! Coconut is yuck! I prefer the girl scout’s Thin Mints. Haha! That’s kind of funny. A recovering anorexic liking “thin” mints!! 🙂

    • I really like thin mints too, I like to store them in the freezer! But my all time favorite Girl Scout cookies are the “Juliettes”. They were discontinued and no one remembers them, so sad!

  8. I definitely used to struggle with taking care of me. It can be hard, especially if you feel you don’t deserve bc you are too fat, mean, angry, ugly, whatever. When I finally realized I was worth taking care of, I started cutting myself some slack; no longer did I feel the need to exercise compulsively, restrict my food intake, or punish myself for not being perfect. I actually started taking time for me: started my blog, reading more, practicing yoga and other deep stretching techniques, treating myself to massages, and just doing things I enjoyed!

    Although we should take care of those around us, we still have to look out for ourselves!

  9. everyone likes to be taken care of at some point, but we can let ourselves feel useless either. Family and friends need that love and care in return. I admit I am guilty of this at times and need to be a better care taker to others. Your dad is so lucky to have a daughter so loving and caring!! And I totally want you to open up that bakery, the smell of lemon snap girl scout cookies would make my day!

  10. Hi Eden, just to caught up on your posts this week. I’m sorry about your dad, but it looks like he is starting to recover right? (1st step being out of ICU?) I’ve had that happened to one of my parents, one of them was admitted to ICU and I could not concentrate until I heard update every hour.

    I’m glad you are keeping yourself busy as I was doing the same thing too. I’ll keep your dad in my prayers.

  11. I think the hardest part of “growing up” is figuring out how to take care of yourself. Figuring out how to do things on my own is a disaster and I still call my mom to help me with things on too much of a regular basis. And I’m 25. I’ll get there eventually… Maybe by the time I’m 30?

  12. many times i wish i had someone (other then my mom haha) to take care of me! even if it was just to scratch my arm when i’m watching tv haha. SOMEDAY! 🙂 you do your papa thang girl! lots of love and hugs your way!

  13. I’m not great at taking care of myself either (hence the years of eating disorder…but like you said, it is only one piece of the puzzle, and eating disorders aren’t just “accidents” because we somehow don’t know how to feed ourselves, nor are they just a cry for attention and love). I have gotten better at it over the years though. And I know what it is like to have to take care of family members and parents. My family relies on me a lot for a variety of things, and it is difficult at times. You have incredible strength, and it is really amazing. I know it probably doesn’t help much to hear that, but it is the honest truth so I thought I would say it anyway.

    Your cookies look so good! I’ve never had the girl scout version, but I’m partial to anything with coconut.

  14. I’m just catching up on posts from the last week, SO glad that your dad is on the mend and back at home, I definitely thought about you and your family over the holiday. I hate that you had to go through that, but am glad that things are going in a positive direction.

    Also, awesome recipe, Samoas are totally my fave GS cookie!

  15. If you like those cookies, you have GOT to try Dad’s Goodie Rings! Seriously, LIFE CHANGING. I started googling them, and they have a cult following and are apparently the number 1 thing requested to be shipped overseas! I also found out (thanks to the Goodie Ring cookie forums) that they are not available in the States? They seriously make Samoas look like paupers. They are chocolate covered rings of: Oatmeal, Peanut Butter, Graham and Chocolate rings dipped into chocolate. Life changing! I am going to have my wedding cake made of these! I haven’t had one in AGES! IF you could replicate that, it would be amazing! I sent some other bloggers info about it too. Definitely should be on everybody’s “things to taste in my life” list! I cannot wait to make your recipe!
    Xoxo
    Thinking of you and your dad!~
    Barbara

  16. I think that I take care of my self pretty well, but I sometimes put too much pressure on myself and take on too much, and then I wear myself out, and get sick. I think that I do too much of taking care of others, but I can’t say no.

    Those cookies look 10,00000000000000 times better than a girl scout cookie ever could. I book marked them in my “must make” file.

  17. Pingback: A Look Back at 2010: Popular Blog Foods | Eden's Eats

Leave a Reply

