Deep Breath, Eden

I have had a rough day. Deep breath, Eden.

I don’t know how well to express it but here goes nothing. Deep breath, Eden.

In all honesty, I dont want to write much and I was considering not writing at all. But I didn’t want you guys to think anything happened to me and I want to be honest with what I’m going through.

My dad suffered a brain hemorage today. We were supposed to to go grocery shopping for thanksgiving when I called and he said his head hurt and wasn’t feeling well. I wont go into to much detail but we went to the ER and he has sever bleeding on the left side of his brain. He’s going fairly well considering the circumstances but he can’t remember names (although he knew mine) and hes in the ICU currently. His girlfriend suggested I go home and eat and rest, and that is where I’am right now.

He will likely be in there for a few days. So no thanksgiving dinner for me tomorrow. I’m hoping this will blow over and we’ll have a lovely make-up thanksgiving. But I’m anxious as hell right now and as some of you know, I lost me mother when I was 13 and my dad is all I have right now.

I dont need a pity party but I want to be honest about my feelings.

I’m scared, I’m worried, I’m confused, I’m tired, and I’m helpless.

Luckily, he is in great hands (seriously, if any of you are ever in LA and have an emergency, Cedars Sinai is the best place you can go!) and a good family friend of ours who is a doctor, was with me the whole time, translating the medical jargon for me and putting me somewhat at ease.

And I must thank Abby for reminding me to take care of me and for reminding me to take deep yogic breath.

In the spirit of thanksgiving, I’d like to thank all of you for your support and I will update you when I know more.

Till then, have a wonderful thanksgiving.

Deep breath, Eden.

54 thoughts on “Deep Breath, Eden

  1. Eden I am so sorry! We briefly met at FoodBuzz, but I’m not sure if you’ll remember me — in any case, I just wanted to send some positive vibes your way. I hope your father makes a full and speedy recovery!
    Best,
    Coco aka Opera Girl

  2. Hi Eden,

    I’m so so sorry to read this. I was just checking to read your latest post and I was going to comment on the Thanksgiving thank you letter from yesterday (to say thank you for blogging because you are so great). I wish your father a speedy recovery and you will both be in my thoughts this holiday (and after).

    • thank you, I dont remember you ever commenting so i’m glad to see some lukers de-lurk. I really appreciate you thoughts and prayers. Truly, all you guys get me through it.

  3. I knew there would be people coming here to show some support. Even silent lurkers. 🙂

    Eden, you’re strong. I can’t even imagine how scared, worried, and helpless you feel right now…but you’re not entirely helpless. You’ve got the prayers of all of us behind you. You’ve got yourself, your wonderful self, to keep your dad company today. I imagine your dad would be more worried for you than you are for him. Show him the strong, brave person you are, Eden.

    This is a gigantic hurdle…but I think it’s also an opportunity to prove to yourself, and your dad, and everyone, how tough you can be. That this time round, you won’t let something like this trip you up and spiral you into self-destroying behaviors. Continue to treat yourself right, Eden. That is the best way you can help for the moment.

    And keep me updated, okay? I’ll be thinking about you and your dad all day today. If you ever need someone, you know how to find me.

    BIG hugs and love. <3<3

  4. eden,
    I hope you are getting some rest right now. My prayers are with you and your father. I will continue to pray for peace for you and for his healing. Its in gods hands. Please email me if you need any encouragement or just need to cry/vent.
    Much love and big hug!
    Linz

  5. De lurking for a moment here to say I will be thinking of you as you going through this rough time. Try to stay positive! I’m not religious, so I’ll just say that my thoughts are with you today. Thanks for all the shout outs and hello’s to the lurkers too. Hardly anyone does that! 🙂

  6. I know you don’t want a pity party, so I won’t say more than that I am deeply sorry for you. You and your father are in my thoughts and prayers. I’m glad you found a bit of relief in writing it all out – I know expressing my anxieties in writing always seems to make a world of difference (as does the feedback I get from it).
    You are such a strong girl emotionally, which is something I really admire, and I wish you the best in pulling through this tough time.

  7. You know I’m here for you, even if I’m not there. Call ANY time for anything, as he’s not the ONLY thing you have (just the most important.) 😉 You’re never alone and never will be.

    This is just one of those things that life throws your way to keep you humble and put things in perspective (for us all.) He’s in the best place he can be and has the best care he could ask for–you included. Make sure to take care of you so you can be there for him, but remember you can only do what you can do–love and support him, as you always do. Just be Eden.

    I’ll just be Abby and be here if you need me. You’re in my thoughts–more than normal 😉

  8. I’m so sorry to hear about your father. It’s good to know he is in the best hands available. I’ll be thinking of you and your father today and I’ll include him in our family’s Thanksgiving prayer. Try hard to enjoy your day. We’re all here for you.

  9. Eden, I am sending you warm and positive thoughts, and hoping for a speedy and full recovery for your dad… I can only imagine how you are feeling right now. Please continue to take care of yourself…

  10. Oh Eden I’m so sorry! I will be praying for your Dad and you as well. Take care of yourself until he gets out so you can be top notch to take care of him! Keep us posted .
    Missy

  11. Thank you for sharing your feelings and your story Eden. I’m so sorry you and your dad have to go through this, especially at a holiday (or any day.) No pity party, but compassion and prayers abound for you. I am thinking of you this day and sending you my positive exhalations. Grace will abound for you!

    Take care of yourself!

  12. I’m so sorry to hear this, Eden. I’m thinking of you and your dad, and sending you lots of love. I know you don’t know me, but I read your blog and I feel like you are a friend. So please know that you are in my thoughts…stay strong and take care of yourself.

  13. Eden,
    I’ve been lurking for a while since I saw you on Millionaire Matchmaker. I am inspired by your wit and we have more in common than you can possibly imagine (I grew up Jewish in Short Hills NJ:). My ex-husband’s father suffered a similar brain related trauma and I know firsthand that this journey will test you more than you ever thought possible. The brain is a tricky little bugger…and we know it can play games with you and on you! You are the most important person in YOUR life right now and always….take care of yourself and god (or whoever) will take of the rest. STAY STRONG FOR YOU!!!!!!!! Peace be with you today and always.

  14. Eden,

    I’m so sorry. Sending all of my good energy your way today…I don’t think I’ve commented before but I DO think you’re pretty damn awesome. Thankful for you!

  15. Eden, I am so sorry to hear this! I am praying for your family and that your dad will get better!
    Take care of yourself girl

  16. Ohno,Eden, I am thinking of you and your family and sending lots of good healing vibes! Take it a little bit at a time. Be strong. But break down if you need to. And just breathe. You’re capable of more than you know. Just keep being the great daughter you are.

  17. You have a huge family here thinking of you, Eden.
    Take it easy and know that this is not your fault and to an extent it is out of your control. Do what you can and the rest will take care of itself.
    Big hugs to you–we’re here for you.

  18. Pingback: Thanks again | I Have Issues

  19. Eden, I’m so sorry to hear this and I can’t even imagine feeling what you must be feeling right now. You’ll definitely be in my thoughts and I hope that everything turns out okay. Things WILL turn out okay. Stay strong, hun. ❤

  20. Eden! I will be praying for you and your dad. I know how much he means to you, and I have also come to think very highly of Mr. Eden through reading your blog! I hope he recovers and gets well ASAP, so you can share the great Thanksgiving you deserve!

    ❤ Tori

  21. Eden! I’m so sorry to hear about your dad! I will keep you and your family in my thoughts this weekend. I am hoping he recovers quickly and that you’re able to enjoy this Thanksgiving. Much love girl! ~Elise

  22. stay strong Eden, by that i don’t mean holding back but be yourself and take of yourself. your father is getting the best medical help, without being presumptous i am sure he wants you to remian well. we are all here for you. big cuddle . mohina thats y real name.

  23. Oh Eden … I don’t know what to say! I’m so, so sorry for you! I pray your Dad will be fine, and I think of you. A big hug, Kath

  24. Hey Eden, we’re thinking about you and your dad today. I can only imagine what you’re feeling. Cedars Sinai is a great place and he is in great hands! (My mom has been there for various reasons) Take care of you. Let us know how it goes.

  25. Hi Eden,

    I’m dropping by from Sophia’s blog. I’m so sorry to hear what happened to your Dad. I will pray for his quick and painless recovery. You both will be in my thoughts and prayers. Stay strong!

  26. Pingback: “Get Well” Challah and Some Other Random Mish Mash | Eden's Eats

Leave a Reply

