Blogger meetup at “Sanrio Wonderland”

Today I just couldn’t shy away from the oppertunity to meet some of my favortie bloggers. But really, I couldn’t pass this up because they are even better friends!

Sophia, taking lovely miniature "fake food" pics

We hit up the Sanrio 50th Anniversary Festival in Santa Monica.

I dont know about you, but I was never hardcore about that stuff. I think even as a kid, the “cuteness” never attracted me all that much.

But a free carnival in an airplane hanger with yogurtland, multi colored dread locks, maid outfits, Sanrio character costumes, petticoats, and gothic regalia? This could be fun, right?

Well, we made the most of it.

In attendance: Suki (with hubs), Amanda, Mimi, and Sophia.

If you are an LA blogger and didn’t know about this, don’t feel left out. This was sorta put together really quickly and this almost didn’t even happen. There will be plenty more of LA blogger meetups soon

Anyhow, I suppose the whole point of this carnival was actaully the gift shop which had a line longer than the one to “Space Mountain” in Disneyland. But we stood anyway, catching up on how much we ran, what we ate, how many comment we got on our last post. You know, usual blogger stuff. (I hope you know me well enoguht that I’m totally kidding).

They did have an awesome Sanrio inspired gallery with some museum worth pieces:

I guess keropi is a lightweight

ummm....how sad?

We also have developed a few theories on why some sanrio characters have no mouths. Sophia and I are fairly certain hello kitty is anorexic.

Or maybe, it is because she was created by sadistic Japanese men who think a woman should be seen and not heard? Not only does hello kitty not have a mouth (wierd) but have you noticed that her name is hello!?

The most horrifying discovery was this character called “strawberry king”.

yea, creepy

I did research and according to the sanrio company, “ The Strawberry King rules over a beautiful, peaceful land. He spends much of his time thinking about how to nurture friendship and peace, and is often found giving advice to others in such matters. Assisting the ruby red ruler with his daily roster are seven very unique angel assistants.” Ok, so call me crazy but “Assisting the ruby red ruler with his daily roster” seems like a thinly-veiled allusion to the menstrual cycle. Or pooping.

Ew!

My personal favorite 

According to the Sanrio website, “My Melody’s friendly rival is a tomboy who loves making mischief and causing trouble! Although she may look tough, she is actually very girly and is attracted to good-looking guys! Kuromi enjoys writing in her diary and is hooked on romantic short-stories. Her favorite color is black and her favorite food is shallots. Fittingly, her birthday is October 31st.”

My kind of chick. I hate My Melody, so I’m all on “Team Kuromi”

Do you have any funny ideas on Sanrio’s characters? Who is your favorite? Who makes you gag? Does it all kind of make you gag? ok enough questions.

More photos and another video from our little Sanrio adventure tomorrow. Stay tuned!

21 thoughts on “Blogger meetup at “Sanrio Wonderland”

  1. That video had me howling! I’d missed Sophia’s comment about there possibly being an old guy under the mask.

    I had so much fun today! Can’t wait for Costco!

  2. Omg this is too funny.
    When I was growing up I did enjoy sanrio, I must admit. I didn’t like hello kitty though, I tended to gravitate towards the cuter lesser known characters, like Picky Bicky (this funky little mouse with purple ears)…and, actually, that’s all I can remember. Hah.

  3. anoreixc hello kitty! now i finally know why this thing has a head that is about 3 times the size of her body! nicely analyzed eden 😉
    looks like you had fun at that fair!

  4. My cousins were very into Sanrio characters when we were younger. I never was. But I do find some of the characters adorable, like the frog. I am glad you guys got to meet up. I really need to move out to California. I tend to gravitate towards Cali people.

  5. LOL, just LOL to this post!! ❤
    wow, at first I thought it was so cute that there was a rainbow coming out of their heads until i saw the little guy in the background with no rainbow and no friend to share his 'light' with 😦 😦

  6. Funny! My parents owned a toy store when I was a little girl, and they were some of the first people to carry Sanrio products in Northern California! My favorite were those rectangular pencil cases that had a bunch of spring-loaded compartments — you pressed different buttons to pop out a compartment for an eraser, pencil, ruler, sharpener, etc. As for a favorite character, I was always a Hello Kitty girl myself.

    (Also, hi! We met briefly at FoodBuzz and I’ve been checking out your blog recently. Love your “no bs” writing style!)

  7. i’m sad i didn’t get to talk to you more at the FBFest last weekend but am super jealous you got to meet bloggers again for this event! if i had know i would have loved to come; i’ve loved hello kitty since i was a kid!

  8. I like Hello Kitty & have since I was a kid…Which is rather odd for me, because it’s so fluffy & girly, and really not me at all. But I schlep around a Hello Kitty lunchbox at work (and I’m looking into getting a new one, since my current one is slowly falling apart), and went absolutely nuts at the Sanrio store the one time I visited the Mall of America. 🙂

  9. I might be weird, but I think that strawberry boy is cute! Maybe cause I love strawberries? I probably just want to eat his head off…………..

    I’m not familiar with Sanrio, but it’s cute stuff 🙂

  10. Pingback: Myth Busting Monday: Foodbuzz Festival Edition and More Sanrio Pics | Eden's Eats

  11. Pingback: Lessons Learned from 2010 | Eden's Eats

Leave a Reply

