Pumpkin Chickpea Curry “Stoup” and Flashback Friday: Yearbook Edition

I had the day off from teaching the kids, so I thought I’d drive over to my dads and work on a special edition of flashback friday: “yearbook edition”.

No, my high school was not called "visions". For some reason, our yearbook had a title.

honestly, I just took a bunch of pictures from all three yearbooks. Yes, for some reason, my junior year yearbook is missing.

Let me give you a quick Eden history lesson from my high school years.

-I had braces from the end on ninth grade until the beginning of senior year. I hated them and the worst part of all of this torture is that I lost my retainer in college so my teeth are rather fugly again.

GAH! I was not as happy as I semed

-Some seniors could take part in an internship program. I wasn’t on any sports team, play, or club senior year, so I took part in it. I interned in a fashion house. I know, I can’t believe I did that! I used to care about that kind of shit! I wanted to be an actress at the time, but there are no internships for tv series.

-I guess I was “hott” back then

I wont argue

-My good friend at the time wrote me this beautiful message in my yearbook. Funny thing is, it totally resonates today as well!

shes was so sweet

-My senior page was the best! I was (and think I still am!) so creative. I loved the “I heart huckabees” poster so I modeled it after it and inserted pictures of me and my friends, my dog, my family, and left in a picture of Jude Law for good measure. (side note: netflix “I heart huckabees” if you havent seen it!)

Most people just collaged random photos. Notice I retitled it "Edenbees"

-The VERY sad thing about flipping through those yearbook pages is that I know I was very sick with my eating disorder at the time. I wasn’t as hardcore about the exercise as I was in college, but I ate poorly. Lots of diet anything, lots of fro yo, lots of splenda (yes, I ATE splenda with my finger and called it dessert! I was psycho), and I had this terrible fear of fat. Man was I lame. I think this “restriction” phase caused me to become “bingey” in college that hence led to the exercise addiction. Like I always say, its like physics: to every restriction there is an equal or opposite binge.

Ok, I dont know what I was thinking choosing that ridiculous senior quote! I sound like a malnourished air head (that's half true)

I think this was on our senior retreat, I could barely recognize myself with my ultra long hair!

All in all, I think I am in many way the same person. Maybe even better because my body is healthier (although I’m not claiming to be “healthy” because “healthy is a vague term). I’ve learned a lot since high school. I’m no longer in denial about my problems. In fact, I pretty much say it like it is these days. But deep down, I’m still a metal mouth with the inability to chose intelligent quotes.

How have you changed since high school? In what way are you the same person?

 

To make the chickpeaย curry, you will need:

-about 2 tbs olive oil (didn’t measure but about two “glugs”)

-1 small onion

-about a cup of pumpkin (half a can)

-half a can of garbanzo beans (if for one serving, or the whole thing if you are super hungry)

-dried oregano

-curry powder

-cumin

-garlic powder

-salt n pepper

– about 3/4 cup of vegetable stock (more if you want it “soupy” and less if you want it more “stewy”) vegetable stock

Slice onions thinly. heat the oil in a pot and add the sliced onions. Give those onions a Bikram Yoga lesson and sweat the hell out of em until they get golden. Add the chickpeas, stock, and spices and simmer for about 15 minuets on a low heat. The longer you let it simmer, the more the water will evaporate and it will begin to resemble a stew. I personally prefer “stoups” (I know, this is a Rachel Ray rip off. Its a hybrid of “soup” and “stew”).

20 thoughts on “Pumpkin Chickpea Curry “Stoup” and Flashback Friday: Yearbook Edition

  1. I really like the donut seed quote. That is pretty awesome. Wow, you had super long hair in that year book photo. I was very naive and innocent in high school. Completely unaware of eating disorders, the drinking scene, and drugs of any kid. Seriously, I had no idea where any of these things existed! And with a large high school of over 2000 people, they were definitely everywhere. I also had no qualms about eating anything and didn’t enjoy exercising, although I did play sports.
    It is almost as if all of those years of being an innocent caught up to me and I rebelled big time! So yeah, I think I have changed. And mostly for the better.

  2. Um, hello? The cheerio quote is the best ever. I lol-ed, and I LOVED it. You were a foodie in the making…though you obviously had your eating issues.

    I hated high school. There were fun times. Good times. And then, starting the beginning of junior year, it started to go downhill. Eating issues. Anxieties. Stress. Depression. Self-pity. Self-seclusion. Hatred. Bitterness. And then, finally, hospitalization. And then the whisperings. The rumors. the looks of pity from others. It feels nice to pity yourself, but not when you are being PITIED.

    I was a physical, emotional, and spiritual mess back then. Girl, we need a good talk so we can share our dramas. Actually, even now as I look back at the dark, unhappy person I was…I see that it was all part of a process. I’m a better person because of that tumultuous road. I’m still not perfect (duh) but…not to be all Gandhi on you, but I’ve found my true passion and purpose and meaning in life.

    I think the most obvious difference bwn the person then and now is that I am MUCH happier, and healthier now (though I am still needing more poundage and boobage and bootage). But it’s all due to the inner changes, that was going on even while I was suffering.

    Am I making sense?

  3. Your stoup is very similar to a curry stew type thing I’ve been making at home.. except I’ve been using squash instead of pumpkin. It’s so comforting to have something sweet and spicy for dinner, no? ๐Ÿ˜›

    You are gorgeous Eden, both inside and out. I sympathize with the braces … I had mine from grade nine to the beginning of grade twelve, and hated every minute of it. I wear my retainer every night though, because I am scared they will shift back ๐Ÿ˜ฎ I had awful teeth.

  4. I was much more self-destructive in high school (and in college), and had a lot less confidence. I realized a long time ago that there’s STILL a lot I don’t know about life, but that it’s okay not to have everything figured out.

  5. Ohhh…You were gorgeous throughout high school either way!! Life takes time…lots of time to figure out ๐Ÿ™‚

    That chickpea-soup looks amazing!!! Like something you would buy at a WHole Foods Hot Bar!

  6. hehe, I love seeing these pictures. I was SUPER stressed in high school. I have learned to say “NO” now a days and am a lot more honest with people. Thanks GOODNESS!!

  7. High school was high school. You think everything is the most important thing in the world until you’re out of high school for a bit. Then you realize it was all just weird stuff that really didn’t matter anyway.

    High school was full of home drama stuff for me, but I didn’t really start getting sick until my senior year. I was in the “upper” part of our class socially, athletically and academically, but even then I felt kind of weird–like I didn’t fit in anywhere. The normal drama bored me, so I just kind of did my thing ๐Ÿ˜‰

    If I was then how I am now, it would have been a lot more interesting!

  8. I thought about doing a post like this, but too many memories! Good, bad, and just awkward years for me!

    You seemed like a pretty cool girl in highschool ๐Ÿ™‚
    (And I like the quote!)

    โค Tori

  9. In so many ways I’m SO different from high school but deep down I’m still the same girl. I may look different, finally be healthy and out of my disordered eating patterns, but I’m still the same shy, down to earth chick I used ot be… or at least I like to think so!

  10. This is a GREAT flashback idea! I loved seeing it.

    I think many people could look back at the quote they put in there yearbooks and go “what the hell was I thinking…”

    Im not sure what I was like in highschool. I’m healthier now. I think in many ways I’m the same…I went through a phase in college and the first couple years out of college where I wasn’t myself…and now I’m back!

  11. I’d forgotten what a great boost reading old yearbook comments could be. I love that note your friend wrote to you, it was very sweet and genuine. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’ve changed A LOT since high school. I was very innocent and insecure. I was kind of in my own little world that revolved mostly around art classes. I had lots of acquaintances but some very good friends. I was pretty outgoing and accommodating which kind of turned into being walked all over.

    I’d like to think that now, I’m a lot more independent and secure in who I am. I think that’s what makes high school tough: we’re trying to find ourselves.

  12. You were a knockout then and you are a knockout now. Love your hair! And I love the unique quote. I probably would have gone to the library and looked up something “respectable” instead of something that meant something to me.

    I am nothing like I was in high school and thank God for that!

  13. I also had braces in my school time, and now my teeth are skew like before. ๐Ÿ˜€ And I think your senior quote is very funny! (How many other people chose something pseudo-deep? ;))

    I’ve changed a lot since graduating from school (fortunately) – I was very shy back then, very low in self-esteem, and had very unhealthy attitudes towards myself. These things are a lot better now!

    Yummy soup! ๐Ÿ˜€

  14. haah whenever I hear stoup I think of rachel ray too!! anyways, wow the flashback photos are awesome I think you made me want to scrounge mine up from the dust! haha I definately was a chubbier little kid back in the day, and went through some interesting hair phases, all of which hopefully are over now! We had senior pages too, and my best friends and I had our own page with pics and inside jokes, we thought it was the best thing ever created!

  15. I love your Flashback Fridays! I’m not understanding the quote though.. at all. It becomes awesome simply because of it’s airheadedness.

    I’ve changed quite a bit since high school and I plan to keep on changing! I’m definitely WAY more confident.. and I dress better. I look at how I use to dress and it makes me extremely glad that I have almost zero pictures of my high school years (due to ED but hey, at least my horrible fashion sense gets to be forgotten!).

    • ITs cause that quote is way too dumb for your smarts. I actually dont think I had no fashion sense. if anything it was better back then. I just dont have my dad’s money to take me shopping like back then!

  16. Oh boy have I changed since high school. Which I am happy with because I like who I have become ๐Ÿ™‚ I feel each day, week, year I change, which is the great thing about life. You learn new things and try new things and change from there! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

