Pupusas with Avocado and Myth Busting Monday (Halloween Edition)!

Everything is better with avocado on top

Hope everyone had a nice weekend!

I was very busy and this next week will be even busier because not only do i have work and yoga school, I have loads of errands I need to do before I head on over to San Francisco for the Foodbuzz festival.

Its that time of the week again, everyone’s favorite, myth busting monday! Here’s the myths of the week with some Halloween ones thrown in:

Myth #1: Plastic is better for cutting boards: Actually, this on is a toss up. Wood cutting boards are porous so they tend to soak up juices from cutting meats and fish, for example. That carries the bacteria down into the cutting board where they’re not at the surface anymore. And woods often contain anti-bacterial compounds in them so there’s kind of a natural antibiotic in the surface of the wood. Plastic cutting boards are easier to clean and are safer to put in the dishwasher, but they also will tend to develop scars and bacteria will lodge in the scars and cause problems later. So best to use woods for proteins and maybe plastic for produce. And when they get scars, toss em out.

Myth# 2: Beer before liquor you’ve never been sicker, liquor before beer your all in the clear: Dont mix your alcohol, dumb-ass. (I must give my lovely roommate credit and she works in a bar. I am not a big drinker due to some liver issues . But I have been to college, so I believe it’s valid).

Myth#3: The candy you receive will have razor blades and needles in them: You think razor blades and needles are cheap? I don’t have that kind of money to waste on hurting children. Besides, I’m so much bigger and smarter than kids are. I think most people have no intention on hurting children anyhow, its not like they walk in their halloween costumes with a wallet full of cash to steal. Unless, its Justin Beiber.

Myth #4 Goths love Halloween: I am pretty positive goths hate Halloween. It makes a total mockery of everything they believe in, like Satan, and drawing pentagrams in their own blood.

Myth #5: Green M&M’s are an aphrodisiac: I was really curious about the rumor so I decided to do some light research and visit their site. I mean after all, they’ve alluded to the whole green-aphrodisiac thing in their commercials. The Green M&M has sexy boots, so that means they know about the rumor. THEY will give me some of the straight-from-the source facts I crave. And guess what I found? A timeline. Big whoop.

Myth #6Girls who wear slutty costumes are into you: I went to UCSB, the prime college Halloween destination. From my Halloween experiences there, I’ve learned that girls who dress slutty tend to act like total whore too. Then guys get pissed they don’t follow through. Yea, THAT my friends is creepy.

For the pupusas, I simply mixed:

1/2 cup of corn flour

1/4 cup warm water

top with some sea salt and avocado

I mixed it with my hands and rolled it into a little ball.I heated up the greased skillet and place the ball in the pan and “squished” it with another pan to flatten it.

I made like a bunch of mini ones, but it makes about four bigger ones

pupusa for about 1-2 minutes on each side, until lightly browned and blistered. Remove to a plate and hold warm until all pupusas are done

19 thoughts on “Pupusas with Avocado and Myth Busting Monday (Halloween Edition)!

  1. Those pupusas look like cookies and the avocado looks like ice cream. At least at very first glance!! It looks delicious!
    I don’t ever mix my alcohol. I simply drink beer on most nights. Just one delicious beer. But when I was an undergrad (and quite the mess) I would mix my liquor. I found that a shot of tequila would sober me up after drinking anything else. But maybe that was just my imagination…

  2. Ah, I recall Halloween at UCSB my freshman year. Great memories of a drunk guy falling off of his fence and landing on his skull and another drunk guy getting ventilated in the middle of the street as he unconciously hurled. Lovely.
    Your papusas look great though, haha! Hope I didn’t spoil the deliciousness with my graphic memory!

  3. That is an interesting tip about cutting boards. I got it backwards, I’ve been cutting meat on plastic and product on wood. Maybe it’s time to invest in some new cutting boards. Thanks for the info!

  4. I’ve always preferred wooden chopping boards. They make a nice sound when the blade hits it.
    Have you tried Sorita’s Pupusas at the Grand Central Market? Really good!

  5. I’ve never in my life has a pupusa .. is that weird? I do love corn though.. and corn bread.. Yum.

    I have both a wooden and plastic cutting board, and they are both cut and scarred beyond recognition. I bet there is some major bacteria-growth going on… but seeing as I’ve never been sick I think it’s probably just helping my immune system =)

  6. Well, I’ve never heard of a pupusa. Still, trying to figure out the pronounciation too! Haha!

    I think there is a certain age group of girls that would be okay to wear slutty Halloween costumes. I mean it’s just one day out of the year. But when it get’s into The Real Housewives of so-and-so age group, or the Hanna Montana fans age group, that’s when we have a problem! 🙂

    ❤ Tori

  7. Lol. The myth about the girls and slutty costume is true. But I also get annoyed when females dress up like that for halloween. It’s unoriginal and makes you look cheap.

    As far as cutting boards, that’s why I use glass. 🙂

  8. thanks for that info on the cutting boards. Not that I have the luxury of taking over my grandma’s kitchen I will use the best tools possible for my produce and my fish 😉
    i can’t believe you’re going to the foodbuzz! I can’t tell you how jealous I am

  9. i always wonder about the cleanliness of cutting boards haha and then i forget about it and don’t care anymore. haha go me i’ll probably end up with salmonella haha

    i don’t wear slutty costumes because it’s too cold!!!

Leave a Reply

