Twice Baked Cinnamon Potatoes, 15 Truths, and a Lie

bear with my horrible photography lately, the bad weather here has affecting my good lighting

How’s the weekend so far?

Although I do like writing and talking about myself (I mean, who doesn’t?), I realized I haven’t actually written a lot about me lately (besides yesterday’s flashback).

Anyhow, I thought I would share some of my truths with you, and a lie on the side:

Truth #1: I get bored in yoga sometimes (usually, the teacher is lousy or I’m just feeling lousy in general that particular day)

Truth #2: True friends stab you in he front

Truth #3: I think triangular sandwiches taste better

Truth #4: I yell “STAY” at objects that keep falling over

Truth #5: I hate it when people sit in front of you in the movies and take away your foot rest

Truth #6: I didn’t cry at my mom’s funeral, but I did cry watching “Slumdog Millionaire” (for the record, I feel like i cried a lot when my mom was very sick and tight after she died. I was just a little numb at the funeral and the crowds of people intimidated me.

Truth #7: I new the whole Les Miserables soundtrack when I was eleven.

Truth #8: I have no patience for people extremely in their eating disorder

Truth #9: I am very picky when it comes to dating, my standards are way to high, but they gotta be, right?

Truth #10: I like to eat salads from bowls, not plates

Truth #11: I have a crush on Jon Stewart. Something about his humor, his liberalism, his hair and his “jewness” just makes my heart flutter. Wow, I’m pathetic.

Truth #12: I speak Hebrew fluently and I never lived in Israel, but all Israelis I meet tell me I have no accent. I’m just a really good actress (I do great australian accents and I do “Lois” and “Stewie” from family guy pretty well!).

Truth #13: My first car was named “renee”, my second “benson”, and my current one is called “nelson”. Yep, my current one is male.

Truth #14: I really want to be a vegearian because I love animals and it would look being a yoga teacher and all that, but I don’t think I would last long without chicken, turkey, and fish. I’m vegetarian in sprit, but I lack the no meat will power. I know, I’m weak.

Truth #15: I’m afraid of being “too skinny” and “too fat”. I don’t even know how to define those words and it may be shallow or whatever, but its my truth.

Lie: I love my body (I don’t hate it, but I think its totally ok and normal not to “love it”. For me, being “meh” towards it is good enough).

What are your truths? Or lies?

For the twice baked cinnamon sweet potatoes you will need:

-a sweet potato (or yam, I won’t go into that debate)

-about 1/2 cup of ricotta cheese (or for a vegan version, soy yogurt or coconut milk yogurt)

-1/2 tablespoon of cinnamon

-sweetener of choice (I used stevia, but honey would be good too)

-1/8 tsp baking powder (pretty crucial to make them puff up!)

pierce the potatoes with a fork a few times and bake at 400 degrees for about 30 min or until soft.

Slice down the middle and take out the mushy insides (aka, sweet potato guts).

the "guts" taken out...

In a seperate bowl, mix the sweet potato”guts” with the ricotta, cinnamon, sweetener and baking powder.

stuff that sucker

Refill the potatoes and bake for an additional 15 minuets.

23 thoughts on “Twice Baked Cinnamon Potatoes, 15 Truths, and a Lie

  1. again we have a lot in common. I am really good at imitating accents too and also can pick up new languages really easily!
    triangle sandiwches? never tried to eat them that way. will be on my to do list 😉
    have a good saturday

  2. I like salads on a plate, not a bowl. Funny,eh? I put condiments on everything. I don’t get people who can just have a dry toast, sandwich, etc. Ya, I am a condiment snob. I pre-set my coffee just so I can have the coffee smell in the house in the morning and plus I am too lazy to make it the wee hours of the morning.
    by the way…..I still have my Les Mis sound track!

  3. Oh, I get so pissed when there are hundreds of seats available in the theater, but people decide to sit right in front of you and make you give up your foot rest.

    I wouldn’t last that long at all without chicken! But they do have some good faux meat in stores now a days!

  4. Again, freaky. I’m just about on board with all your truths–I also knew the whole Les Miz soundtrack by age 11. I won’t ramble, but you know I’m on board with just about everything else. Weird, but in a good way, no?

    I eat most of my food out of bowls, even if it doesn’t make traditional sense. I feel like it kind of keeps everything where it should be and decreases my chances of spilling all over–although it generally just delays the inevitable. I also cut my sandwiches into triangles and often yell at inanimate objects. There’s no shame in my game…

  5. I’m a salad in a bowl person too…. it works so much better that way! I only have salad on a plate in restaurants because it would be weird to ask for it in a bowl! haha
    Its hard when people are very in their eating disorder… I find that the more into recovery I am, the less patience I have. Its not even that they are triggering, i just don’t have that much patience…. I feel bad saying it, so thank you for saying it first, making me at least feel valid in that feeling!!
    Love this post!

  6. Today is my sweet potato day so i’m going to make that minus the ricotta cheese. I am using a sweet potato and I do know the difference 😉

    I love Family Guy! I yell stay at things too LOL!

  7. I eat almost every meal out of a bowl. I can’t help myself.

    I love that you can do Lois and Stewie from Family Guy. One of my favorite shows right now 🙂

    I love sweet potatoes. I just added ricotta cheese to my grocery list so I can try your recipe.

    And I love the names of your cars. My hubsband named his car Elwood when he was in high school and the license plate of the same name has been handed down to his sister and now his brother. The spirit of Elwood has been alive for 20 years! Aw, we are old!

  8. “Truth #4: I yell “STAY” at objects that keep falling over

    Truth #5: I hate it when people sit in front of you in the movies and take away your foot rest”
    these made me laugh because i do them too.
    “Truth #8: I have no patience for people extremely in their eating disorder”
    don’t even get me started on number 8. ZERO PATIENCE. ZERO. (if you’re not trying, that is)
    and my lie, also, is that I “love my body”. just am not there yet. would lvoe to be there, but am not.
    i actually beg to differ with you that you have lost your blogging mojo or whatever you want to call it. I adore your blog more and more every day.
    just sayin’

  9. “True friends stab you in the front” – I loved that one!

    I also loved you are fluent in Hebrew. It’s so important to know where your roots are!

    Isn’t “Benson” a masculine name?! Or is it intergender?

    Salad from a bowl is definitely better than salad from a plate. Not only salad, btw. I eat almost everything from a bowl, and I mostly prepare my food in a way that I only need a fork or spoon, because I like to eat with my knees flexed and pulled to my body, so I can put the bowl down on them. But I only eat like this when I’m at home. When I eat out, I behave inconspicuously.

  10. That’s cool that you speak Hebrew! I feel stupid because i always thought that was a religion…
    Truth: I buy too many nail polishes and only use like two.
    Lie: I am really good at math!
    Lame, I know, but it’s all I could think of LOL 🙂

  11. I like to eat everything from bowls…I think plates are highly overrated. And I agree that true friends stab you in the front – I love how you put that.

    We missed you today at the blog meetup! I hope the yoga training went well!

Leave a Reply

