Stuffed White Acorn Squash and a New Set of Rules

its like an edible jar!

Hey everyone!

Can I just vent a bit about how LA is being very not “LA” and is resembling seattle! I did not choose to live here for this! I’m so spoiled. I’ve lived in LA most of my life so when it rains or gets really hot, I get peeved. I turn into “superbitch” and resemble what I’m like when I’m tired or not fed. Its not pretty. Everyone in LA freaks out when it rains. They don’t know what to do, everyone is late, and the rules of traffic dont apply and everyone drives like a maniac.

Speaking of rules…….

I’ve written in the past about how most eating disorder cases are based upon a set of rules people instill in their heads. Sure, we all have ways we like to do things, but it becomes a problem when we aren’t flexible.

Breaking rules is important to do, but its actaully very difficult to do when we are so used to our rules that they feel safe and comfortable. I think a good way to learn to get these rules out of our heads is to simply instill other rules to help trump the ones we’ve got goin.

Here are some of my ideas…..

Rule #1: Foods that have the same color have the same number of calories. Examples are: spinach and pistachio ice cream; mushrooms and white chocolate.
NOTE: Chocolate is a universal color and may be substituted for any other food color.

Rule #2: (this is an actual rule in Blythe, CA) It is illegal to wear cowboy boots unless you already own two cows

Rule #3: Anything in the gym counts as execise; this includes, using the sauna and standing in line at the juice bar

Rule #4: yoga pants have become so all-purpose, they are simply, pants!

Rule #5: You place is clean, even if all the junk is in the closet

Rule #6:When you need to cut back on food, just omit the cherry on the sundae (the fake ones are kind of gross anyhow)

Rule #7: 1/3 cup of oatmeal is not a serving….is it me, or does that seem like a mini serving?

Rule #8: Bringing your own snacks out to the movies is not only acceptable, its mandatory (A. prices are ridiculous, B. I make way better popcorn)

Rule #9: Carbs on carbs should happen regularly (ie, sweet potato on bread, beans on toast, cookie with ice cream, cereal with….more cereal!)

Rule #10: Its ok to not be in the mood for yoga, sometimes, with the wrong teacher and wrong day, its just not fun

Rule #11: bitch about something that isn’t even really bothering you, sometimes you just need to bitch!

Got a new set of rules you would like to instill???

I found a white acorn squash at the market, so I made stuffed it and made another on of my “lids”. You will need:

-1 acorn squash (top sliced off)

-1 slice of bread, lightly toasted

-tomato sauce

-basil (dried or fresh0

-about 1/3 cup ricotta cheese

Roast that acorn squash at 450 for about 35 minutes or until tender and soft. Stuff with the bread, sauce, and ricotta and place back in the oven for another 10-15 minutes. Goes nicely with a lid!


put a lid on it!

20 thoughts on “Stuffed White Acorn Squash and a New Set of Rules

  1. I totally agree about the maniac drivers in L.A. when it rains. I have a long commute to work and I’ve seen it all. It doesn’t even phased me anymore at this point.

    The caption on the last picture made me think of Beyonce’s song and the lyrics “put a ring on it”.

  2. hahah! i LOVE those rules. And I love your humour. Fabulous. this really made my gray rainy wednesday morning a whole lot better.
    I have to think of some more to add to your list now that I might post here later 😉

  3. I always bring my own snacks to the movies! People think I”m strange for doing it, but really, I’d rather bring candy and stuff that I already have and like instead of wasting my money….

  4. Rule #3 actually is a rule, according to most of the people who go to my gym. Which is fine. As long as they sit around in the locker room, and not on equipment that they aren’t even using!

    ❤ ❤

  5. hahaha i love your rules especially because movie theatre food is ridic over priced! i hate that it costs an arm and a leg and i will never buy anything there. i’ll just go across the street to target and get the same jumbo sized box of swedish fish for 1/4 the price!

  6. I agree with all of the rules. Especially the oatmeal. I usually make enough for a small serving and scrape it out of the pan with my spoon. No shame. I’m a woman not a Barbie doll.

Leave a Reply

