Savory Rosemary Scones (Gluten Free) and Failure Bounce Backs

I wish you could scratch and sniff the screen, cause they smelled pretty awesome

I did not have a good day.

Its not like I’ve been feeling especially depressed lately, but today was a big downer. The weather in LA matched (chilly, gloomy, muggy, polluted).

I’ve been doubting myself lately. Feeling like a failure. You see, I goofed up at my job yesterday and I feel like my track record with my boss has plumeted.

While I don’t love this particular teaching job (because I have to work for a company with a set curriclum and set recipes that are all kind of lame), I hate being told I didn’t do something right. Most of my life was centered about trying to be “right”. I thought I was eating “right”, exercising “right”, and failures and setbacks scarred me.

In the end when i found my self out of college, out of culinary school and in treatment, I felt like a failure. The most bizarre thing of all, is that I felt I even failed at my eating disorder.

I threw in the towel. I was sick of not eating all day, exercising all day, only to binge at night with all my “safe food”. It was all too tiring. I lost patience for it. I went into treatment thinking, “I’ve failed at try to be ‘normal’ and I feel like I eat so much compared to some of these girls, and DAMN do I hate being addictied to exercise. I can’t even be “good” at anorexia! I love food too much!”

I know, that’s a crazy thought, right?

So in the spirit of bouncing back, I thought I’d post some “bounce back” strategies. Mainly, I needed to remind myself of these:

Identify why you fell – Always be quick to do a “cause and effect” tally system.. Without realizing why you didn’t succeed or fell, you will fall again and wonder why you juts keep falling. For example, if your trying to quit smoking and had a puff after a stressful phone call, identify what triggered the need for a cig. Was it the call itself? Were you bored? Were you trying to win over the Marlborough man?

Do not become comfortable – Do not create a comfort zone in the area of failure. Always realize that you can actually succeed in that area too if you put all your effort and energy to be determined to succeed. Some people enjoy being identified as “the one who fell”, “the one who failed” and “the one we can’t follow”

Accept the Impossible: Try as you might, there are some situations where no matter what you do, you will fail. Thomas Edison was known for failing countless times in his quest to create a light bulb. Along the way, he discovered what wouldn’t work. There was nothing he could do to make an unsuccessful formula work, except go to his next idea. The next time your turn on a light, remember the invention was born out of failure

Let go of your attachment to a specific outcome. Work towards your goal of healing, achieving, or being — but be open to other paths! You’ll be surprised at how many roads to and forms of success exist. I also think when we truly succeed, we don’t realize it right away.  Everyone I know that has fully overcome an addiction or disorder didnt wake up one day thinking, “O, I’m better now!”. Achieving goals look different, don’t get too attached to specific results.

Embrace what you have got: This is where my mom’s memory comes in. She had breast cancer for 13 years. All while giving birth and raising one little rascal (yes, me), having a career, being a wife, and having a ball while doing it. I should be thankful I have my health, my family, my friends (and blog friends). Sure, I may fail, but life could be worse. I better embrace what I’ve got going.

How do you handle failures/setbacks? Care to share some of your setbacks and how you pulled through?

I also have this tendency to bake when I’m stressed. So at least this produces something nice for the blog. For the savory rosemary scones, you will need:

-1 cup corn flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill, its super cheap!)

-1/2 cup milk (I used 2% but I’m sure soy or almond milk would be good)

-1 tbs flaxseed meal

-palmful of dried rosemary

-2 tbs of almond butter

-1/2 tsp baking powder

-salt

dry ingredients, chillin, waiting to be watered by milk

Like a lot of my recipes, I’m not a fan of getting utensils dirty. Mix all the ingredients with you hands and pat into greased baking sheet. Bake at 400 for about 30 minuets. Slice into triangles once they have cooled (its just easier and neater that way). Since they kind of taste like cornbread, I suggest you serve it up with some chili.

At least these were a success!

16 thoughts on “Savory Rosemary Scones (Gluten Free) and Failure Bounce Backs

  1. Yummmy! I’ve never ever made scones before. In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever eaten one! They are very American, no?

    Sorry that you’ve been a little down in the dumps.. I know what that feels like and it’s tough to get out of! Your little tips and tricks are great though, especially the ‘do not become comfortable’ one. I find it really easy to just accept depression and negativity when it crawls into my life… but I can only feel better if I just stand up against it and realize that I can feel so much better 🙂

    The best thing I’ve come up with to combat failures and setbacks is to remind myself how much I have to be grateful for.
    ❤ Tat

  2. I’m a reader of your blog, of the lurking variety, but I had to post today to say how much your bounce back strategies inspired me. I’m thankful for that beyond what I can explain, and I just wanted to say so.

    Take care and keep up the amazing blog.

    Saffy

  3. I’ve never made a scone before. I should try it!

    I think I need more practice in the “letting go of your attachement to a specific outcome”. I have my set ideas for how I want things to go. And when they don’t go that way, I can freak out a little! I’m a control freak in other words 😉 I need to learn to relax and be more open to new things and change.

    ❤ Tori

  4. Hang in there, kiddo. There is no failure if you keep on trying, and considering you’re still here to tell us the tale, you have a chance to move on. Plus, duh. We love you anyway.
    However, I hear ya.
    I’ve also never had a scone. What is wrong with me?

  5. Hugs girl. You’re not a failure! You’ve come so far and you’re amazing for it. I have those days too though when i think I fail. It’s frustrating, and it sucks. You just have to remember all the ways in which you succeed. They tend to outweigh those things you “think” you fail at.

  6. I’m sorry you’re having a bad time! And I think what is condered right or wrong often is related to what other say, or what you think others would say, was right or wrong – and those others often are in the majority. There’s a German proverb saying (I hope I’ll translate it approriately), “Only who swims against the current will get to the source.” I like this proverb very much, because it tells you to have the courage to be yourself and make your own decisions, including your own definitions of right and wrong. So I can relate very well to that you’re uncomfortable with a job that forces a tight schedule up on you and holds down your creativity.

    Thank you for sharing your startegies how to cope with failing. I believe another important would be to allow yourself to fail. Failing is the greatest teacher (and the hardest, maybe), but you’ll learn the most from your own failures if you accept them and understand them. Allow yourself a little break, take some deeps breaths, and then start again. 🙂

  7. Eden, I am having a hard time lately too (especially this weekend) and I need to remind myself of my own ways to bounce back. I guess I dove into pursuing my masters in Texas with the idea that I would easily finish it and magically escape my ed, too. No such luck. I guess I kick myself haven’t such a hard time at both. But I am lucky to be here, and I need to realize that my life isn’t bad at all. It just isn’t where I thought I would be at 26. At all.

  8. I’m sorry it’s been a rough week. What I realized recently is that normal life has ups and downs, and you just have to figure out how to get through the downs. I used to think that once I hit all my goals life would just be perfect, but it’s not. ::shrug:: Oh well. I really like your tips though 🙂

  9. Today was a weird day! I had a great morning and afternoon but now I’m feeling oddly depressed too. I have no idea why?? I need a scone to cheer me up. 🙂

    Hope tomorrow is a better day for both of us!

  10. That failure feeling is such a lovely by-product of having an ED, isn’t it? Please remember that you recognized you were sick, sought help and are now recovering – all of which a major successes!

    Whenever I have a tough time, I sometimes fall into a trap of trying to ‘count my blessings’, which tends to actually make things WORSE because I wonder why I can’t be happy and healthy because I have all these things I SHOULD be happy about about. Anyway, I work hard at realizing that everyone (EVERYONE) has good and bad days, ups and downs and the like. Sometime you just have to sit with it and allow it to pass. Because it always will, given time.

    Sorry the weather in LA is yucky. I am so attuned to the sun and daylight and know how it feels when it’s cloudy and dark. Totally makes my mood drop, hence the reason I’m trying to get my husband to move to somewhere like southern Mexico… or maybe Bali or something! 🙂

  11. As someone who applied to and didn’t get COUNTLESS jobs in the past year or so, I know all about bouncing back. I think for me it’s all about thinking about what I can learn from the situation, making the best of it, and just plowing ahead. I’m a big believer in things working out for the best, even if it seems super terrible at the time.

  12. Pingback: Grocery Discoveries Round 2 | Eden's Eats

  13. In college I became bulimic, and in grad school was anorexic. I, too, felt I had “failed” at my ED because I wasn’t as thin as the other girls, and was still able to function (barely) within a very hectic schedule.
    I also used to be a professional actress and, even in the middle of what most would consider great success, felt like a failure. For many reasons. I also felt as if I was constantly letting everyone down.
    Eventually I left the profession, left L.A., and went back into therapy. When I feel like a failure, I have to remember that I do things every day that a lot of people either cannot or don’t. I am, happily married, raising my 2 Autistic children, who are thriving and happy. I have a job I enjoy (teaching acting!) and getting the bills paid. I have a happy, healthy family and don’t miss the crap I felt back when I was acting.
    So I COMPLETELY understand how you feel! And it is VITAL to do everything you wrote about, to remember how far you have come and how successful you are!
    Take care!!!!!!!!!

  14. You shouldn’t feel like a failure. I DO think that you’ve been super successful! It seems as though nothing ever works out the way I plan it, because I am so type A, but I have 3 kids…and that throws a wrench in everything! So I understand that feeling.

Leave a Reply

