Deconstructed Quesdilla and Foodbuzz Festival Jitters!

So I’m become suck a nervous wreck about the foodbuzz festival. I’m beginning to get scared its gonna be like high school or even the “healthy living summit” (which I did not attend, since I’m not a “healthy” anything blogger).

You see, I think I’m a bit odd in these massive gatherings.

In high school, I didn’t belong to a “group”. I was not:

-a cheerleader (not blonde and no coordination)

-a jock (again, no coordination and very very short)

-a drama geek (I did like acting, but the drama geeks didn’t like me very much cause I didn’t know all the songs from RENT or whatever)

-a prep (J crew made me gag a bit at the time)

-a goth (I was depressed enough having no mom and an eating disorder, i didn’t have to exaggerate it)

-a “popular”: I didn’t have a rolodex with everyone and their dog on it, and I was the last person to even maybe be considered as any sort of prom “queen”. Even prom jester was a far cry.

Who was I? I had few enemies, I was kind to everyone (mostly), I had my opinions of the cliques, but I never stuck with any of them. I was a “floater”. I was not rejected outright by anyone, cause I was nice enough, but I wasn’t the first person they called for party.

Truth is, my closest high school friends were kind of floaters too. The people I keep in touch with from high school actually left in 9th or 10th grade, so I really had very few close friends. My closest friend was my eating disorder, and what BIATCH she was!

Anyhow, I had a falling out with my eating disorder, but we still manage to keep in touch, even though I try to ignore her calls. She’s so clingy! But being free from her made me a better, funnier, and saner person. I have confidence now, I’m a pretty awesome person.

So…..if you are attending the foodbuzz festival and you are new to my blog, I want to come right out there and say it: I’m a weirdo in the best way possible a yoga instructor/chef/writer/blogger can be. I’m a purple sheep (cause its way prettier than black) but I suppose an interesting one. Lets all hope this doesnt end up being high school, because afraid I simply won’ belong.

What were you like in high school? Where did you belong” Are you going to food buzz (if you are, are you asΒ a overwhelmedΒ as I am!? So many people to meet so little time!)

Anyhow, for today’s recipe:

 

 

yep, it'r pretty now, just wait.....

 

 

Roast the pepper on the gas (its the quickest way possible! dont be intimidated!)

Then, it will look like this!

 

not pretty, but tasty, its supposed to be black, the blacker the better

 

Then cover that sucker up

 

give a it "coat" of tin foil to help "sweat" the skin off

 

And peel

 

I know, I have fugly fingers

 

chop it up

place the tortillas in a muffin tin, fill with cheese, peppers, and boca bits

Bake at 350 for about fifteen minuets or until cheese has melted

Let cool and share with someone you love, like a roommate

Its good to be a roommate of a chef, at least I think she thinks so!

28 thoughts on “Deconstructed Quesdilla and Foodbuzz Festival Jitters!

  1. I went to Healthy Living Summit without knowing anyone, and it wasn’t terrible. Terrifying, maybe, but not terrible. πŸ™‚ And the thing is, I will know people for the next time.

    In high school, I was totally the floating type, and I think I’m the same way now. Many different groups of friends…

    Looking forward to meeting you at FoodBuzz. I tend to be very shy in person on first meeting, so hopefully I’ll find you and say hi and vice versa. It is a little easier being in my own town.

  2. I’m going to the Foodbuzz festival! I was the same in highschool. I remember moving to Ireland and some girl telling me I had to choose a group. I told her “That’s not how I do things.” I had friends from every group but she had it in for me after that. I’m a little worried and at the same time I know that I love talking to strangers and will probably be happy walking, eating, wandering either way πŸ™‚

  3. I wish I were going to Foodbuzz but I didn’t win a sponsorship which without it I can not afford. I am going to fitbloggin (and will be a speaker) next spring and I am pretty excited about that. I am nervous but I am already good friends with so many of the people that I am sure it is going to be awesome, plus my husband is coming with.

    Have fun!!

  4. Again, I am jealous everyone gets to hang out with you at FoodBuzz and I find it weird you’re nervous. I know you’ll be yourself and everyone will love you. If they don’t, they’re weirdos and should just go back to taking pictures of their oatmeal. Plus, you already know a bunch of people who will be there. Fun times!

    I was an athlete/smart thing in high school, but very “middle” of the crowd. I didn’t really care what I wore or about popularity, but I had a lot of friends that I had been with since elementary school that were considered “cool.” Most of them were guys, as the girls were clingy and annoying. Me and you would have gotten along well πŸ˜‰

  5. Love the idea of the deconstructed quesadilla. Yummy. While I was a cheerleader then on the dance team and also part of the popular clique, I never felt I truly belonged. I was there, I went to the parties, I was accepted, but I still felt like an outsider in a way. I am very shy so it’s hard for me to just relax in large groups. One-on-one or in very small groups (like 4 people) I’m a different person.

  6. Your roommate is adorable by the way! I was a floater too. And I definitely still am. And don’t you worry, I am pretty awkward in large groups, because I am kinda scared of mingling (and am pretty awful at it!). But I am really excited about FoodBuzz and cannot wait to meet so many of the people (especially you). We will have a great time. HLS wasn’t awful at all. I actually had a lot of fun, but any activity that involves lots and lots of girls is going to be a little cliquish. That’s just expected.

  7. I’ve always been pretty shy, so in high school I didn’t have a lot of close friends either. But I grew up in a small town, where even the people you didn’t “know” you knew. You know what I mean? Haha! But I mostly hung out with the girls that I danced competitively with. We spent a lot of time together throughout the years and outside of school so we were like sisters! But I’ve always felt like a dork in school. I was just never in the “know” of what was cool and stuff πŸ™‚ But I also have a little rebellious streak that never wanted to follow what was trendy, so yeah, I was never too popular because of it! So glad your going to the festival! I feel like you will give a good honest opinion of the experience. No BS! πŸ™‚

    ❀ Tori

  8. I hope you have a great time at the Foodbuzz Festival. I am sure it will go wonderfully and you will meet lots of people. I really like the reference back to you eating disorder as your only real friend in highschool. This is a great story for those recovery from an ED because it shows just how powerful these things are.

  9. Where’s the foodbuzz festival? Is that the one in SF? If so, I live nearby!

    In HS, I ran Track, sang in the choir, was on student government, and also on the dance team so I sort of hung with everybody… I don’t know that I was popular though..

  10. Eh, I never fit in in highschool either. I was more mature than everyone so I was always annoyed with everyone! LOL. I thought the emo and goth people were stupid, I thought preppy clothes were too expensive and not worth it, plus I could never be that overly happy and peppy. Hated sports and acting too.. so yeah, I was just me! LOL

  11. Haha my roomie feels the same way

    I know what u mean about the fear of cliques in places other than in high school I often fear feeling left out and not belonging I wish I was going to the festival I would love to meet u!

  12. I desperately wanted to go to the festival but school and money (the lack there of) got in the way. :/ You’re going to have so much freaking fun, though!!

    I belonged to the “band geek” group in high school. Alright, not really because I definitely didn’t give a fart about actually practicing or anything like that..but I was in marching band all 4 years so I guess it kinda meant I was?

  13. i think a lot of people probably feel the same hesitant way about the fbf this year! but just think of that and find those people haha! it’s like one giant blind date πŸ™‚ i wish i could go! you could come drive to ny and pick me up if you’d like πŸ˜‰

  14. I wish I could go to FoodBuzz…it sounds like fun. Although I would probably be way too intimidated, even if it were possible for me to go. I considered the idea of attending the Healthy Living Summit in the summer, but I was also afraid it would be a huge clique fest. (There were other reasons that I didn’t go…but that was one of them). Anyway, I find it hard to believe that you are awkward. You come across as so witty and likeable, and the type of person that others love to be around.

  15. dont be worried! It will be my first time at the foodbuzz fest too and I promise to be friendly. πŸ™‚ I typically am a tad inappropriate so i expect that conversations will be awkward, because everyone in the world is awkward.

    So find my face, and i swear ill crack a joke πŸ™‚

  16. That sounds like exactly how I would describe my high school experience. I hated high school and could not wait to move away to college. If I were going to Foodbuzz I’d come say hi to you!

  17. I love your honesty. I would be scared to go to the Food Festival too. I’d wonder about cliques and people that already know each other etc…

    I think you’ll have a great time though! I can’t wait to hear what you think about it.

  18. What a fun recipe! I love that you roasted them right on your gas stove. Not sure I have the guts to do that. I nearly died of smoke inhalation just messing up toast (kidding about the nearly died part).

    In high school… I was kind of all over the place too. I did cheerleading for a year, tried lacrosse another year (turns out I’m not very coordinated either), so a lot of people and overall was well-liked but I wouldn’t label myself as popular. That makes us well rounded right?

  19. I wasn’t anything in high school, either. I was friends with different people from all walks of each group. I was nervous last year for the festival but I quickly learned it was just me being silly. I ended up having the best time. I am sure you will, too!

  20. I’ve never thought to roast a pepper directly on the gas stove! Genius!! I love roasted peppers, and I’m actually too intimidated by my gas broiler to do it lately… now I know how!

    I’d be intimidated of Foodbuzz Fest, too! I’m totally a scaredy cat when it comes to that kinda stuff! I don’t think I’ll be able to attend this year, since we already have a trip planned for November, but maybe next year! I can’t wait to hear how it goes! I’m sure you’ll have a blast!

  21. Aww! I’m jealous that you’re going to Foodbuzz! Were I not completely broke (and actually won one of the stupid contests I entered to try getting a stipend), I’d love to go. At least I’ll have a kick-ass wedding/party to attend instead. I hung out with a rather eclectic group in high school…None of us really fit in anywhere else, so we all hung out together! Funny thing that once I got to college, my best friend in the entire world turned out to be the most popular girl on campus!

  22. I have this theory… that most bloggers were high-school ‘floaters’ πŸ˜› I was the same way in high-school, except I had one really really close friend (who turned her back on me at which point I deemed my eating disorder my next closest friend .. arg!). Blogging is one of the only places I have EVER felt like I fit in… so I’m guessing that meeting some bloggers in person at a festival will NOT be like high school for you. Unless of course one of the goths, jocks or preps from your old school happen to be a blogger as well and show up. O_o

    Thanks for the support regarding my teeth. All I can say is OUCH: That’s flippin’ hurt! I’m okay though πŸ™‚

  23. You’re not alone – I felt extremely self-conscious tonight at the Street Food Fair because I was there by myself, a little bit embarrased about my mobility issues, really tired, and super shy and afraid to approach new people because I don’t know how they will react to me. I did a horrible job mingling with the crowd tonight, hopefully tomorrow with some sleep under my belt I’ll be better and in a state of mind where I can just enjoy the day.

    If you see me, please say hi (I’ll be the large auburn haired lady and probably going to be wearing blue jeans and a blouse.) I’ll say hi to you if I see you. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

