Tofu Pesto Soup and Euphemisms

Pesto in soup form, and garlic bread, in muffin form!

Hey everyone!

First off, thank you to all the kind commenters on my guest post. It was not easy to write and I was writing from the heart, so that being said, it was fairly blunt.

Speaking of blunt, I find most people are scared of it. Hence in comes the use of euphemisms. People use them to make something not sound as bad as it is. Essentially, its lying.

What  I hated was when in group therapy in treatment, someone would downplay their symptoms and say, “I engaged”. “Engaged”???? I feel if you flat-out say it, “I stuck my head in a toilet after lunch”you give it less power and your one step closer to getting rid of the behavior. Its very secretive to use these euphemism. Or another favorite, “I restricted”. I feel like one should be specific in order to ensure eradication. Like, “I skipped lunch and snack, and ate a grape for dinner”…or something like that.

But I thought I’d give you a list of some funny euphemisms to cheer up your saturday:

-“Making the beast with two backs”: I learned this from ninth grade english. Its from Shakespeare’s Hamlet, a scandalous way to imply sex.

-reversal of fortune (bulimics out there, dont kill me): Euphemism for vomiting, e.g. “Oh no, Jake is having a reversal of fortune after that great shrimp dinner!”

-“Oh Pop Off!”:Very common and even more awkward euphemism used when movies are edited for television. Like in “Bridget Jone’s Diary”. Sad, so sad.

-“Do yourself a disservice”: Term for accidentally eliminating in one’s pants. E.g. “If you don’t stop laughing so hard after drinking all that Coke, you’re going to do yourself a disservice!”

-“Percussive maintenance”: The fine art of whacking the crap out of an electronic device to get it to work again.

-“A broken type writer cause I missed a period”: Rizzo’s line in “Grease” when she thinks she’s pregnant.

-“Under the table cleaning service”: a pet, but mostly likely a dog

-“The Wild Thing”: 1980’s euphemism for, um, fornication

-“Butt Burp”: my way of saying, farting! hey, we all do it!

Got any favorite euphemism to share?

For the tofu pesto you will need:

-1 block/package of silken tofu

-handful of fresh basil (dont use dried, you will be very sorry if you do)

-2 tbs or so of parm

-a drizzle of olive oil (I didn’t measure, but about “gulg” full)

-sea salt and pepper to taste

-Some extra water to thin it out a bit (not too much, maybe a quarter cup or so)

all smushed in the magic bullet

super simple. blend all those ingredients up! then pour into a hot pot of deep pan and add whatever you would like to coat the pesto with. I used tiger shrimp which cooks quickly in the pesto, but if you are adding raw meat, be sure you cook it before you heat it up with the pesto. I served it with some garlic bread english muffins (recipe for that tomorrow!).

16 thoughts on “Tofu Pesto Soup and Euphemisms

  1. Hah! I liked “Percussive maintenance”. I do that all the time… unless it is any of my beloved apple technology. There will never be a day where I forcefully hit my iMac!

    Can you believe I’ve never even had REAL pesto?
    ❤ Tat

  2. That’s funny because the first time I heard the term “bun in the oven” for having a baby, was from Grease when they’re talking about Rizzo being pregnant. I ❤ that movie.

    And I do own an "under the table cleaning service"!! So much easier than having to do it yourself 🙂

  3. I don’t have any good euphemisms but I must say how much I loved the movie “Reversal of Fortune.” That one will always remain a mystery to me!

    Have a great Saturday…enjoy this bizarrely hot weather!

  4. Pingback: What’s Up Sunday – 10.10.10 | Say Yes to Salad

  5. Ew I know!! I hate when people talk about “restricting” and won’t way what they actually did. Maybe if you actually SAID what you did you would be more aware of how bad it is! I find that this happens a lot in work situations too – everyone talks using these stupid sayings to mask the fact that they are really mad, or happy, or whatever – it’s all so formal and stupid and it pisses me off. Can’t people just be real?

Leave a Reply

