Birthday Re-cap

A BIG ASS THANKS TO ALL THE BIRTHDAY WISHES!

Birthdays are truly not a huge deal to me, at least mine never is but I always try to make others’ special. I truly feel loved by so many of my readers that I did feel some special and maybe even proud today!

Be sure to visit my guest post over at “I’m an Okie”. AND if you are a visitor from I’m an Okie, I suggest you look at my older posts since I’ve taken a few days off from “serious” blogging. Believe me, I write some good stuff, but my birthday put my blog on the back burner.

Good thing I was occupied most of the day!

I got up to a good yoga class to work out a bit in the morning and then decided to get myself a facial. I had never gotten one before so I though why not today? I went to the swanky one at my gym where I got a 25% discount since it was my birthday!

I must say, it was pretty damn awesome. The woman threw in a free brow shaping and neck/shoulder massage! I wish I could get one done daily!

 

I felt weird taking pics inside, so this is the best evidence of the facial I could get

 

Then Mr. Eden (my dad) picked me up to go to lunch and a movie.

 

Its was a miso chicken wonton salad. Oddly enough, underwhelming, but not bad for a food court

 

We saw “The Social Network” which I admit I’ve been itching to see (I usually am not into over hyped films like this was). It was pretty good. I wont ruin it for anyone, but great acting from Jesse Eisenberg.

Then I decided to get my self an ice cream.

 

not gorgeous or fancy, I'm a purist. But I assure you, worth every lick

 

 

Cheapest cookies and ice cream ever, but I swear this places has lines around the block

 

Why?

See, I’m not a “cake” person. Never was. I do like ice cream though and cookies. So we went to a famous cookie/ice cream shop in la called “Diddy Riese. I promised my self to get a cone of real ice cream. no fro yo for me. I used to be a fro yo whore, but I honestly have not had it in forever and I think the real thing does the trick.

My good friend Abby sent me this lovely card

 

She knows about my weakness for dogs, I think we both rather break for animals over humans

 

And Astrid sent this:

 

Astrid always sends such creative gifts!

 

My dad let me pick whatever I wanted at the mall where we saw the movie and ate lunch, but I’m terrible at choosing anything and especially gifts to myself. So I ended up not getting anything. We’ll go again this weekend to see “Freakonomics” so maybe I’ll find somehting then. doubtful, but maybe my dad will actually get me a puppy (what I REALLY wanted for my birthday).

Anyhow, I’m pooped and i have to teach a bunch of wealth parents’ kiddies tomorrow. Be prepared for the usual “Eden’s Eats” programing with rants, recipes, and what ever other random thoughts I come up with.

Thanks again everyone! I big cyber hug to all of you!

And for the fun of it, share with me YOUR favorite birthday gift or memory. I truly loved my 21st (even though I was in treatment and couldnt drink). My surprised me by coming for a visit and playing charades with the clients and therapists! The site of Mr. Eden attempting to do the “pulp fiction” dance in front of a bunch of eating disordered girls is priceless!

24 thoughts on “Birthday Re-cap

  1. Happy birthday! 21 is a great one! I’ve never been to a Diddy Riese, but I’ve heard amazing things…and spent a lot of time looking at it on Yelp.com… ; )

  2. Sorry, but I lol’ed at the above comment. I also spent my birthday (20th though) in treatment. I remember trying to hide it from everyone since I was embarassed. Ahhh my bday is coming up again next month as well! I’m nervous! I hate getting older!

  3. Happy Belated Birthday!!! Its sounds like you had a great night… I am the same way, as I prefer low-key birthday celebrations πŸ˜›

    My best birthday gift is probably the one that I bought myself this year πŸ˜› It’s a graphic design tablet for my iMac and I love it. I am really into graphic design so I’ve wanted one for a long time… plus, actually buying something for myself felt kind of nice πŸ˜€ Other than that, I would rather just spend time with my family than get gifts… Presents are overrated if you ask me πŸ˜‰
    ❀ Tat

  4. Your b-day sounds like it was a fabulous one–relaxing in ways, yet also filled with some low-key fun and yummy treats. So glad you got to hang out with your dad on your special day, too!

  5. Astrid is the sweetest ever, no? Anyway, you already have my birthday blessing and it looks like you were able to truly enjoy the day. Yay!

    I think my 21st was probably my funnest birthday (for reasons not to be publicly aired) but I’ve had a few really special gifts over my 29 years. They’re never the “big” things people think of as important, but rather the super thoughtful ones that truly came from the heart. Damn that sounds corny, but whatever.

    Now I would take a movie, ice cream and a facial. Works for me!

  6. How fun. I am not a cake person either. There is only one cake that I have found that I like: Italian Cream and that was used for my wedding cakes. Other than that? I don’t get excited over cake. Glad you had a great day AND got a facial. I don’t like massages, but love a facial!

  7. Your dad sounds awesome! Compared with mine, he should get the #1 Dad award πŸ™‚

    Aw, I hope you get a puppy! They truly complete a life. Atleast mine does! Who needs a man Haha!

  8. Sounds like the perfect laid-back day… just the way I like them! πŸ™‚

    My favorite birthday was my 24th, because there was this whole underground collaborative effort by my family to get my book published for me. And, yes, I didn’t find that out until quite a while after my birthday, but it’s the thought that counts. πŸ˜‰

    ❀ ❀

  9. I really want to see that movie. Trying to convince my husband to go! Bridget Jones’s Diaries are my faves. I saw it at the movies with my friends from England and they were dying cracking up, LOL! I still remember that to this day, and it’s probably been 9 years!

  10. Happy bday! Saw your post over on Lisa’s blog and wanted to check out your blog. I too am not a cake person. I’m an ice cream lover all the way. Now cake chopped up and mixed with ice cream? Sign me up.

    I’m hoping to see The Social Network soon so I can join in on a lot of conversations. Now I just stick my fingers in my ears. And its getting old.

    Have a great day!

  11. Happy birthday! I’m an ass for not saying this sooner. I’ve been so busy at work and completely disconnected from blog land. I’m like you — not a cake person, never was. The one exception is ice cream cake. In general, I prefer ice cream and pie πŸ™‚
    Here’s to a great year!

  12. Glad you had a good birthday! Sounds like fun. I never make a big deal about my birthday either…I would be SO happy to spend a day with my dad and go see a movie. Sounds perfect to me. I usually do nothing different on my bday though.

  13. I choose ice cream over cake anyday! Now pie is whole new story. Can’t go wrong with pie a la mode!

    Happy belated and glad it was a good one. Cheers!
    LC

  14. I just read your guest post on I’m and Okie and I just had to come by and say hi. Your post was so beautiful and wise! I can’t wait to read more. πŸ™‚

    Meg

  15. Glad you had a good birthday! And I just wanted to tell you over here that I loved your guest post. I skimmed through some old posts and agree with Lisa – you have a great sense of humor but still share about useful things. Love it!

  16. Oh no, I’ve missed it! I didn’t have time to check out all the blogs I’m usually reading these days! A belated happy birthday, Eden!

  17. Glad you had such an amazing birthday!! πŸ˜€ I’m the same way with cake..I won’t eat it unless I made it myself, but then it’s only out of satisfaction for doing so. Ice cream cake, on the other hand, is freakin amazing. Awesome about the facial, too. Treating ourselves on our birthdays is important πŸ™‚

  18. i missed your BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!! i’m SUCH a bad friend!! wahh 😦 but HAPPYBIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

