Strawberry Shortcake, Random Happenings, and Flashback Friday

little 3 year old chefs

Busy busy thursday I had, so this will be kind of short and somewhat random.

I began with teaching 3-4 year olds and 5-6 year olds. We read the bestseller “Cook-a-doodle-do” and made strawberry short cakes. They had a blast, and I’m assured I will not have kids for at least ten years, of at all. It was at a private bilingual school. You can totally tell, check out the “classroom”:

looks like a kitchen from a house right? I wish I went to that pre school

One of my students is actually a child of a very famous hollywood actress. I won’t say who, I’m a little afraid of confidentiality, he looks a lot like his mom. It was really cute, he thinks his mom’s job is actually a chef. I said, “O my mom is a chef!”. I really hope he WAS talking about his mom and not a housekeeper/nanny/butler….

I also forgot to mention that yesterday, I had a blogger meet-up with Crystal. She’s very awesome, and totally NOT psycho (some bloggers can be psycho, trust me on this). She’s an English major at UCLA, so her blog is probably better written and with less grammar mistakes than mine.

And since I’ve never done it before, I thought this would be a good time to start! Flashback friday!

My dad and I in his hometown of Antwerp, Belgium. I've been there so many times, its like my second home. Anywhere where waffles taste that good will be my second home!

no, economy class never had seats that big. This is late eighties business class (we were not rich, but we traveled a lot, miles add up). And we were not playing doctor, those were headphones....eighties

you wonder where I got my big appetite from

For the strawberry shortcake recipe you need:

-1 cup heavy cream

-1/2 tsp vanilla extract

-some lady fingers

-strawberries and other fruits of choice

Its super simple, since its meant to be assembled by kids.

Dice the strawberries, whip the cream and vanilla extract, and then layer with the lady fingers. I’m well aware there is no sugar added to the whipped cream and that’s on purpose. Do YOU want to hang around 10 plus sugar high 3-6 year olds???? Didn’t think so.

10 thoughts on “Strawberry Shortcake, Random Happenings, and Flashback Friday

  1. Maybe it is because I grew up in the middle of nowhere, but it is so weird to me that people on tv/in movies are just normal people with little kids learning how to cook desserts and sitting in Peet’s Coffee. And I am very happy to hear that I am not a psycho blogger, haha. I’m glad we met! And I am also happy to hear you survived the 3-4yr olds. They can be dangerous.

  2. haha i love how you said Crystal isnt a psycho. of course, not like she would be. what a wonderful person to meet tho!! if i could meet both of you id be quite HAPPY ❀ definitely not a psycho either..just a little squirrelly πŸ˜‰ lol

    i wish i had a better relationship with my dad but its never happened, not even for my brothers. he isnt a very close person, quite guarded. i think having a strong father-daughter relationship is so important, they can give us valuable insight into healthy male female roles and bonds πŸ™‚

    xoxo

  3. phew! all caught up πŸ™‚ p.s. i totally think it’s normal to drink through a straw except the one thing i can’t or try not to drink through a straw is seltzer i think because the straw effect makes the bubbles even worse! talk about a burp day haha

    i loveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee strawberry shortcake! except i hate icing so i’d much rather just eat the insides of the cake. someone else can have my icing πŸ™‚

  4. love your flashback πŸ™‚ i love when other bloggers join in on the fun, so thanks!! that last photo was my favorite. so candid. did you happen to see that you won my giveaway? well, you did!! i need your address πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

