Coconut Milk Ice Cream and Incentive

yea, I know that bowl is a bit dirty, I had a shit ton of cinnamon on it

I was listening to NPR on the way home today (what I call, my “healthy guilty” pleasure) and there was an interview with Morgan Spurlock (yep, the guy who did “Super Size Me” and the TV show, “30 days”. I’m actually a big fan of his and I was excited for the interview but also for the release of his newest film, “Freakonomics” (yup, based on the national bestseller).

If you live in LA, there is a screening tonight (Wednesday) at the Landmark in West L.A and you only have to pay what you think is fair, love it.

Heres the trailer for the movie:

Anyhow, incase you aren’t familiar with the book or the film, its basically all about examining human behavior through statistics and incentives. Forget “morals and ethics”. I find this rather fascinating.

I was wondering how having incentives might work for recovery. Renee Zellweger (my “gym buddy”) was offered millions to gain weight for Bridget Jones’ Diary. Would you put on 20 plus pounds if you were offered that much money (even if you are currently at a healthy weight).

In the movie, they told kids of an inner city school that they would receive 50 bucks for every grade they got above a C. The producers upped the ante and told them if they pass all their classes, their “report card” enters a drawing where they can win 500 bucks. I’m sure your guess is correct, grades skyrocketed.

So lets put ethics and morals aside. Honestly, I think I’d find a way to put the weight on if I was offered that much money. I’m not superficial, I don’t have lots of extravaganct needs, and I definely dont think money buys you happiness. However, there are lots of things I would love to do with that money. Invest in my “yoga studio/cafe” idea, get a better apartment, donate to my favorite charity, free all the puppies from the poppy mills, etc. My point is, I do think incentive can drive us to do things we think are impossible for us to accomplish. Whether it be weight gain or getting an A. With incentives, I believe we might accomplish the impossible.

However, in my current situation, I realized I dont really have concrete incentives. The changes and goals that I’m working dont have a big incentive driving them. I realized today how desperately I’m seeking that incentive. I actually thought for a period of time that my incentive was to have kids someday, but to be honest with you, after teaching for almost a year, that incentive is down the drain.

What are your incentives for you goals? Would you put on weight if you got paid that much?

I am sorry for a kind of sappy post, I had a pretty awful day and this was the only thing my hands and mind regurgitated. Anyhow, I leave you with a simple recipe for coconut milk ice cream

Ingredients:

-1 1/2 cups coconut milk (or any milk)

-1/2 cup greek yogurt of choice (I use vanilla flavored, but even cottage cheese works!)

-2 tbs chocolate flavored protein powder (or any flavor you like)

-handful of frozen berries of choice (I used rasperberries)

-extra sweetener (I didn’t use any extra but you can if you like it extra sweet)

Blend all the ingredients

Non-ice cream maker method: pour mixture into an ice cube tray and until it freezes or at least firms up a bit. Then give it a light whix in the blender again and voila!

Ice-cream maker method: flip the switch and let it do its thing for about 30 minuets. I find that I need to scrape down the sides during the process so do that to get it a good consistency.

much handier than the can version

19 thoughts on “Coconut Milk Ice Cream and Incentive

  1. I don’t know how I feel about “incentives” in things like grades/working out. Not that I wouldn’t be offended if someone paid me to get good grades.. 🙂

  2. I need incentive, too. Right now I have no incentive to wrap up my research and keep going in grad school. But I know that I wil keep getting better at cooking, baking, crafty things, etc, so I keep doing that. And I keep doing yoga and exercising because it just ffeels good. Shouldn’t that be enough incentive? I don’t know if I would gain the weight for a movie role, because if I am at a healthy weight (I am), how would I maintain those extra pounds without being unhealthy? Just a thought!
    I am sorry that you had a crappy day! Thankfully tomorrow is almost here, so you can have a better day!

  3. I’m glad you mentioned this movie because I heard about it a while ago, but then forgot to add it to my Netflix saved queue (I hardly ever get to the theater, sadly). Anyway, the idea of incentive is very interesting. When I was really sick, my parents threw all kinds of “bribes” my way if I gained weight and none of them worked. Even people saying, “You’re going to die; your incentive to get better is…LIVING,” it didn’t affect me at all. At this point, I would have no trouble gaining weight for millions of dollars. But, at my sickest, I really don’t think I would have been able to do it. And I think it would have thoroughly depressed me to realize the disease was THAT strong. Scary stuff.

    • Yep! oddly enough when I was really sick too, living was not an incentive. The disease is scary in how strong it can be. Its the most lethal mental disorder. Incentives sometimes completely take a back seat.

  4. What I did when I needed to put on weight and couldn’t find the “incentive” to…was to make a list of what I CAN do if I gained some weight. I had categories: “Activities”, “Academic”, “Sports”, “Social Life”, “Fashion”.

    I mean, I LOVE those boots and leggings. But I can’t wear them because they would only look ridiculous on my stick legs. Stuff like that.

  5. life is about incentives and rewards. sure it would be lovely to think that we all do things for altruistic reasons, but we dont. We do things based on results. Which many times results = rewards, or a good incentive. If there isn’t a good enough incentive, many times ppl wont perform, choose a certain thing, do a certain behavior, etc. It’s kinda like psych 101. Humans are wired to do things that produce good outcomes or to do things that will get them what they want. I could blabber on and on…

    west hollywood, pay what you think it’s worth? love that!

  6. Ew at awful days. I’m sure the gloom didn’t help!

    I feel like incentives can be good for certain situations and in others they have no effect. In another comment Kim mentioned that at her sickest, even living wasn’t an incentive. I didn’t find an incentive in living because I honestly thought that I wouldn’t and couldn’t die from it. I felt invincible. Eventually I had to find my own incentive in that it was just taking over my life and I couldn’t deal with that anymore. Anyways, my incentive to work towards goals regarding my health is just that I want to enjoy life instead of stressing worrying about things all the time.

    And I would totally gain that much weight for an insane amount of money! In a healthy way, of course. I would still be within a healthy weight range for my height. Then I would just use some of the money for a personal trainer and nutritionist after. It’s a fool-proof plan.

  7. Loe Morgan as well! can’t wait to see that movie. Yes, I would put all ethics aside and gain 20lb for that money. I don’t know how far I’d go with the number of pounds though. Nothing that would do too much damage I guess. But if someone asked me to lose that much weight, I don’t think I would do it. To much danger there emotionally and physically. Hope you have a better day today!

  8. I hate to admit it, but I would most certainly be more motivated to gain weight for an insane amount of money. It’s not that I want material “things,” but rather that I would want the freedom to explore the things I truly enjoy instead of working for a paycheck, dealing with financial instability, etc.

    But with that said, I think that in order for me to really accomplish anything I have to be intrinsically motivated. There are a million reasons for me to gain weight and as others have said above, it’s not like I’m not aware of the “incentives” attached to it. There is no incentive for staying sick, other than to feed into the “sick” mentality that might bring some sense of security. I think my incentive might be a bit skewed at times though, which makes it hard to find that intrinsic motivation when you hit a rough patch.

  9. This is a huge, huge struggle for me… I’m always looking for “motivation” and “incentive,” and I never seem to be able to find it! Yes, I’m sure being offered millions to gain weight would help — initially. But money is the sort of thing that can be fleeting, so would the motivation really last? I don’t know…

    ❤ ❤

  10. First off – love that you include a non-ice cream maker version. I do not have any room for another appliance that would be used once in a blue moon. But it’d be nice to make my own ice cream sometimes (I see so many tasty, healthier recipes floating around). Anyhoo, as for incentives, I really don’t think I would gain weight for money. First off, I work too damn hard for what I’ve got now. I cannot fathom gaining 20 lbs then having to work triple time to get back to where I started – though, that’s kind of her job so she does have all day to do that sort of thing (I do not). I guess my only incentive for working out is seeing results. Probably not a great incentive like a competition or anything….

  11. I think I’d have little trouble gaining weight, if a million dollars was offered up! I mean, money isn’t everything, and I wouldn’t say, give up my little brother in exchange for that same amount, but putting on weight? Um, once I had the million, I could easily just hire a personal trainer, and the it would be off again in no time 🙂

    ❤ Tori

  12. I completely agree with Abby about intrinsic motivation–so well put, Abby!
    If I am not truly passionate about something, it’s very difficult to be motivated to accomplish a goal. There are certain things I have just felt incredibly strongly about in my life, such as studying in England for a semester in college years ago (I had known I’d wanted to go to England for years), continuing to travel for the rest of my life, writing poetry, and moving to Boston when I was in my early 20s, where I lived for 7 years. I didn’t over-think these choices/goals–I just went with them. I guess for me, if I’m over-analyzing and over-thinking a goal to death, it’s not meant to be.
    I would definitely gain 20 pounds for money. I guess I’m a money slut that way. HA! Seriously, though, I would use the money to help shelter dogs, I would travel, buy gifts for my wonderful parents (to repay them for all they’ve done for me over the years), get my husband an iPad (or three), and make sure our fridge was well-stocked with the best organic goods on a weekly basis. 🙂 Oh, and I’d start a kick-ass wine cellar. I wouldn’t really worry too much about losing the weight, as I know I could do it in a healthy manner with support from my nutritionist.

  13. I think the problem with external incentives is that they activate your motivation only temporarily. When the incentive falls away, you’ll likely go on as before. I believe it’s better to have some internal incentives, like health goals. Much more sustainable!

  14. Sorry to hear you had a rough day! I’m sure this gloomy weather isn’t helping… I was really looking forward to seeing the sun today! 😦

    I love Morgan Spurlock, too. I’ll have to see if I can Netflix that movie!

    Personally, I would totally take that kind of money to gain weight! I don’t believe that money makes you happy, but there are many things I could do with that money that would make me happy! I’m usually not very good with incentives, though, because my motivation tends to dwindle after a week or so…

  15. Truthfully? I would totally gain weight for money, especially knowing that with the money I could take time off and focus on whipping myself back into shape. When I start to think of all the cool things I could do with the money and all the good I could do, it seems ridiculous to put all of it aside of looks, especially with the knowledge that I could turn around and shed the weight again.

  16. It’s human nature to seek the greatest award for the least amount of effort. I admire those who don’t. Work itself is an incentive. Without discipline, we ruin ourselves. But our instant gratification society doesn’t see that.

Leave a Reply

