PB and J Bars, Useless Superpowers, and a Giveaway!

I think that bear is adorable, animals always make better mascot, I'm sick of the morton salt girl....

Hey bloggers and lurkers!

Speaking of lurkers….I’m interested in hearing from you! Bloggers are infamous for commenting because they have their own blog to promote (not that it’s a bad thing, but I think it intimidates “readers”). I sometimes wish I had superpowers and could see exactly who all these readers are.

Speaking of superpowers, I sometimes think about all the ones I wish I possessed. I wish I could control time. I know it’s not a super creative one, but you have to admit it would be pretty great. If I could have the ability to stop time, like Zack Morris on Saved by the Bell whenever he had a concept to ponder or a cheesy anecdote to give, I could get everything I need to do done in one day. I could sleep for a couple of hours, then resume time as if nothing had every happened. I could even go back in time and re-do one night if need be.

But I was thinking there are probably a bunch of useless superpowers. I was inspired by a family guy episode where the Griffin Family all get superpowers and Meg gets the super-useless power of the ability to grow nails fast. I thought up of a few of my own:

Superpower #1: Leftsided Levitation: Only half of you can levitate. Which means the other half acts as an anchor. As an added un-bonus, cabs are constantly stopping for you whenever you engage your powers on the street.

Superpower #2: The ability to turn traffic lights yellow: And ONLY yellow. The “yellow” light is such a debate, this will simply cause a major cluster fuck.

Superpower #3: Thumbo! The ability to turn all your fingers into thumbs. Try texting with THAT!

Superpower #4: Incredible Sulk: no matter what good or positivity comes your way, you’ll manage to sulk. Cheer up already!

Superpower #5: Amnesia Man: The ability to…o that’s right, you can’t remember

Superpower #6: Hour Power: The ability to travel in the future by an hour, and it only takes sixty minuets!

Superpower #7: Vegetarian Delight: A vegetarian with the power to hear vegetables scream with every sweet sweet bite.

Superpower #8: VCR programming: The ability to program a VCR! Sounds great, but when’s the last time you saw a VCR?

Superpower #9: Bunny Minds: The ability to control the minds, of bunnies.

Superpower #10: Jam Wham: The power to open Jam Jars with my mind… cant do peanut butter or cheese spread.. only Jam..

And speaking of Jam and superpowers…….

It’s time for another giveaway! I was so mean with my teasing you last week, but the time has come. But incase you didn’t get the hints, it’s for Crofters! Crofters makes certified organic jams, jellies, conserves, preserves, fruit spreads and superfruit spreads. I used the Blackberry and Blueberry ones for my thumbprint cookies, and today with my kiddie dessert class, I used the strawberry. But I think their best is their superfruit spread which has a combo of antioxidant rich fruits like pomegranates and currants! This isn’t like that very high fructose corn syrup jams that you usually find! Their ingredient list is short and my student could actually read and pronounce all of them! I will use the jars I got to sample in other recipes this week. The winner of the giveaway will recieve 4 jars of their choice! To Enter:

1) Leave a comment telling me your useless superpower

2) Mention this giveaway on you blog OR if you dont have a blog, leave a seperate comment telling me which jams or spread you would like to try

3)For a whopping two additional entries, make one of my recipes (or a close version of it) and either post it up on your blog or send me an email with a picture of what you made!

This giveaway ends next Monday! More giveaways coming after as well, just in time for  my birthday!

Good Luck! And if you want to win something else, you can ward off vampires in Janetha’s giveaway

Now onto my kiddie dessert class! We made PB and J cereal bars, and here is the recipe:

3 tbs Butter/margerine

6 cups of cereal of choice (I didn’t do rice krispies cause they were probably used to that, so I chose my childhood favorite, cheerios!)

1/2 cup or so of peanut butter (I used chunky and I didn’t really measure, but you get the idea)

1/2 jar of jam of choice (I used the Crofters organic strawberry!)

about 5 cups of mini marshmallows

Melt butter in a big pot until its comletely “liquified”. Add marshmallows and stir until they have completely combined with the butter and lost their shapes.

Dumping the "mallows"

I had the kids take some of the pictures, they felt "grown up", I just wanted them to not break the camera

Stir in the peanut butter and jelly until well mixed. Then, pour in the cereal (any cereal you choose) and keep stirring until the cereal is coated in the mixture.

It looks so....happy

Then remove it from the heat and pour into a shallow pan. Or in my case, give a chunk to each kid so he/she can shape his “treat” however he/she like. Enjoy!

They look a little sad, but keep in mind, a seven year old molded it

39 thoughts on “PB and J Bars, Useless Superpowers, and a Giveaway!

  1. Useless superpowers.. that’s a tough one because none of them are useless! LOL. Umm the power to imprint pictures or notes in my mind would be pretty cool for tests!

  2. Hi! I am a lurker hahaha. Umm…I guess a pretty useless superpower would be to forget all you past mistakes, because then you would have to make those mistakes all over again!

  3. The ability to be up in the middle of the night only when everyone you know is sleeping (oh wait I have that one) but not be able to keep your eyes open when you are out with friends (got that one too 🙂

  4. I feel like I should think about this for a really long time to come up with something clever, but if I do, I’ll forget. So here is the first thing that popped in my head- having the ability to speak any language, but being unable to understand it.

  5. I don’t want to enter your contest as I don’t use jam, but I had to include my useless superpower. I’ve discovered that at work I can walk into any bathroom and the toilet paper roll will be empty, just as the paper towel roll will have one sheet left on it in the kitchen. It’s amazing, but apparently I’m the only one who can refill these things, but everyone can use them.

  6. Great post, Eden! So, to enter your giveaway contest:
    My superpower would be fairly useless, but personally quite enjoyable–the British Accent on Command Superpower!! Then I could enjoy tea and scones accompanied by a true Brit accent, complete with the current lingo, curse words, and slang terms. 😉 Silly, but kinda fun.
    Also, I’d love to try the blackberry spread. MMMMM!!!
    AND, I am going to attempt to make one of your recipes, hopefully by the week’s end. Is that too late for the contest??

  7. “Bloggers are infamous for commenting because they have their own blog to promote”

    hahaha thats why i changed up my blogroll b/c i could tell when peopel cared and when they didnt haha its hilarious i lol-ed…
    superpower #2…lol could you imagine the speeding…if all he lights were yellow i would be hauling ass everywhere!

    my mom use to make cheerio ric krispies but did chocolate instead of PB!

  8. bahh i love crofters! but don’t enter me haha (i hate when people comment and say don’t enter me) but i just wanted to say hi! i have so many things in my pantry AND i still have a jar of crofters from over a year ago left over haha

    got your email! don’t worry about the wraps girl 🙂

    i think these are the perfect treats to bring to a halloween party!

  9. Hmmm, my useless superpower would be to be a male for a day. I’ve always wanted to know what it’s like to be a boy! Strange, I know…

  10. Useless superpower: to be able to turn a person into the animal that they most resemble. Although this isn’t necessarily useless. If the person is really annoying, you can turn them into a donkey to shut them up.

  11. And I would love to try the crofter’s superfruit north america. The flavors sound good to me, and I’ve tried some of the other superfruit flavors and really loved them.

    I love your idea for PB and J “rice krispies” made with cheerios…a very interesting twist on a classic. I loved rice krispie squares when I was little. They were one of the only things I ever made myself, because they were fast and easy (although mine never turned out very good!)

  12. dude! DUDE. you have hit the nail on the head with the time stopping super power. i say that ALL the time. almost daily, in fact! did you ever watch the sitcom “Out of This World”, where the girl Evie was half alien? Anyway, she could freeze time. I always say “I wish I was Evie.” No joke. It would be the best superpower ever.

    Those PBJ treats look fun and delicious! I have yet to try Crofter’s but their Superfruit spreads look awesome.

    Thanks for the shout out xo

  13. I can click with the joints of my big toes, over and over again.

    Eden, I believe you are able to make people smile.

    Plum jam with cinnamom is great.

  14. I want your travel power, then I can go to Hawaii during my lunch time and be back in a snap 🙂 Wouldn’t that be fun?

    For my real useless super power, I have very talented toes and I can pick up anything with my toes and can probably eat with a spoon using my toes. Sounds gross doesn’t it? People commented I looked like a monkey doing it 😦

  15. My useless superpower- superfast blinking: it doesn’t really do much, but people will never know if you are telling the truth or not. Also- the strobe lights in night clubs won’t seem as strange as you’ll be used to the constant annoying flicker.

    I love the superfruits spreads, but haven’t tried any of the more familair varieties.

  16. Sometimes I feel like the Incredible Sulk. I even have the costume down with grey socks, grey lounge pants, and an oversized grey sweatshirt. Damn, my secret is out.

    But really, my useless superpower of choice: the movie visualizer. When I close my eyes, I would be able to see whatever movie I want to see. Unfortunately, there is no sound and no caption options.

  17. Useless superpower #(who knows!): Moisten. It’s like a super sweat for your whole body. I’m sure this comes in handy especially when at job interviews or on first dates!

  18. I think that my useless super power is that my skin is basically translucent, so nurses can easily take my blood and all of the nurses that draw my blood love me because I have huge vains!! 🙂

  19. what a sweet way of using crofters in a recipe! these look like so much fun to make! fabulous twist on a rice crispy treat too!
    useless powers- oh gosh so many… umm snapping my toes, standing and folding into a back bend and standing back up with no hands, hyper flexing the arch in my foot… and probably much more that i cant think of.

    xoxo

  20. Pingback: Coconut Shrimp and Film Picks (for Theaters and Netflix) | Eden's Eats

  21. My useless superpower is Smell Hound. I can smell bad things from a mile away, and for some reason, it *usually* has to do with my kids, LOL! I will mention your giveaway on tonights blog post, too.

    Kudos to you for cooking with the young ‘uns. I’ve tried cooking with Sophia, and that is certainly a trying time, LOL, although she does like to do it!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

