Random Veggie Soup and Some of My Food Definitions

cure for the common novocaine induced mouth

Hey Everyone!

Thank you from he bottom of my slightly murmuring heart for all you’r get well wishes! I’m so glad I took the plunge and just got that sucker out. I’m still sore, but I was worse off with the tooth in.

And….I managed to have some raw veggies today. Mind you, my whole left side is completely fine, so a lot of the munching was going on there. But still, I was very appreciative of my slightly crunchy lunch (although its not like I’m chomping on apples and rock hard bread).

Anyhow, I wanted a lighthearted post today since my sore mouth has made me….well….bitter. So to cheer myself (and hopefully, you) up, I thought I’d introduce to you some new food terms:

Rooty Tooty Fresh and Fruity: IHOP’s two eggs, two pieces of bacon, two sausage links, and two buttermilk pancakes topped with fruit and whipped cream. Sounds delicious, but is way too embarrassing to order.

Lunchables: Bad food that lazy parents send their kids to school with

Activia: Yogurt for women in khakis (see also, middle age)

Chocolate Chip Pancakes on a Stick: Yep, pancake batter covering a sausage link.Β I honestly did not think it was real, but it is. Brought to you by the lovely people at Jimmy Dean. See also “white trash”.

I like chocolate, I like pancakes, I like SOME sausages, and I have nothing against stick, but this aint gonna work for me

McLak Salmon Burger: Actually sold by McDonalds in more northern-oriented countries like Norway, and a guess a great way to get those omegas!

Extra Fancy Ketchup: When you want to give fries, burgers, or hashbrowns the fancy glove treatment.

Marzipan A sickeningly sweet almond paste and often shaped into barely edible creatures or fruit.

Uncrustables: Because traditional peanut butter and jelly sandwiches are just too hard to make, Smuckers now offers a frozen one. I think I was the only kid who prefered the crust.

Foods of Disbelief: In other words, I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter and I Can’t Believe It’s Yogurt

Do have food items with you analysis you would like to add? feel free

I thought I’d share with you my soup i had for dinner last night, post wisdom removal, of course. Here’s what got blended:

-four or five large cauliflower florets (steamed)

-2-3 broccoli florets (steamed)

-about 1/4 cup greek yogurt

-1 tbs raw almond butter (yes, trust me!)

-1 cup chicken or veggie broth

-2 tbs avocado (or a 1/4 of a medium one)

-garlic powder

-salt and pepper to taste

Blend everything in your blender of choice and add water according to your consistency of choice. I wasn’t going for Β too smooth so I left it on the thicker side. I added spaghetti squash “noodles” for the fun of it. Goes brilliantly with a crusty sandwich or croutons (which i sadly had to avoid due to soreness). Anyhow, the night concluded with lots of ice cream which was perfect because it was not only yummy, it numbed out my mouth a bit. Thankfully, there is a return to more solid food today, yay!

Stay tuned! I have a few giveaway in the works….trust me, I would want to win them too!

14 thoughts on “Random Veggie Soup and Some of My Food Definitions

  1. LOL my parents used to pack me lunchables occasionally! I never really liked them, but when you’re little and hungry, you eat what you get haha.
    I hope your mouth is feeling better!
    did the anesthesia make you feel sick afterwards? I was rather nauseous. 😦
    have a great night! πŸ˜€

  2. Hehe… these are funny πŸ˜› My mom never bought me Lunchables. I remember watching kids make their own raw disgusting looking pizzas and being so thankful for the sandwich that my mom made me every day. Ha!

    Also.. Marzipan happens to be one of my favourite treats πŸ™‚ Every kind I have ever had isn’t remotely ‘sickening sweet’ at all… although I have a hefty sweet tooth so you never know !

    ❀ Tat

  3. I actually learned a really big word from a lunchables box when I was little! I loved my lunchables. They were fun, but I must admit that I would not give them to my future kids for their lunches. Or the pancake covered sausages on a stick either. Then again, my parents have given me almost every food on that list when I was younger and I turned out fine (mostly)! I can’t wait for your giveaway.

  4. Hi Eden,
    That looks “interesting” πŸ™‚
    The ingredients look all neat, but I can’t imagine blending it all into a soup…I guess its the same as eating it individually though..do what you gotta do, I guess!
    Wanted to say thanks for the comment on my blog – good to get constructive feedback…I just want to clarify though that I don’t spend a lot of time blogging,,,I’ve actually reduced quite a bit (improvement for me, it all takes baby steps πŸ™‚ ), but yeah, i post a lot more infrequently. And, I wish it were easier to get a better, stable job. What I have now literally pays pennies. But I put a lot of effort and time into search (its just not as easy as some people think it is). Thanks anyway.

  5. Glad to hear you’re feeling a bit better now that the tooth is out! And that soup sounds really good. I can’t eat dairy, but other than the addition of yogurt, this really sounds like something I would make.

    Uncrustables- I’m with you. The crust is the best part. I know a lot of kids wouldn’t agree with me. But seriously, how hard is it to make a PB and J? Is it really necessary to package it?
    Speaking of which- what’s with those frozen bagel/cream cheese things? I don’t get the appeal.

  6. Love these! I love the foods of disbelief – I can just imagine the stunned face of butter!

    Glad your mouth is better – I went out dancing the night I had my 4 wisdom teeth pulled!! I looked like a swollen chipmunk but I felt good!

    Oh and wanted to thank you again for the giveaway- I received my stevia package and I LOVE the vanilla liquid!! Plus I got the baking blend and didn’t even realize I’d be getting it – I was so excited- it was like Christmas!! So thank you again!!!

    Missy

  7. I think that one of my friends actually ordered that at IHOP when we were little once. I was embarrassed, which goes with out saying……

    These are pretty good definitions πŸ™‚

  8. Oh, marzipan is very common to me actually! In fact, my hometown is famous for its marzipan (Niederegger marzipan, to be precise), and what’s so special about that marzipan is that it’s 100 % raw marzipan paste without any added sugar, just some special (and secret) spices.

    I’d like to add Labskaus to your funny food list. That’s a traditional mariner’s dish from northern Germany (where I come from). It consists of corned beef, boiled potatoes, and pickled beetroot. All ingredients are blended to a glop that’s still a bit lumpy, and it’s served with a fried egg (sunny side up) upon it and some more pickled beetroot, as well as gherkins. Looks, tastes, and simply is just weird.

  9. When I didn’t know any better I used to by lunchables for my kids. UGH! I cringe now! πŸ˜‰
    Learning how to eat healthy was a huge process, and it’s neverending! My kids used to just eat hot dogs and french fries, now they eat (mostly) a variety of food including fruits and veggies.

    Glad you’re feeling better and that the whole tooth issue is taken care of! πŸ™‚ I bet you’re relieved to have that over with!

Leave a Reply

