“Oy’s” of the Week, Tortilla French Toast, and Giveaway!

its like a f;at french toast! Or french toast that got run over by a bus.

I realized after a day of marinating that my post about abs may have offended some people I know and respect that DO have chisled abs. I meant no offense and was merely trying to make the rest of us feel more comfortable with our hidden abs. As I mentioned, everybody is different.

Moving on….

I noticed Andy Cohen (my wannabe Gay BFF) has these “jackholes” and “mazels” of the week. I thoguht I would try something similar. They are called “Oy’s” of the week. For those non-Jews or those unfamilar with yiddish terms, it means: “an exclamation of dismay or exasperation meaning ‘oh woe’ ” (thanks, wikipedia!). So here are my “Oy’s” for this week:

-Michaele Salahi: where do I begin? This white house crashing, D.C. housewives is making me wonder if I should ever bring children into this world. All I see is middle aged heidi & spencer. Just give these two a couple of years and she’ll have even more plastic surgery and he’ll morph into a crystal carrying yeti. And I dont care what she says, she has issues with food. Anorexia? I can’t diagnose, but lady, get an ensure or something! Just come out with it! I came out with it on the exact same network your show is on! Bravo tends to like bony girls (cough, rachel zoe).

-Beiber Memoir: I have yet to understand this whole “Beiber Fever”  but whats more baffling is that this kid is set to chronicle his life in a memoir. Harper Collins will publish Justin Bieber: First Step 2 Forever: My Story. Catchy title, but I don’t know how much of a memoir you can write at the age of 16. I think they summed it up nicely on Chelsea Lately that you need to have pubic hair before you can write a memoir. Oy….

-Gisele Bundchen sat down with Bazaar to discuss her pregnancy and the birth of her son. Gisele is a big advocate of breastfeeding, and believes there should be a law that “mothers should breastfeed their babies for six months.” She also said that breastfeeding really helped her keep her figure, so it sounds to me like she just doesn’t want new mothers to stay fat. She also claims that meditating “mentally and physically” prepared her for birth, adding, it ‘didn’t hurt in the slightest’ and that she “wasn’t expecting someone else to get the baby out of me.” I disagree with you Gisele! Someone else put it in there, let them get it out. Not enough oy for you!?  Gisele claims that her baby, who isn’t even 7 months old, is potty-trained. Its a baby, not a puppy!

Alright and now for the stuff you’ve probably been waiting for…..Giveaway! La Tortilla factory will send you a VIP coupon for their products. They have every kind of tortilla under the sun! Gluten Free, corn, flour, low carb, low fat, and in so many flavors! They also carry a Sonoma line which I’ve spotted at Trader Joe’s. And if your market doesnt sell them, you can always order online here. Believe me, I’m not one to push products, but these are pretty darn tasty and they happen to be good for you.

So in honor of this giveaway, I made french toast tortilla strips!

in a bowl I mixed:

-1 egg (or 1/4 cup egg sub or 2 egg whites)

-cinnamon

-splash of almond milk

letting them "marinate"

I drenched the strips that I cut out of the tortilla in the mixture, let it “marinate” for about a minute and then cooked it in the pan. I served it with a cinnamon spiced omelet (its just eggs with some cinnamon and baking powder so it will puff up!) and berries!

I’ll probably do a lot of tortilla recipes this week cause they sent me a bunch.

To enter you can: leave me a comment telling me what your oy for the week (or month) OR what kind of tortilla you’d get from the La Tortilla line. You could do both and that would count as two entries. Ends next Monday, August 16th! Good luck!

48 thoughts on ““Oy’s” of the Week, Tortilla French Toast, and Giveaway!

  1. I would probably just get the corn tortillas. I like making my own flour tortillas, so I probably won’t get those. I do the french toast tortilla thing, too! But wth the whole tortilla. I love it so much!

  2. I want to try the tomato basil soft wrap. I like tortillas that are really soft so they don’t break when you fold them. Thanks for the giveaway!

  3. Ha- can’t believe the Justin Bieber memoir thing. And I still don’t understand that fanaticism over him. I really don’t get it at all. Chelsea Handler always cracks me up though. My oy for the week: Did you hear about the girl who pretended to have cancer and shaved her head and eyebrows to solicit money from people, but it was a huge scam? I think it was on the today show…someone told me about it. Anyway, that was a huge oy.

    I read your abs post and I found the info very interesting. I never heard about the breathing and constipation issues! I personally have never tried to achieve the chiseled look, although I do respect people who want them and have them, and more power to them for working for what they want. Excessive muscle just looks overwhelming and freaky on me because I have a petite body size (aka I’m really short). And I don’t think anyone should ever feel pressured to have a 6 pack, because like you said, its not attainable or even healthy for everyone.

  4. I would definitely get the Smart and Delicious whole wheat- They look perfect for my go-to wraps that I make like 3 times a week!

    Thanks for you comments on my blog- it meant a lot to me and I’m going to get back to you soon.

  5. Definitely the high fiber/protein ones! I recently got them for my family and they saved me from chewing my arm off in the parking lot due to not packing food. I ate it with a jar of Hummus and they were so moist and fantastic!
    I LOVE your Speidi analogy! I nearly chocked on my food! Genius Eden!
    Barbara

  6. 0y moment- the Salahe incident. Also, anytime Lindsay Lohan is currently mentioned I think “Oy- enough already’ . Leave her alone so she can get help!!!

  7. French Toast Tortillas? Yum. I’m thinking they’d go nicely with some ice cream 😉 My store only seems to carry the olive oil tortillas so I’d love to try any of the others like the whole-wheat low carb. Not sure why the stores around here only carry the one kind (if they carry them at all).

  8. I’d like to try the multi grain EVOO wrap. I’ve tried the traditonal and liked it. Currently I’m using flat out since thats what costco had, but I’d love to try another flavor of the La Tortilla brand.

    My oy would have to be that its only Tuesday. Friday is taking too long to get here already..

  9. I don’t think I did it right, 2 entries is 2 separate comments, right? lol

    My oy, from my other post, is that its only Tuesday. Friday is taking too long to get here already!!!!!!!!!

  10. Agreed on the “Bieber fever”. I don’t see what’s so great about the kid..but whatever, it’s all a matter of opinion. 😛 It’s still ridiculous a 16 year old can have a memoir..there’s not much you could come up with for that.

  11. I totally agree about the pipsqueaks writing memoirs… I mean, really?! GAH!!!

    And the French toast that got run over by a bus… Hmmm. This intrigues me. I must try it!!

    ❤ ❤

  12. That Gisele thing made me laugh as well… although it doesn’t really surprise me, especially coming from her. She’s been known to say some pretty stupid things in the past, and celebrities usually have a tendency to think that anything that they discover works for them must be some miraculous wonder, and everyone should do it.

    My Oy of the week? People not putting the spices back in their proper spot on the spice rack, thereby making me unknowingly take the wrong spices and almost ruin my dish. And I’d love to try the tomato basil wrap… I’ve seen La Tortilla wraps in one store around here, but they disappeared before I was able to try them 😦

  13. I would love to try there gluten free wraps. I’m going gluten free for the month to see how I feel. I’d really like a quesadilla or something now…

  14. my “oy” of the week is when my brother freaks out over hard boiled eggs. He can’t stand the smell and makes a huge fuss whenever someone eats them. I don’t like them, but it still drives me crazy that he makes such a big deal about it.

  15. Oy of last week is definitely the fact that the cast of Jersey Shore rang the bell at the New York Stock Exchange. You know our economy is bad when…

  16. I would LOVE to try La Tortilla Factory’s new handmade line – it would remind me so much of the fresh laffa I used to buy on the streets of Israel

  17. My oy of the week is living in Scotland whilst loving blogs! I get SOO jealous of all the stuff you guys have, e.g I REALLY want to try flavoured nut butters, but they don’t exist here!
    OY!

  18. french toasts strips are so clutch! great idea girl 🙂 i think la tortilla should thank you for that recipe

    my oy for the week is that i forgot to dvr jerz housewives on monday night. hahaha

  19. I would love to try the Sonoma Organic Whole Wheat Wraps.I usually buy Smart and Delicious Low Carb-High Fiber tortillas and they are really good!! I didn’t know La Tortilla Factory also had organic wraps, I would definitely try the organic whole wheat.

  20. My Oy of the week are gossip magazines, OK Mag in particular. The cover this week is about Jen and Brad, with a headline “10 yr anniversary” of their marriage. Come on, really? Lets move on, shall we. I saw the cover while passing by the magazine section at the bookstore.

    I would like to use the thinnest tortilla that they make. I want to use it as a wrapper, stuffed with bananas and chocolate and the fry lightly. Ooey gooey goodness.

  21. Hm, I think there have been several oy’s this week (usually are, “oy vey” is a common catchphrase of mine hehe) The big one this morning is Levi Johnson running for Alaska governor in 2012???!! Then again, given his predecessor, it may not be so bad :X
    I know I’ve tried these tortillas before but I’ll really eat anything wrapped since I am 5 and dislike utensils. The high protein would be cool, to get in that extra nutrition AND carby goodness, yay!

  22. Pingback: The Dietitian and I | Eden's Eats

  23. Oy moment: The flight attendant who inflated the emergency exit slide to leave the plan after getting into an argument with a passenger!

  24. I really don’t get the Beiber thing either. I didn’t even know who he was until a month ago when someone mentioned getting a beiber haircut, huh? yes, I am old and out of it. ‘OY!
    Would love to try the gluten free tortillas. Didn’t even know they had them. COOL!

  25. My “oy” of the week: http://jezebel.com/5608137/tyra-banks-ecstatic-over-models-incredibly-tiny-waist
    Out of principle and for my own sanity and good health, I do not watch ANTM. I don’t judge if that’s your thing, but for me I just can’t do it. But I saw a news clip today about this, and I was appalled. Really? I don’t even know what to say about this. Ugh!

    As for La Tortilla, I would LOVE to try their gluten free stuff. I don’t normally eat a gluten free diet, but I’ve been trying to cut back a bit… I’ve noticed that my digestion is much better that way. But no worries—I can’t completely give it up! I love gluten-filled things too much. 😉

  26. My “oy” of the week is all the fuss being made over Eat, Love, Pray. It’s just a movie, and it’s just Julia Roberts. There have been lots of movies made to be a big deal, and made to make women feel good. If people aren’t interested, then they shouldn’t see it.

  27. my “oy!” of the wk would be martin o’neil sudden resignation fr aston villa football club less than 24 hours before the English Premier League season 2010/2011 began!…(not sure if u get it, its british soccer!)

    and i wanna try Smart & Delicious™ Low Carb, High Fiber Tortillas!

Leave a Reply

