Back Bending Yoga Tips and Cool Sites to Check Out!

Hope everyone had a nice sunday. I was doing backbends all afternoon. That was the topic of this weekends yoga training. I did extreme backbends I never even thought of like reclining on a backless chair! I suggest if you find a chair to do this with, you try it!

Backward bending yoga poses energize, refresh and invigorate the body- opening the chest, encouraging inhalation, an action associated with embracing life. They require and build energy and strength, especially in the wrists, arms, legs, buttocks and spine. Plus, they are fantastic for stretching the front of the abdomen, hips, thighs, shoulders and chest. I think no mater what you do as a “workout”, everyone can benefit from back bends.

There are some pretty cool adjustments you can do with a partner, like this one!

As your partner does bridge pose, you can pull the bottom of their shoulder blades towards you while pressing your toes on their shoulders to help relieve their neck. I suggest you have clean feet!

Man, I barely recognize myself with the short hair. But I will admit its “growing” on me. Pun intended, very much intended.

Or...you can use a strap instead of your hands

I don’t feel like writing too much. I also realized many people neglect serious writings on their blogs on sundays, and its a slow comment day as well. I suspect its cause most of us arent trying to kill time at work.

Anyhow, I thought I’d share with you some cool sites (not blogs) I’ve been digging:

Run Pee: If you’re like me and your bladder is the size of an almond, this sites for you. Telling exactly when the best time to go pee at the movies. So simple, yet genius.

Sloganizer: are you in need of a slogan? Heres your simple solution. I thought this was so stupid at first, then I realized its very addictive!

Free Rice: Play this word game to sharpen your vocabulary skills and help feed the hungry at the same time. Be careful, HIGHLY addictive.

Cake Wrecks: I found this by reading an article about it in the New York Times. And actually, this IS a blog, at least its started that way. Now they published a book. Its pretty hilarious!

F my life: Thought your life sucks, you’ll feel better after reading these.

not an extensive list, because there are so many blogs to procrastinate already with, but these are worth a look over.

11 thoughts on “Back Bending Yoga Tips and Cool Sites to Check Out!

  1. I really like your link suggestions, thank you. Also, I don’t know if you may have personally replied to Ashley S’s comments from that last post or if you plan to, but if you have/will, please copy me on that email. I read her comments with a chorus of “wow, me too” running through my head. So…..ditto that, and I’d love to hear your response. Thanks very much.

  2. girl the comment bout your hair!?? I want pics!!!!!!

    and yes that peanut flour, i totally spaced out they sell it at tjs and want to get it!

    love partner adjustments in yoga as long as the parnter is not a sweaty, hairy man who wreaks of garlic and BO. LOL

  3. several things! yeaaaaaah girl for getting on tjs oat bran! although i can’t lie i do love the bulk bin whole foods one more but whole foods is not in my every day vacinity so tjs it is! but when i run out of tjs i’m at wf like a maniac! haha

    i think my favorite yoga pose is full wheel! mainly because it reminds me of when i was younger and couldn’t do a backbend in the 2 weeks my mom MADE me go to gymnastics haha

  4. Oooh, I love Cake Wrecks! I check it every day. I haven’t looked at FML in a while… but it is very entertaining! Thanks for reminding me. 😉

  5. Im excited this Saturday Im taking my first Yoga class ever! Ive done tons of Yoga DVDs, but never a class! Wish me luck (:

  6. hahaha there is acutally a website that shows you when it is the best time to pee at movies?!>1 thas amazing!! there really is something out there for EVERYTHING!!!

    anyways, that FML website is hilarious, although I don’t want to believe all of the things there since some are OUTTA control…it is hilarious nonetheless!

  7. It’s a holiday Monday up here in Canada, and it’s been quite a slow day, so thanks for the links. I’m gonna check them out, and hopefully they’ll cure some of my boredom, as my Google Reader is miraculously running on empty…

    The first few times I tried back bends, I thought I was going to snap in half… I really love how it wakes me up, though. There have been so many times that I’ve been absolutely exhausted, and after doing a bit of yoga, I feel totally awake. Love it.

  8. I love those sites!! Especially Free Rice, Cake Wrecks, and FML. They have a Cake Wrecks book and some friends and I couldnt stop laughing at it when we looked through it in Hastings the other day. Have you checked out textsfromlastnight.com? Those are pretty funny. 😛

Leave a Reply

