Giveaway, Ice Cream (vanilla-ized), and Why I Blog

with my "healthy sprinkles" aka chia seeds

I have a feeling many people are gonna be reading this post, so this puts a lot of pressure on me to write something catchy and insightful.

Oy, where do I begin….

Before I get to the giveaway details, I’d like to take this time to reflect on why I blog to begin with:

-I like playing with food and recipes and I love to spread that wealth of knowledge with people that might give a damn.

-I’m not trying to toot my own horn (although I should do that more often) but I think I’m somewhat funny, in a black comedy type of way that a select few get. But that being said, I like making those select few smile.

-I suck at journaling and this is the closest thing to it, and I’ve been told countless times in therapy I should journal. Well, the blog is even more helpful than the journal, although much less private.

-I would eventually like to write that funny memoir I mentioned about recovering from an eating disorder/exercise addiction, so this is good practice.

-I like using this blog to vent, better than beating up some random guy in an alley.

-I like feeling that someone takes the time to read what I have to say and cares, I know that sounds so cheesy, but true.

So today I had my chocolate ice cream done a little differently! I used the base of my choco-bloob ice cream only minus the bloobs and added frozen strawberries, an extra spoonful of cocoa powder and REAL vanilla beans! And I ate it all from where it came from:

yep, straight from the cottage cheese container where it came from, inspired by the "oats in a PB jar" craze

And now, on to the giveaway! I’m so happy I was able to get this giveaway together because I would love to thank all you loyal readers for giving a damn. This blog is very new and I don’t post interesting, beautiful pics of my food like other bloggers do. And honestly, I don’t think what I say is that enlightening, in fact, my grammar and spelling is so bad that I’m sure your IQ dropped a few points just reading it! But here you are, reading this blog, and for that I thank you with a cool giveaway!

When I started my old food review website four year ago, one of the very first products I recieved to review was from this little know company called Fiber Gourmet. They made high fiber pasta that tasted pretty darn close to the real thing. Since then, they’ve grown tremendously and make high fiber crackers and cake mixes in 90 calorie single serving bowl! Can you believe it! Than like an 1/18 of a Cheesecake factory piece of cake! Its gluten free, kosher, and has a whopping 12 g of fiber! 12g of fiber in cake! So heres how to enter! There are a few ways and there will be two winners that will receive a lovely package from fiber gourmet with their latest cake mixes! Each way is an entry:

1) If you have a blog, add me to your blog roll (and tell me you have done so, although I know some of you have and I’m truly honored you did! Its like seeing your name on a marquee!)

2) Mention this giveaway on your blog

3) If you dont have a blog (and if you do!), leave a comment telling me what other types of recipes or topics I should write about in future posts.

The winner will be announced on Tuesday, July 20!

I know people read this blog and never comment cause they dont have a blog, but don’t be shy! enter!

41 thoughts on “Giveaway, Ice Cream (vanilla-ized), and Why I Blog

  1. love your blog! I don’t have one, but I would love to see more dinner recipes and some protein filled dessert recipes. Great giveaway! You are on my google reader 🙂

  2. I know this is weird and not really a topic or anything, but it would be awesome if you could somehow organize your recipes in one place. I always have to go back and look because I remember something catching my eye, but I don’t remember exactly what it is so I can’t search it. Plus then I get to see the ones that I missed!

    Other than that, I love single serving recipes. I don’t have anyone else to feed, so the small servings are perfect. A lot of blogs post recipes that serve many people, and when I tinker with the ingredients I always mess it up. Other than that, I love everything you post!

  3. No blog, alas, but I love yours! Especially those turkey meatballs. Always could use quick breakfast recipes or dinner recipes that can be easily modified for vegetarians and meat eaters!!

  4. Gosh I love ice-cream!

    I read your blog anyway so I added you to my blogroll. How freakin sweet would it be if they actually had the marquee effect?!

  5. You don’t have to enter me in the giveaway, since I can’t use it anyhow — but I just wanted to say that I absolutely adore your “black comedy” humor!!

    ❤ ❤

  6. No blog here, just a reader. (BTW, thanks for replying the other day about the xanthan gum. I havn’t had the nerve to make another smoothie yet, but when I do I’ll cut it back to 1/8 tsp.) Anyway, I’d love to see a recipe page and maybe more pics. It’s totally fine if you keep it as is though. I’m slowly learning a little more about you every time I read. 🙂 Before I learned of google reader a long time ato, I used to have your other blog in my ‘favorites’ with a bunch of others and would check it periodically. I was really surprised to find your new one cuz I just figured you got tired of blogging. Glad your back!

  7. Oh, and you are currently in my reader as well. I don’t know if that counts as being on a ‘blogroll’ since I don’t have a blog, but it’s worth a shot!

  8. I just thought you should know that I think you are funny and I really enjoy your black comedy. I am not funny per se….but I appreciate a certain type of humour…and it doesn’t show on my blog, but I’m actually pretty sarcastic and I have a dark sense of humour and I like making light of things through mockery (sometimes…depending on what it is).

    As for your third question about topics for future posts- I really like the way you already write. Sorry, I know that’s probably not helpful at all. I don’t really read blogs for the food anymore, although your recipes do look creative and great…but I like hearing your rants and funny stories about your life and people you meet. I remember really enjoying that when I used to read your old blog too.

  9. I don’t have a blog but enjoy reading yours. I like to read reviews on new products, or good dinner recipes!

  10. You don’t have to enter me in the contest, but I just wanted to add that I love your blog and you’ve been on my blogroll since you first left a comment on one of my posts. The recipes are nice, but I’m not that creative. However, single-serve is super important to me, so that’s appreciated! I agree having a separate “recipe” tab and categories might be helpful, as you have great ideas you don’t want to get lost in your archived posts!

    The reason I read this blog? It’s basically just because you’re you, and I like that. We have a lot in common and if I knew you in “real” life, I’m pretty sure we would be a force to be reckoned with. 😉

  11. hey girl!!! thanks for popping by my blog! i want to enter into this contest.. lol

    as far as blogs go, im a lazy blogger, probably why im not making a bunch of money off it like other people might be! then i also think that my sense of humor might be a turn off too- its the same as yours, dark, evil, and very snarky.. lol
    oh and i dont like wine or cheese.. practically a given for a famouso blogger.. : )
    ill be digging thru your blog m’dear! i wanna learn more!!!

  12. hahaha i think you’re funny girlfran 😉

    make me some bloob ice cream PUHlease! real vanilla bean sounds SO ridiculously good, i feel like i would add it to everything. what else can you add v bean to? should i get some? is it espensiiiive?

    you KNOW you’re already in my goog reads

  13. I don’t have a blog but i would love to read more about your ED history, as I myself have suffered from such a monster

  14. And as for future topics, i love hearing about your culinary school/yoga school ‘secrets and behind the scenes stuff’, having an ED myself i like hearing about your past and sometimes current struggles, hearing about your swanky super cool LA life (private celeb. gym, and being on bravo). And really just anything. I think your funny as sh*t and love reading.

  15. i def read your blog though i dont have one of my own.. and dont uually comment cuz i dont alway have what to say! i adore your blog though… id love to see more dessert recipes with ice cream in them as well as be entered in ur giveaway!

  16. haha i love your blog, eden! you are honest and thats what is so refreshing to read when you write your posts!! yeah, my pics aren’t perfect either, and I have been told when I have spelled words wrong, oh well…this isnt an english assisgnment!

    you are ON my blog roll!!

  17. Wow, that ice cream looks delicious! What is “real vanilla” … different than extract?
    Anyway, thanks for your comment… I’m glad I found your blog, and I’ll be checking back soon 🙂

  18. I also have a history with disordered eating and have finally learned to appreciate the value of nutritious food – I would love to hear more about the recipes that have allowed you to enjoy food again. What is it that has made you look forward to breakfast, lunch, and dinner each day?

  19. There is no need to enter me in your contest because I have way to many mouths to feed here. But, I would like to know if you could make a house call and show me how to make some of those great recipes. I love you, Sis.

  20. Pingback: “Guac Bowls” and 5 for 5 | Eden's Eats

  21. I don’t have a blog…BUT I would love to see some cake experiments with egg whites/coconut flour, etc etc. YUM.

  22. I highly recommend writing your funny experiences of living in L.A. Celeb wannabe’s, fame obsessed ppl, celeb run-ins, people’s egos’ and delusions etc!

  23. Hey! Thanks for commenting on my blog! I always like to read entries about eating healthy (vague, i know) and recipes for snack-type things (e.g. muffins, dips, bread, etc.) 🙂

  24. Pingback: Being Nancy Drew and TVP (no Oats) Granola | Eden's Eats

  25. I don’t have a blog, but would surely add you to my roll if I did!

    And I’m loving the content that you write about thus far… your wit is quite catchy, and gives your posts a really personal feel. My favorite type of recipes are the ones, like fibergourmet cakes, that can be categorized as a “healthy” guilty pleasure, so maybe keep the madeover recipes coming?

    Also, I don’t know how comfortable you are with this subject, but it would be cool to read a post about your journey through recovery… it really seems like you’ve made the change and have found stability in life- this is something that SO FEW people with ED’s manage to do… and it would just be really inspiring even to read about how you got here, like maybe do a then versus now post? I’m not sure how triggering that would be for you though, so just an idea. I admire your strength either way!

    Lastly, my fingers are cross for this giveaway… thanks for the opportunity!

Leave a Reply

