Love/Hate things and perfected protein powder crepes!

perfected and perfect

Hate and love are both very strong adjectives and complete opposites. Yet it amazes me most things I love, I often can find myself hating. For example, I love frozen yogurt. I hate how I feel afterwards; gassy, bloated, (yes, even with a lactaid), and seven dollars poorer if I bought this at a pinkberry where they totally overcharge you. I love my family, but there are times where I rather be adopted by Kate Gosselin (ok, maybe not her, but you get the idea. Β I even love and hate yoga. Sometimes, I’m just not in the mood for yoga and I think its healthy as a yoga instructor to have that feeling sometimes. Food in general is love hate relationship. I love and need food on a daily basis, I studied it for a good chunk of my life, and yet I hate how perhaps I’ve made it TOO much part of my life, how I fear what it might do to me, how I use it to numb my emotions and true feelings. I think most people have a love/hate relationship with food.

On a lighter note, I also have a love/hate relationship with Us Weekly, The Real Housewives, The Rachel Zoe project (I find this show very entertaining, but a lot of time I just want t throw a sandwich down Rachel Zoe’s throat!), yes, ladies and gentleman, I have a love/hate relationship with McDonald’s. I dont need to explain the hate part, but I’m sorry, eating those chicken nuggest when I was a kid with those perfectly uniform and processed fries is incredibly nostalgic and I’ll admit, there were damn delicious. And the last time I had that I must have been eleven or something and this was before they were “all white meat” .

The more I think about it, the more I notice that in order to truly develop a deep love for something, you must also find aspects of it that you will hate.

It took me a long time to realize what I liked about my body, although I’ll admit, when I was overexercising, I was very disconnected with my body, I was neither loving nor hating it, I was numb (and probably tired).

I couldn't find a good picture where you can really see my nose at its glory, but this is a sweet pic of me, and my nose looks damn fine as always in it

There are plenty of things I hate about my body, but to be positive, I thought I’d list to you some of the things I love about my body:

-I love my nose, I think is perfectly sized for my face and I thank my parent’s gene fusion that I was blessed with a nose that I dont need to spend a fortune resizing. Theres the Jew in me, always thinking about money saved πŸ™‚

-I love my big toe. This is weird, but I’ve seen some freaky, alien looking ones! I like mine, its simple.

-I love my shoulders. I think they are nicely sculpted thanks to genes, yoga, and lateral raises.

-I love my biceps. They remind me I’m strong physically and emotionally somehow. Plus, they help me lift things, like the remote, or a fork.

-I love my ears. Once again, they are simple and tiny and dont resemble an elf, thats good enough for me.

-I love my heart, not the sentimental “heart” with love and all that cheesy goodness, I’m talking about that thing beating and circulating blood throughout my body. I think its pretty incredible its survived all the brutality I put it through and I love it for not letting me down when it could have.

Of course, as I mentioned before theres a long list of things I hate about my body as well, but lets leave that list tucked away for now, I dont need a reminder.

So since I always tack on a recipe, I am so happy to say I’ve perfected my protein crepes so they are not dry and taste fantastic! Heres whats in my mix

-2 tbs of Jay Robbs strawberry Whey protien

-1 tbs flax seeds

-3/4 cup egg sub or three whole eggs

-1 tbs milk of choice (almond, soy, dare I say it, the real, real milk)

– 2tbs water (this is actually key!0

-1/8 tsp baking powder

it nearly triples in volumes because of the air whipped in it! thats the key!

mix it REALLY well in a blend or magic bullet. It should get really bubbly and nearly double in volume. Then pour into a greased pan and spread out the mixture so its “crepe” like. It makes about 3 medium crepes which I think is one serving and if your a man, probably half a serving. Best served with cottage cheese and jam or syrup and maybe some seasonal fruit. I’m actually eating it right now (yes, beneath the keyboard) with vanilla yogurt and apricots which is agreeing very much so with my taste buds.

So what are some things you love/hate? Dont be shy, hey, I admitted to actually liking the Rachel Zoe project and I’m probably there with P.E.T.A sending her death threats and hate mail.

16 thoughts on “Love/Hate things and perfected protein powder crepes!

  1. I love your list of the things you love about yourself…and I appreciate your humour. It’s funny how you managed to slide in a “cheap” joke while talking about your perfect nose. It’s like you were balancing out the stereotypes.

    I would agree that I have a love/hate relationship with Us Weekly, People magazine, and occasionally other gossip rags. They drive me absolutely crazy, but I still read them sometimes…once you open one up it’s like crack…

  2. I have a feeling we would be really great friends~ too bad we don’t live closer!! I find that adding a fiber source like flax ALWAYS helps the texture and density! You’ve got to try finding the Fibersmart powder or 4Fiber (Genesis Today). As for the Chocolate Amazing Grass- I’ve tried everything, and it really is unparallel. I actually got them brought into my part of the Country and 2 main Health Food stores. I am obsessed. The ingredient list is amazing. The unflavored and berry are really good too. I’ve tried adding Cocoa to a Vanilla Greens powder I had and it wasn’t as good. They sell those small individual packets to try? You really do feel better when you’re on it!

    I have a love/hate relationship with so many things; cheif among them is ultimately my relationship with myself. This was a great post! Congrats on finally perfecting the Protein Crepes!
    XOXO
    B

  3. I love that you shared the things you love most about yourself! I think it’s so easy to be critical of ourselves vs. acknowledging the things that we love. Way to go! πŸ˜€

    Right now I have a love/hate thing going on with summer. Love the berries, the warmth, the sunshine, the flip-flops. Hate the bugs, humidity, sweating, etc. But the loves overcome the hates, so it all works out in the end. πŸ˜‰

  4. Love the list, and I couldn’t agree more. The things I am most passionate about–for better or for worse–are the things I have love/hate relationships with. I think that’s because with me, “passion” or even “liking” is such a strong emotion (obsess much?) that it’s easy to have it flip around when anxiety hits. I love food, but at times it can trigger extremely negative emotions. Same with exercise, blogging, yoga, etc. I suppose it’s key to find balance, eh?

    Unlike you, I’ve always hated my nose. It’s a family trait and had a bump in the middle. However, as I got older I realized that, “Hey. It is a family trait and I should be proud of it. It’s unique and it’s a part of me.” I don’t love it by any means, but I accept it. Kind of like Rachael Ray magazine…

    • I feel the same way about Rachel Ray magazine….I love the celebrity fridge page (although I’m sure its staged) and hate, the obvious, Ms. Ray, but gotta love her sometimes too

  5. Great post! I love my toes too. They aren’t straight, but they kinda curve down and in. My husband says they are crooked, I say they “fan” and are pretty..hahaha!

    By the way, if I don’t have flax seed, can I make this w/o and it come out the right consistancy?

    Thanks!

    • Sorry it took me so long to reply….
      you can use almost any sort of flour like all purpose or whole wheat flours. coconut flour and almond flour would work too if you are gluten intolerant.

    • I have thunder thighs too, but they arent fat and admit that. They are like rocks, my dad has strong legs too, but also all those warrior II poses and my history of running helped.

  6. You gotta try the BIOCHEM Berry’s n Whey too! I love it! Oh and yes, I like the Rachel Zoe project……she’s a pyscho and I can’t stop watching. haha, but either can my husband. πŸ™‚

    p.s.
    You won my giveway….coconut oil coming your way. YEA!! Send me your address and info. Lyndzut@sbcglobal.net

  7. I so need to focus on the things I like about myself rather than the things I hate! I hate my hair but I have nice feet…random I know.

    I don’t know who Rachel Zoe is but I have a love/hate relationship with MTV…love the Real World/Road Rules Challenges but I cannot stand the Real World by itself. I also hate the fact that I’m 34 and I still flipping watch MTV, which I love. It is a Catch-22.

    I think you are gorgeous, btw!

  8. Hey girl!! LOVE the blog and your personality really shines through, you rock!!

    Love your love list!! I think we should all have a list of things we love about ourselves, instead of always saying what we dont .

    I love the sunwarrior, it is def chalky, but I really like it, I want to get vanilla too!! I believe rice protein is so much better for you, but I like my whey protein still too!!

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

