Daikon? Chips Please!

I love discovering new foods and new ways to cook things. I really think cooking is so much like art in that way. The possibilities seem endless. So I ventured to buy a vegetable most of you are probably not familiar with, the daikon. It’s an oriental radish used a lot in many chinese, korean, and Japanese dishes. It’s not exactly brimming with nutrients  like kale or sweet potatoes, but it does have some vitamin C surprisingly. I admit I’ve only worked with once or twice and it was a long time ago that I forgot what it tastes like. But being a root vegetable, I thought maybe I can turn in into chips! Heres what I did:

I slice the daikon thinly and no need to peel! If you have a handy dandy mandolin, you can use it to slice to make them nice and even. Some mandolins have a “waffle” cut so that could be cool too!

Spread them out on a baking sheet and spray with olive/canola oil and sprinkle with salt. I used paprika a garlic powder but rosemary, basil, onion, and even curry powder would make some pretty tasty chips!

I let them do their thing on 400 degrees for about 20 min. Then turn the oven OFF and let them hang in there. The dry heat crisps them up and dehydrates them so they get REALLY crispy!  Of course you could deep fry them, but I frankly dont like cooking with huge amount of hot oil since I’m so clumsy!

spread em out so they don't overlap

they end up looking like this, I know this looks like some sort of coral but I swear they are yummy!

phallic, ain't it! BTW, I know I have the ugliest hands! I will never be a hand model! I take bigger pride of my shoulders to be honest

4 thoughts on “Daikon? Chips Please!

  1. Haha, I’ve played DAIKONS probably a dozen times in Scrabble and had no idea what it was. BTW, I went to look for turnips the other day, but nothing was labeled and I had no idea what they look like. I’ll try again now that I’ve Googled it.

Leave a Reply

