Yoga tips for the week!

Let’s milk my knowledge for all its worth. I realize I’ve been doing purely recipes daily, but theres more to my expertise than food (although I really dont think I’m an expert at anything).  In a few weeks I’m shooting a yoga segment for a pilot series for FitTV. They wanted me to focus on “core” exercise so I was researching and digging up my old yoga school papers and books to compile a short and sweet yet balance core strengthening segment. Now, I must admit, I in no way have a six, four or any kind of “pack”. I’m not out of shape or “pudgy” by any means, but my abs seems to have a hard time getting some definition. I think I have some killer shoulders and biceps (thanks genetics! you should see my dad’s legs!), so I don’t know why they want me to do a tummy segment.  I’m built very small but I have way stronger quads and arms so I hope I will not disappoint anyone because of my lack of “packs”. Anyhow,

This is when i first start my Yoga teacher training so I wasn't in the best shape and this it not the best angle, and I'm going "Eagle Pose" a little incorrectly, but you get the idea....Wow, I'm also realizing how much cleaner the carpet was when I took this picture!

here are some moves I’m considering and feel free to try them out this week and let me know what you think! Obviously, I’ll visually demonstrate the poses in the segment, but if you are unfamiliar with the poses, google search them or better yet, search on youtube so you can see a video on how to perform them correctly.

1) Navasana (boat pose) – The rectus abdominus is contracts when we raise our legs and torso while our sternum is drawn towards the pubic bone.  Holding this pose invigorates the core muscles isometrically

2 )Paschimottanasana: (Seated forward bend)-  The upper portion of our rectus is engaged as we flex our torso forward while keeping our legs stable.

3) Setu Bandha Sarvangasana (bridge pose)- This pose helps keep the rectus flexible as well as strong since its a good complimentary stretching exercise.

4) Parvritta Trikonasana (Revolved Triangle Pose): In this pose, we rotate our shoulders while keeping our legs steady to exercise our obliques. Strong and toned internal and external obliques help maintain spinal alignment when we lift heavy weights.  As we engage our obliques in Yoga, imagine cinching up strings of a corset, drawing from the side in order to flatten the front

5) Pranayama (breath of fire): One of the most important components to maintaining a strong core is exercise our transversus abdominus.  But, unlike other abdominal muscles, the transversus does not move your spine and engaged most often when we sneeze, cough, or exhale. S the most effective way of exercising it involves working the breath. To practice “breath of fire”, breath in and out through the nose and pull your abs in towards the diaphram during the exhalation and out during the inhalation.  Its meant to be done very fast and loud, about 2 or three time per second

9 thoughts on “Yoga tips for the week!

  1. One of my psych studies from college found a significant correlation between having practiced Ashtanga within the last hour and having feelings of altruism (but not self-compassion, oddly enough). Surprised the heck out of my advisor. Taking the class always felt great afterward despite waking up at 5:30 AM to get there. I’ll try these moves out and get back to you!

  2. april, its hard when you have lousy teachers and there are SO many different kinds of yoga. What kind have you tried out? make your way to L.A. someday and I’ll take you to some awesome classes i know you’ll love.

  3. Seated forward bend I can’t do anymore, but these are all awesome core moves. Revolved triangle and boat have always been two of my favorites (boat because it’s so challenging to keep the torso up in proper position). If you transition from boat to handstand in your segment, I’ll be super impressed! Do you consider the shoulder stand (Salamba Sarvangasana) a beginner’s pose? Because I’ve always felt that in my core pretty strongly.

  4. To be honest, almost EVERY yoga poses engages the core. Headstand is a BIG core one but I dont think I’ll do it for the segment because I dont think they want advanced poses. Sarvangasana is indeed a great core workout as well but again I dont think they want that. Plus, its hard to talk and teach while demonstrating the pose, I’d need an assistant of some sort to demonstrate. I just hope I dont mess up and say something like “press your shitting bones down”.LOL

  5. I know from experience! I teach at a cross fit gym so people there tend to be very tight. I tried to demonstrate and instruct and they thought I was speaking giberish, nevermind that I couldn’t even do it correctly as my chin kept hitting my chest as I was trying to get words out of my mouth.

Leave a Reply

