Corn Salad and In Defense of Junk

You wanna know something crazy?

If no, close the tab. If yes, read on.

I rarely see kids eat candy anymore. Granted, I work in schools in upper middle class areas in one of the most liberal cities in the US. But it seems like this “No Candy Kid” thing hasn’t gone unnoticed. Adam Roberts wrote a piece in the Huffington Post about this growing ” The No Candy, No Cake & No Soda Generation.”

People will for sure send hating vibes my way, but I’m in defense of funky colored foods and dare I say the “c word”…..coke!

I am not saying children should be chugging sodas and slathering blue colored, high fructose corn syrup infused ketchup on their lard fried fast food french fries. I’m just saying a little candy and chemical isn’t gonna kill or corrupt your precious kin.

And perhaps I’m hyper-sensitive because I’ve spent a good portion of my life living on a strictly “healthy” diet. Perhaps I’ve just about had it with the “all natural” or “unrefined”. Perhaps there is still a nazi living inside my brain berating me while I salivate over a blue pop tart like a teenage boy salivates during a Victoria’s Secret commercial.

I see too many moms telling their kids crazy things like that chocolate will give them STDs or whatever. And I often hear kids expressing extreme guilt about eating a cheeto. Yep, real guilt over a slightly processed nugget of deliciousness. And they aren’t even Jewish. And let me tell you parents out there, kids like to rebel.

A lot my friends who’s parents are super religious now tell God to suck it.

A lot of friends who’s parents had super strict laws about alcohol now own a kegger.

A lot of my friends who’s parents are kosher eat an uncircumcised bacon wrapped shrimp while wearing a santa hat.

Luckily, my parents were freeing in most of my decisions. And maybe if we let kids chose a little, they will be less inclined to go hog wild at the twinkie factory when they move out of the house.

If you would excuse me, an uncircumsied bacon wrapped shrimp is calling my name….

So what do you think? Are you in defense of junk?

So here is corn salad sans high fructose corn syrup.

You, know.

So the parents won’t send me death threats.

All you will need is:

  • 3 ears of corn, roasted or 1 cup of canned corn
  • 1 roasted bell pepper (I roasted and peeled mine, but you can find them in jars)
  • 3 medium carrots, chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 half a medium jicama, chopped in little cubes
  • 1/4 cup BBQ sauce
  • 2 tbs light or regular mayo or some vegan mayo you like
  • salt and pepper
Just mix it up. I know, hard work.

20 thoughts on “Corn Salad and In Defense of Junk

  1. Wait, chocolate won’t give me herpes? ;)

    We didn’t have sweets or soda on a regular basis as kids — strictly vegetarian hippy diet for us! However, birthdays, holidays, Christmas etc we were allowed all that stuff (including sugary cereals, woohoo!). I think as an adult I now have a pretty good relationship with junk — it has a place in my life, but I’ve never been that overly bothered about it. I always end up going back to the wheatabix and lentil stew in the end :)

  2. I never really grew up eating crazy amounts of candy and soda. My mom let me drink soda, but she didn’t buy it for the family. She also let me eat MSG-laden snacks, but just didn’t buy it for me. She would get mad if my appetite for dinner was ruined after eating a pound of chocolate, but so long as I still ate my greens and fish and rice, she was okay with me eating chocolate. I think that was a great balance for me. I love my mommy.

    Btw, speaking of Nazis…it’s “whose” not “who’s.” ;-p

  3. My parents wouldn’t typically have candy or chocolate in our house, but when some happened to fall into my lap (or when I scrounged up enough cash to go to the deli around the street from our house and purchase some) they were never against it. And you know what? I am STD-free! How awesome is THAT.

  4. Candy Rules. Oh man, In middle and high school I had NO clue about nutrition facts. I didn’t know if 500 calories was a lot or a little for ANY given food. MiddleSchool; it was a milkshake using a Twix as a spoon to finish off all meals. HighSchool; it was two packages of Elfen cookies for breakfast from the vending machine, and after lunch it was something chocolatey (normally a whole Milky Way) followed by something fruity (normally a whole package of Starburst) followed by something minty (gum)! I can’t believe how fast my metabolism must have been, I was the smallest of my friends.

  5. If I didn’t eat bacon before, the phrase “uncircumcised bacon” would turn me off for the rest of my life. Ewww…

    Growing up I totally had a great balance. Nothing was off limits, but fresh and healthy foods were always encouraged and offered as an option. I hated pop and a lot of junk, but also ate my fair share of Dairy Queen, hot dogs and candy. Like you, I’m hypersensitive to food gossip and drama, but I’m also totally over the food police with kids and people. Balance people, balance and common sense.

    If you offer it to kids, they will eat it because many of them don’t know better. It’s up to the parents to offer a healthy variety and encourage balance. Unfortunately, many parents have no clue and don’t care themselves.

    Let them eat cake…and fruit!

  6. My parents let me and my siblings eat Little Debbies, Rice Krispy Treats, candy bars, ice cream, you name it, and none of us has been overweight a day in our lives. We never gorged on those things, because we never needed to, because they were always available so there was no hoarding/stuffing compulsion.

    And I am totally in defense of junk, in healthy moderation. Even at the depths of an ED, I had Reese’s peanut butter cups for dinner once a week, ice cream regularly, etc. I didn’t care so much about the composition of my calories, as long as it stayed within the dictated calorie budget, resulting in a diet that was very unstereotypically anorexic due to my crazy glucose cravings. My theory is that your body will put everything to use. If someone chooses to have a pack of M&Ms instead of a protein bar, they will probably feel more dragged out and hungry later, but the choice isn’t going to make them instantly gain weight because what they put in their mouth is categorized as “junk food.” I think the junk bias works against people sometimes, because they think they can consume as much as they want of healthy foods without negative consequences. Balance is the issue!

  7. I wouldn’t defend junk food, but I wouldn’t defend oppressive parenting either. Not that I would know too much about parenting, but that’s what I think from a theoretical standpoint. I still maintain that if children are usually eating healthy and home cooked food, they tend to like it better and don’t go out of their way to get junk food either way.

    Oh! And it is “children whose parents are food nazis” I always do that and I didn’t want to break my streak ;-)

  8. I live in Pittsburgh, home of Heinz ketchup. Only recently did Heinz take the high fructose corn syrup out of their recipe. I’ve been using the stuff in large amount for my entire life, and I haven’t sprouted a third nipple ; )

  9. My mom raised me eating only healthy food, and I did go buck wild as soon as I became more independent, so I definitely think that being too strict with kids and never letting them have any fun is just asking for trouble. That being said, I also don’t think it’s right to raise kids on KD and Twinkies alone… need to learn how to live in balance, and not towards one extreme or the other.

  10. You need to come to the alternative high school I work at. During break period they are eating Hot Cheetos (covered in Tapatio sauce), Big Texas cinnamon rolls (these things are literally the size of my head), and recently one girl has been bringing in a jar of Nutella to share with everyone. Don’t worry the junk food is still flowing, unfortunately I think that is more because the healthy food is more expensive that some families can’t afford it.

  11. Only you can stand up for what everyone else shuns. Go Eden!

    I’ve heard it go both ways, but for me, it was simple: My mom tried to keep healthy things in the house for her diet and we never could eat ‘bad’ things ad lib. So when I’d go to my (thin) friends’ houses and they had cookie jars out full of every type of cookie and candy imaginable, I’d eat several there and then stuff more in my pockets for later. My friends? Meh, they could care less as they could have it any old time.

    Now I’m not saying that this is what caused my issues with food, but I became obese eventually and they always remained slim- to this day. They don’t have to fight it but I do. Again, it may have nothing to do with it, but I always suspected there might be a relationship.

  12. I’m so confused when I read about parents ”letting” (or not) eat their children certain things. My parents have never ever in my life commented on any of my food choices when I was a kid. Honestly, I can’t even imagine that! And yet, I’ve never really eaten super unhealthy or was a big fan of junk/candy. When I have children, I can only hope our family will live a healthy life – but in a spontaneous way (that is, that they’ll eat healthy food because that’s the way they know it and seems ‘normal’ to them, not because I’m pushing it on them), without marking any food as ‘good’ or ‘bad’.

  13. I used to think the same way… I wondered, why was my sister so uptight? A little bit of candy wasn’t going to kill her kids! But then I had my own kid and I swear, it takes everything in me NOT to snatch away the neon blue crap I let her indulge in every once in a while. It kills me!

Leave a Reply

